CAN YOU MOVE A MOUNTAIN?

The Bible says if you have faith and do not doubt, you can say to a mountain, AGo throw yourself into the sea, and it will be done@(Mat 21:21 & Mark 11:23). Have you ever had to duck a mountain? Have you ever heard of a mountain being thrown into the sea?

As I think about it, it seems to me that it is unlikely that a mountain will ever be thrown into any sea. I am not saying that it is not possible, because the Bible plainly states it is possible. The very thing that makes it possible will keep it from happening. The person without faith can not say to the mountain, go throw yourself into the sea, and be successful, because of his, or her, lack of faith. The person who has faith, and does not doubt, knows God made everything, and God put the mountain where the mountain belongs, so it would be wrong to move the mountain. If I had faith and did not doubt, I don=t believe I would move the mountain.

I don=t think Jesus is talking about a physical mountain in these verses. God uses symbolism all through the Bible and I think this is an example of it. I believe the mountain spoken of is symbolic of nations, and the sea is symbolic of the water of baptism. Though I have not seen a mountain thrown into the sea, this I have seen, I am a member of a large church and the leaders of the church do have faith and because of this they have said to a small nation go throw yourself into the water of baptism (large church, but small nation) and they did.

I can not move the mountain and I am not a leader. If you are like me then help those who can. Like Aaron and Hur when they helped Moses.

(Exo 17:9-13 NIV)  Moses said to Joshua, “Choose some of our men and go out to fight the Amalekites. Tomorrow I will stand on top of the hill with the staff of God in my hands.” So Joshua fought the Amalekites as Moses had ordered, and Moses, Aaron and Hur went to the top of the hill. As long as Moses held up his hands, the Israelites were winning, but whenever he lowered his hands, the Amalekites were winning. When Moses’ hands grew tired, they took a stone and put it under him and he sat on it. Aaron and Hur held his hands up–one on one side, one on the other–so that his hands remained steady till sunset. So Joshua overcame the Amalekite army with the sword.

3 Responses to CAN YOU MOVE A MOUNTAIN?

  1. creationwitness says:

    astudent,

    I would like to say that through your writings I have learned much about the acceptance that you have for others opinions. It has helped me to realize something I have always known and never quite practiced until recently. I believe a man’s ego gets in the way of accepting another’s and until we humble ourselves completely, acceptance just can’t happen.

    One aspect of this is that scripture can be interpreted many ways and I believe there to be more than one interpretation because there is more than one truth written. Without the acceptance we can never learn the other truths. I have mentioned how physically large the bible truly is and that it would be unbearable (physically) for one person to carry. I do see humor in God’s ways, but not in a joking way, but a loving humor that keeps us enthralled with Him. He shows us his intelligence in uncanny ways.

    If we do not have others to learn from, we cannot bear the scripture mentally.

    I enjoy what you have said about faith here. A person truly following Christ would not need to move the mountain. I believe this scripture to also be true in that I believe the mountain is movable by faith if it became neccessary to do so. I have witnessed many events in my life and we have all heard stories about physical impossibilities such as a mother picking up a car to save her baby.

    Christ walked on water to make a point. Don’t lose your faith and don’t be surprised if you can overcome physical reality as Peter did. If you do, you may drown.

    It is all to apparent most people reject God’s Word before ever proving Him. A tiny bit of faith (the mustard seed) can grow into a tree like no other. Without watering the seed, it rots into nothing.

    I had to prove God to myself. I started by disproving him, tempting him. Reading through all of the scriptures to find mistakes of which I thought I found many. But an event in my life told me that he was true and that happened out of faith. Then it happened again and again until I could deny him no longer.

    I love God. I love his ways. I love his wisdom. We who do are blessed by his grace.

    Right now his grace makes perfect sense to me. His patience, his love and his mercy for us is his grace given to accept. For an extremely errant child, he has had the utmost patience with me.

  2. creationwitness says:

    Another thought:

    I doubt God would want us to move mountains or walk on water unless we understood the implications. By this I mean most of us would want to show others our own ego or God’s glory.

    God does not wish to show everyone his glory until the time is correct for him to do so and hence Christ’s explanation of why he talked in parables.

    Matthew
    13:13 Therefore speak I to them in parables: because they seeing see not;and hearing they hear not, neither do they understand.
    13:14 And in them is fulfilled the prophecy of Esaias, which saith, By
    hearing ye shall hear, and shall not understand; and seeing ye shall
    see, and shall not perceive:
    13:15 For this people’s heart is waxed gross, and their ears are dull of
    hearing, and their eyes they have closed; lest at any time they
    should see with their eyes and hear with their ears, and should
    understand with their heart, and should be converted, and I should
    heal them.

    He explained some of the parables, but not all of them. We need to study the the ones we do not understand and of course we are called foolish for following his words.

    1 Corinthians
    1:27 But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound
    the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to
    confound the things which are mighty;
    1:28 And base things of the world, and things which are despised, hath God chosen, yea, and things which are not, to bring to nought
    things that are:
    1:29 That no flesh should glory in his presence.

    Therefor I believe it correct to say that if a man could move a mountain or walk on water, he would never show you because it may bring us to an easy truth. I can’t tell you for sure what God wants, but I would think he would want us to study the truth to find out what is right and wrong and choose between the two

    I have found that people that start following the truth, receive their own evidence of it. Sometimes we need to point this out to them and if they continue in faith, they start to point them out to us.

    Can I move a mountain or walk on water? No, I cannot.

    Either that or I am lying to you:)

  3. astudent says:

    creationwitness,

    I bust out laughing at your last line. I was going to add to my last comment to you that was on the other thread, but now I am laughing so much it is difficult to think seriously.

    I have had the same thoughts as you, when I consider faith healing. If God would grant the power to physically heal another, as He did to the apostles, then to who would the people of this world give the glory to? To God or to the healer?

    I think it is safe to say that no one has to worry about having to duck a mountain because of either one of us.

    Actually, I think our thoughts are so much alike, because we are listening to the same Teacher.

Leave a Reply

