WHAT DOES IT MEAN TO SAY PROVE?

I write mostly about biblical subjects. I receive many comments from those who do not believe in the God of the Bible, or any God. I really like those comments, even when they say I have the brain of a grapefruit, because they make you think and rethink what you have said. Those who comment from that view will discard anything said that might be considered evidence that there is a God and point out anything that might be considered evidence to the contrary.

I noticed a comment on one of their blog sites that seemed to point out a condradiction on my part. I wrote a post titled “Hey Christian do you want a laugh?” where I said that the exestance of God can not be proved and shortly before that I had written a post titled “Science proves there is a God”.

As I said they make you think and I realized that I was not willing to change either statement. To me the universe does prove there has to be a God and yet I know one cannot prove the existence of God to someone else! After some thought I realized that what seems like a contradiction is only a case of applying a different definition to the same word.

The Concise Oxford English Dictionary defines the word “Prove” as 1. demonstrate by evidence or argument the truth or existence of. 2. show by evidence or argument to be.

In my post “Science proves there is a God” I applied the first definition to the word prove. The evidence was that all of the matter in the universe is decaying or changing into energy and there is no evidence of it changing back into matter: so there is an end to the universe and that it could not have began without something outside of the natural laws.

In “Hey Christian do you want a laugh?” I applied the second definition. It seems to be impossible to show an atheist by evidence or argument that there is a God. At least I have not been successful in doing so.

I see God in all things and of course I see God in this. God confused the language at the tower of Babel and that is all languages. Every language usually has more than one definition for every word. The one that speaks a word knows the definition that they mean to apply, but the one who hears the word may, or may not apply the same definition. String a few sentences together without complete understanding of the words and confusion results.

Even if you do not want to believe there is a God you have to admit there is usually more than one definition to every word in every language and therefore it is very difficult to communicate.

I thought it was funny when it was said that I have a grapefruit for a brain. Maybe I will use that, “Words of wisdom from a grapefruit” it has I nice ring to it, don’t you think? Well, on second thought maybe it is just a thud.

5 Responses to WHAT DOES IT MEAN TO SAY PROVE?

  1. kip152 says:

    I understand where you’re coming from. Problem is, if you so broadly define every single word, you end up with no meaning at all.

  2. hughstan says:

    Totally agree with the general thrust of your argument, which obviously could not have come from a grapefruit brain, but have doubts or queries about your statement

    “Every language has more than one definition for every word”

    I don’t find that to be true, nor, were it true would it necessarily follow that the meaning of a word being used could not be emphasised. For example, there are many passages in scripture, particularly from Paul, where he uses what I think of as verbal simultaneous equations. In these, Paul uses the same word in a different context in adjoining sentences so that the meaning is unambiguous.

    Just a thought.

  3. astudent says:

    Kip,
    You have something there. Sometimes it seems as if there is no meaning to what is said and sometimes even though what was said is true and has meaning, because different definitions are applied by the speaker and the listener, it seems false with no meaning. If you are not confused yet consider this, I was not broadly defining the word prove (If that was what you meant), I was narrowly defining it which was necessary to convey what I meant.

    hughstan,
    OK, you got me, not all words have more than one meaning, but a heck of a lot of them do. I think I got that impression by checking a few sentences and then glancing in an English and a German dictionary. I didn’t mean that all words in all sentences could be taken wrong. Just look one of your sentences.
    “For example, there are many passages in Scripture, particularly from Paul, where he uses what I think of as verbal simultaneous equations.”
    Using the American Heritage Dictionary, there are ten possible uses for “for”; eleven if abbreviations are considered.
    There are five for “example”.
    “There” can be used as an adverb (4), pronoun (2), adjective (1), noun (1), and an Interjection (1) for a total of nine possibilities.
    Need I continue?
    I think that is why I did not closely check the dictionary for words that have only one meaning. I am usually more careful and I thank you for pointing the error out for us. I will correct it. Perhaps the grapefruit has a few soft spots!
    I believe the Holy Spirit directs our thoughts to apply the meaning of the words of the Bible the way He wants us to at the time we are reading. I have read a verse and it has made a point clear to me and then sometime later the same verse will say something different to me and yet the first point is still true and clear. That never happens to me when I read other books.

  4. richardsrealm…

    brooke burke

    brown recluse

    brownells

  5. astudent says:

    Richard,
    ????????

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

