WHY WAS JESUS BAPTIZED?

If baptism is a baptism for repentance for the forgiveness of sin (Mark 1:4) and Jesus had no sin why was He baptized?  

That is a good question with a simple answer. Most questions have a simple answer. All we must do is ask God. The answer was written a long time before you, or I asked the question.  

The answer is in Matthew 3:15, (NIV)  Jesus replied, “Let it be so now; it is proper for us to do this to fulfill all righteousness.” Then John consented.@ 

Sometimes (no usually) an answer will lead to another question. The next question for me was actually the same question, because I didn’t understand the answer given in the Bible. Anyway it was, “what did Jesus mean when He said to fulfill all righteousness”? The answer I believe I received from the Spirit is not stated “per se” in the Bible, however it fits so well and is so clear I accepted it.  

Baptism is to be buried with Jesus in the water (Rom 6:4). So it was necessary for Jesus to be buried in baptism also.  After Jesus was crucified He was buried in a tomb. If it is necessary for us to be buried with Christ in order for us to be raised with Him and if He was not buried in the water of baptism, we would have to go to his tomb and be buried with Him there. But He is not in the tomb. He has risen.  

Even if He was symbolically in the tomb it would create difficulties for many of the poor, and some who could not afford to go to Israel would be lost. But water is not far from anyone and free to all. 

If you have read any of my previous posts you probably think that I think I know everything. Well, I don’t. I am trying to do two things. One is to share what I believe God has revealed to me and the second is to get some new questions. Questions that I do not yet have answers for.  

If you have the Holy Spirit, the perfect teacher, all you need are the questions.  

Do you have any? 

astudent

2 Responses to WHY WAS JESUS BAPTIZED?

  1. Marcia says:

    Ha. Where do I start.

  2. astudent says:

    Ha. I already know that one. Genesis 1:1

Leave a Reply

