WHO WAS BAPTIZED FOR THE DEAD?

Baptism is one of my favorite subjects. I have viewed baptism from every angle that I can think of. When I read 1 Cor 15:29 I was at a loss. (1 Cor 15:29 NIV)  Now if there is no resurrection, what will those do who are baptized for the dead? If the dead are not raised at all, why are people baptized for them?

 

The verse seems to say that people are baptized for other people.

 

I knew that baptism was to be buried with Christ and it didn’t seem right to bury someone for someone else. That would be to bury someone alive.

 

Now, I don’t know about you, but I rejoice when I find something in the Bible that I don’t understand, because I know God will give me the answer and so I know I am about to learn something.

 

Well, I thought about this quandary for some time, but God didn’t give me the answer. God gives answers when He decides it is the proper time, because He is in control: not me. Said another way, He is the boss: not me.

 

Then one day, just out of the blue, I understood, and I had to burst out laughing.

I thought about my baptism. I was dead spiritually: dead in sin. I was buried with Jesus and I was raised a new person. I am not the same person I was, so I was buried for someone else. I am the one that was buried for the dead that is spoken of, and not only me, but everyone that is, or ever was baptized, was baptized for someone else.

Funny, ain’t it.  

astudent

Leave a Reply

