WHAT 24 HOUR PERIOD DOES GOD REST?

My question is twofold. Does God rest every Sunday and if so when does His Sunday begin and end? I think you can see another question in my questions and it is “Did God only rest one day?”

If we assume that God rested, or rests on the Sabbath, then what time does God’s Sabbath start and end?

Yes, I know what Genesis 2:2&3 says so just bear with me a little while.

Let us say that I am in Cincinnati and my Sunday has just started. The people in California will not start their Sunday until three more hours have past. Is God on my time, or California time, or whose time? Who is it that goes with out the protection and care of God for a twenty four hour period? If God rests every Sabbath then we all do. I just wonder when that twenty four hour period is.

If you follow the same logic when does God’s Sabbath end? If it ends on my time then the people in California still have three more hours of Sabbath and those to the east of me are already into Monday and God would have to be at work for them. I think that you can see that there really is no Sabbath for God: if you use the sun as the standard that is.

When I consider the question of God’s rest I think of what Elihu said (Job 34:14&15 NIV) “If it were his intention and he withdrew his spirit and breath, all mankind would perish together and man would return to the dust.” It stands to reason that if God rested He would have had to withdraw to do so.

Then we have the words of Jesus that were spoken on a Sabbath, (John 5:17 NIV) “Jesus said to them, “My Father is always at his work to this very day, and I, too, am working.”” If God had finished His work and rested, could have Jesus said this?

If one uses the sun as the standard for determining the length of God’s days these verses can not be reconciled.

The bible says (Gen 2:2 NIV) By the seventh day God had finished the work he had been doing; so on the seventh day he rested from all his work. If God has yet to rest (John 5:17) then this verse is prophetic and has yet to be fulfilled.

The only way that I can see for all of these verses to agree is that God’s days are not the same as our days and God has yet to enter His rest. Said a different way, all of the days spoken about creation are very long days and are yet to be completed, because God can not have rested (all mankind has not perished). You can see that God created days before He created the sun to govern our days, so the first three days could not have been governed by the sun and in order to be consistent the rest of the days would not be governed by the sun. God’s rest (seventh day) will not depend on, or be governed by the sun (Rev 21:23&24 – 22:5).

Yes, I know that I have repeated myself a few times.

What do you think? Can you reconcile these verses a different way?

astudent

5 Responses to WHAT 24 HOUR PERIOD DOES GOD REST?

  1. creationwitness says:

    astudent,

    Through study I have to agree with you that God’s time is not the same as ours. He says so very specifically in Psalms 90:4 and 2 Peter 3:8, but also mentioned elsewhere. The seven days of Genesis then make sense even to the world of science. The word “beginning” is also of interest because God has known things from the beginning and so can either move through time or has no time to move through, that makes your third question only answerable by God and until he does we can only contemplate. My thought on that is do we really need to know? I think we have that answer found in Daniel 12:7 as in all other scripture mentioning time. Time is on our time being when we are ready.

    I also don’t think of the Sabbath as doing absolutely nothing and therefor God may be at rest, but his work continues. I believe this because of what Jesus did on every Sabbath mentioned. He taught and healed. I take this as an example of what we should do on our Sabbath albeit we should learn and study as well.

    I study the Sabbath on a continual basis and my personal conclusion (at this point in time) is that we rest from our daily chores, prepare all things in advance (Sabbath meals etc.) so that we can rest from our normal survival duties and pursue spiritual ones. This takes place (I will take some flack here) beginning at sunrise on Saturday and ending on Sunday at sunrise. It also doesn’t matter what part of the earth you are on. It starts and ends at the same time for everyone which is a different time for everyone .I can explain my conclusions with scripture if anyone should care to study.

    I also believe it is very important to observe properly and to the best of our ability, otherwise it would not be included in the commandments and God wouldn’t have done it (doing it) himself for no purpose. As this is one of your older posts, I am sure you can add to this.

    P.S. One thing is certain. Creation hasn’t ended. We are all witnesses to that and hopefully co-creators of much more than we believe is possible at present. We should endeavor to become like Him to participate with Him in that opportunity.

  2. astudent says:

    creationwitness,

    I had not thought of time and equated it as though it was from the beginning. However, after you said that, it seems to me that if God created everything that was created and time exists, then time was created also.

    Gen 1:5 (NIV) God called the light “day,” and the darkness he called “night.” And there was evening, and there was morning—the first day.

    Because the Word of God said that was the “first day”, then I understand that God created time. And everything that He created He has the power to control (Nothing is impossible with God).

    You say that “God may be at rest, but His work continues”, but God does not describe it that way.

    John 5:17 (NIV) Jesus said to them, “My Father is always at his work to this very day, and I, too, am working.”

    At first glance, it seems that we have a dichotomy here: Jesus had no sin and yet he did not keep the Sabbath! It became clear (to me) when I realized that the Old Testament Law was more symbolism, of rules, than rules to live by.

    All of the Law comes from only two commandments (Mat 22:36-40): Love the Lord, your God with all of your heart, mind, sole, and strength and love your neighbor as you love yourself. I find it hard to fit not working on the Sabbath into either of these two commandments. Nor could I fit physical circumcision into those two laws.

    I am not saying that you are wrong to observe the Sabbath, Rom 14:5 (NIV) “One man considers one day more sacred than another; another man considers every day alike. Each one should be fully convinced in his own mind.”

    If you are fully convinced, in your own mind, then you should observe the Sabbath. As for me, I consider every day alike. I am not trying to give you any grief; I am just trying to explain my view of the Sabbath.

    Finally, we find something that we do not completely agree on. You see, that is really, what I am looking for! If we always agree then we have nothing to learn as we comment. I am always looking for the questions, because I, and you, already have the Teacher; all we need are the questions! Your views cause me to rethink mine and I either find that I am wrong, or I have my views reinforced. It is a greater thing, if I find that I am wrong, because then I have something more to learn; and I certainly have more to learn.

  3. astudent says:

    creationwitness,

    Well, after some more thought, I can apply celebrating the Sabbath to the first royal Law. If someone loves their God with all of their heart, mind, soul, (Used the right word that time) and strength, then spending an entire day with Him is quite understandable.

    The only way that I can see anything wrong with it is if it is taught as required for others. Which is the only thing that I can see wrong with my view as well.

  4. creationwitness says:

    astudent,

    Following some thoughts I came across this post and I don’t remember ever reading it. I don’t think I have ever used the word celebrate before, but come to think of it the word is appropriate if we are not doing our own pleasure Isa 58:13.

    I keep a few things in mind as you mentioned circumcision. I see this as a ritual to differentiate a converted man from a natural born man. Circumcision is of no use if the man does not convert. I see baptism as a similar ritual with similar consequence. The law of circumcision has not been done away with as is none of the law. It is now strengthened because it is spiritual and we are made able to follow through mercy and forgiveness in Christ. Circumcision is now a spiritual choice from and taking place in the heart as I believe sabbath keeping is. Many of Christ’s followers spend more than just the sabbath day following.

    Having said that, I still follow the sabbath. I wouldn’t have it any other way. The ritual helped convert me and I find it absolutely renewing. According to the Pharisees’ law, I have broken it many times, but their law is not God’s law. As you noted Jesus also broke “their law”, not his father’s. When I break God’s law, I repent.

    Did God rest the seventh day? Indeed he did. He says so, but what he rested from was physical creation not the spiritual. That is still happening and we are witnesses to it. If he has stopped all of what he does, we wouldn’t be here.

    I also don’t think it necessary to disagree to learn something. I have learned much by listening, study, thinking it through, proving it correct and then practice. Sometimes though it takes practice to prove it and that is why we follow by faith.

    Thank you for providing us with some spiritual material to contemplate. I always enjoy.

  5. creationwitness says:

    Sorry.. I should have said “Don’t remember reading your last comment”.

Leave a Reply

