CHRISTIAN, IF JESUS “IS” GOD THERE IS NO HOPE FOR US!!!

This is no ploy to get you to read this post. It is just basic understanding of who Jesus is, was, and what He has done for us.

The Bible says Jesus “was” God in John 1:1 and to reinforce the statement adds that He was with God in the beginning (verse 2). Though I am no Greek scholar, I can see that there is no word for “was”, or “is” in Strongs however it has always been translated as was and I believe God would not let it be translated wrong every time. It also agrees with the rest of the Bible.

In order to understand parts of the Bible one must understand other parts. You must understand death in order to understand life. There are two deaths in the Bible, the physical death, that we all must face and spiritual death which is not mandatory. The world looks at death as the end of life, but we know there is no end of life. Life is a permanent gift to every one. Death is actually a permanent separation. Physical death is a permanent separation from this world and all that is in it: even ones body. Spiritual death is permanent separation from God.

The second death is for those who did not turn to God in this life. It is the punishment for our sin. It is said correctly that Jesus died for us and that He paid the price for our sin: took our punishment for the sin that we committed.

Jesus died a physical death on the cross, but that is not all of what we deserve. We deserve permanent separation from God. If Jesus died the first death for us we would not have to die a physical death. However we must all die the first death. He died the second death for us, so that we do not have too.

Can you see that if separation from God is the second death and Jesus paid our penalty that He is now separated from God?

It is exactly as the Bible says, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.” and that Jesus is the Son of God.

If you want to better understand who Jesus is, study the “Arm of God”.

astudent

7 Responses to CHRISTIAN, IF JESUS “IS” GOD THERE IS NO HOPE FOR US!!!

  1. Noogatiger says:

    How is Jesus the “Son” of God?
    How does God even have a Son?
    IF he is really a Son, doesn’t that make him a second created God?
    Also what makes him a Son; does he have male private parts, or should he simply be called: created God #2, or just God #2?
    If Jesus was God, or a part of God, or somehow a son of a God, could this God ever really die, if he was truly God? Well, of course not.

    So, if it was only the earthly part of Jesus’s body, ( which God#2 possesed), and which died on the cross, then what happened to this part of him after death? Did it magically just disappear in a puff of smoke? Is it still in a tomb somewhere?

  2. astudent says:

    It would seem to me that God had a Son the same way Adam had a wife. There is no wife for God, so He could not have a Son the way we have one. That is why I suggested studying the Arm of God.
    God calls Him a Son, not a second God. There is only one Father and He has only one Son. If you want to call Him a second God you would be incorrect, because Jesus said the Father is Greater (John 14:28 NIV) “You heard me say, ‘I am going away and I am coming back to you.’ If you loved me, you would be glad that I am going to the Father, for the Father is greater than I.”
    Jesus should be called God’s Son, because God called Him His Son (Mat 3:17-17:5, Mark 9:7, Luke 9:35, & 2 Pet 1:17).
    If you view death as the world does (the end of everything for the one who dies) then Jesus could not die, but if you understand death as separation then Jesus not only could die, but did die: both deaths. No one dies as the world views death. Those who do not turn to God will beg for death, and those who turn to God will live with Him forever.
    There are many accounts of what happened to Jesus after He died. They are recorded in the Bible and available to anyone that truthfully searches.
    Your questions are good questions and I have attempted to answer them as best as I can, but all of the answers are in the Bible. If there is a God there is nothing more important than to search out the answers and if there is no God you will waste less time than you waste on TV.

  3. Georgia says:

    Jesus is the Son of God, Jesus is God! Hard for the human mind to understand but so true! God is like the sun! The sun is God, the light is the Son, the heat is the Holy Spirit! One sun, ONE GOD! I will try and as simply as can be, explain some things from my knowledge as a Christian orthodox and my beliefs! God had to come to earth because of so many people believing in different things/materials, stones, gold, statues and had different people as gods, even in my back home Greece, we had the 12 gods BC and so many other countries like India, which till present believe in so many different gods and in cows and other animals, committing adulteries and so on, so therefore God wanted to introduce Himself somehow to these people, to us, he wanted to show us the right path, so he send the prophets like Moses and many more! Many believed in that One God but lots still didn’t and lots still don’t, unfortunately (now is your only chance that was given to us through Lord, Jesus, there is chance after death). Therefore it would be best for us if God Himself came to earth to introduce Himself and tell us that there is no other god but only one God! Of course God will not appear in front of us (sinful, dirty people) as God. God hasn’t appeared to anybody not even the saints or prophets, they would only hear His voice in the Old Testament for example Moses when he wrote the Ten Commandments that God dictated him he couldn’t see God he just saw a fire and light and heard His voice and wrote the Commandments; and so many other examples with prophets and Good People in the Old Testament and the New Testament. So yes, as I was saying, unfortunately, not many believed in Him through the prophets, Greece believed in God after Christ and after the Bible was written and preached in it’s still original language being ancient Greek. (Which is forbidden since 1638 I believe to be translated in Modern Greek, because with translation you lose the exact meaning sometimes?) So God had to come to earth, His Word had to be heard on earth, by Him in the form of a PERFECT Human Being who would give us the Perfect Example of how God wants US to live our life, the same way Himself did in the form of Jesus Christ. Each Word/Lesson/Prayer said by the Lord Jesus mentioned in the Bible is what He, God wants us to do as well. He wants us to be like Him the Word, perfect human beings to glory Him our Creator (which is not possible in the world we live today and because we are not perfect human beings, but Jesus WAS PERFECT so that should tell us something; and it is insulting to mention “private parts” 😦 We know him as a Son because He is called a Son by the Father and we know Him as the Father because He is called a Father by the Son. Hearing the word son should not affect how we see Jesus. To talk a bit about His death. Jesus was born miraculously; Mary an innocent Virgin girl was chosen by God to deliver his Word and she conceived miraculously with the help of the Holy Spirit, and she delivered miraculously with the help of the Holy Spirit with no pain, not like a regular delivery. When Jesus was crucified and eventually died, the third day after His death He was raised with His whole Body and Soul and taken back to Heaven with the help of the Holy Spirit. The Resurrection! A miracle again given to us as well. There is no magic here my friends, there is Miracle, and there is God. God the Father Orders, God the Son/Word Proceeds God the Holy Spirit Makes It Happen! There is a Tomb of course but there is no Body inside as mentioned above. If you are interested you should check out the Miracle that happens every Christian Orthodox Easter at Jesus the Lord’s Tomb! You can watch a video on youtube and also I believe on the news this Orthodox Easter on the 27 of April. http://www.holyfire.org/eng/velich.htm and also http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ys8hNr7BZ70&feature=related
    One last thing I would like to mention again is that Jesus the God; it is mentioned in the Bible, Old Testament and New Testament in reflecting ways. For example in the Old Testament (written in Hebrew originally I believe) The Holy Trinity is if you read the first chapter I believe the Genesis in my language which means the Beginning, you will see of course the Creations God made in detail each. He says: “Let there be light….Let there be…and so on…BUT when the time comes for Him to create human He DOESNOT say Let there be, instead He says Genesis 1:26-27
    26: Then God said, “Let US make man in OUR image, in OUR likeness, and let them rule over the fish of the sea and the birds of the air, over the livestock, over all the earth, and over all the creatures that move along the ground.”
    27 So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them. Us who is Us? There is a reflection of the Holy Trinity here! In the New Testament (from its Original language ancient Greek) I can give you also examples with a very strong one being in John’s Revelation (every Christians’ treasure) which was revealed to him by the Lord Jesus Christ in Patmos, Greece; in the first chapter He says CLEARLY using two letters of the Greek alphabet, A (Alpha) being the first letter of the Greek alphabet and Omega being the last letter of the Greek alphabet, He says: “I am the Alpha and the Omega, the beginning and the ending, {saith the Lord}, which is, and which was, and which is to come, the ALMIGHTY” (Revelation 1:8) To end this I tried to answer your questions to the best of my ability with the help of Jesus Christ, I couldn’t have done it without His Holy Spirit. I feel privileged to read and understand ancient Greek, I am glad that I have this unchanged Bible in my hands so I can share it with you. As I said before it’s hard when you translate, sometimes you lose the real meaning, but hopefully with the blessings of God my explanations are precise; I copied the English script versions Genesis 1:26-27, (Revelation 1:8) from online for you guys. One thing I forgot to say is do not complicate things, I know they look complicated but really they are not. God knows what He is saying and doing and we should trust His Word and as “astudent” says search truthfully, with all of your heart. Don’t confuse Jesus’ life on earth and don’t make it look that He is like us. He wants us to be like Him, that is why He came to earth as a Perfect Human being to teach us and give us an example of how we should address and give glory to God! So, take the Son the EXAMPLE and put it in good use! Amen! God Bless!

  4. Georgia says:

    I meant to say in those first brackets (there is NO chance after death)

  5. astudent says:

    Georgia,

    I don’t know what happened to your comment. Your correction appeared and I was trying to understand just what was corrected and then your comment appeared as “Awaiting Moderation”. hummm I am not set up to moderate.
    Well, anyway thanks for the comment. It was just what I needed to wake me up. I have been thinking about the world and how evil is called good and good evil and I see it everywhere. I should be thinking more about God and less about the world.

    I have been slow to answer because I feel that I will hurt your feelings, but I must risk it.

    First I stand on what I said in the post. God is a just God as well as a loving God and because of that He must condemn any sinner: even His Son. Jesus took our sin and even though he did not sin himself he became like one of us, for us, and therefore he was condemned to suffer our just punishment.

    Scripture says that Jesus said only what the Father commanded him to say and even how to say it (John 12:49). It seems to me that when Jesus said things like, “Before Abraham was, I am” it was really God speaking. The words only came from the mouth of Jesus: which causes much confusion (God meant it too).

    John 5:30 makes it clear to me that the Word is not, or no longer the Father (John 5:30 NIV) “By myself I can do nothing; I judge only as I hear, and my judgment is just, for I seek not to please myself but him who sent me.”

    Then we come to the disagreement that we seem to have.

    I am happy that you can read and understand ancient Greek. That must be the Word that God speaks to you with. However the NIV is the Word that God usually speaks to me through, though I have many translations and sometimes the Spirit of God will use another to clarify something for me. Some English speaking people think that the KJV is the only translation of the Word that should be used, because the Spirit uses it to reveal Himself to them. The truth of the matter, as I see it, is God would not limit understanding to the original words that the Word is written in, or any particular translation, because that would show favoritism to those who understand ancient Greek, or that particular translation. (I do not speak English. I speak American and there are differences that confuse when American is spoken to those who think it is also English) Also at some point the meaning of the Word has to be translated by a man, or woman, for others to read. Reading does not guarntee understanding. I don’t think God would delegate the authority to understand to anyone else.

    There were more than a hundred scholars working for years from the best available Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek texts to give us the NIV. The explanation of the process is in the preface of the NIV translation and it is impressive.

    Sometimes I believe God gives one of us an understanding of Scripture that He doesn’t give others, but it doesn’t matter what translation one uses, or even if one uses the original language. The understanding comes from God thru the translation, not from the translation.

    Though God uses the Bible to reveal Himself, I do not believe that we can roll up our sleeves, study the Bible and really learn about God. It seems to me that we ask, or beg God to reveal Himself to us and then He does. “For everyone who has will be given more, and he will have an abundance.” (Mat 25:29) We can not earn understanding, but we are given it.

    You may well ask me, ‘Then why do you write as though you understand, when it is not possible for you to give others understanding?’ My answer is, so that others will ask God the same questions that I asked. I do not claim to be a teacher, only a student, God is the teacher and perhaps I do not understand some things because I am not the best student. If I am wrong and a better student points it out, using Scripture and logic, then I am a happy student. You see part of me is very greedy, because I want all understanding, though not at the expense of others.

    I am not saying these things to criticize you, or take any of your joy. I only want those others that read these comments to understand that they do not need to know some foreign language in order to understand God’s Word.

    Just as an after thought I don’t think that the Word was forbidden to be translated into Modern Greek because it might lose the exact meanings, but because Satan used the law of the government to slow Christian progress. If God doesn’t reveal the meaning of Scripture I don’t believe it matters what language it is written in. In the past it was not only Greece that impeded the Gospel, but even the Church would not let the Word be translated into everyone’s language.

  6. george says:

    your may 2007, questioning the useage of the word was; check Strongs 2258. Strongs is derived from KJV so old spelling show up. One needs to be aware of terms that were KJV and now have differt meanings,ie,prevent. Please check it out.

  7. astudent says:

    george,

    Strong’s is derived from the original language not the KJV. It is basically a Greek, Hebrew, and Aramaic dictionary of only the words in the KJV. Because those that study the Bible use the original words there is no change in the meanings.

    It is true that the meanings of words change over time, but that only happens when the language is used everyday. Someone will apply a different meaning to a word, such as “gay”, or “like”, or even a phrase “you know” and if it catches on it becomes the new meaning and the old is forgotten over time.

    That is why it is important to only consider the original definitions of the words used in the Bible. If the definitions of the words of the Bible can be changed then the Word of God could be changed!

    Strong’s says the word “was” (G 2258) is the past tense of “I am” (G 1510). All of the translations that I checked translates the word as “was” and I checked every one that I have.

Leave a Reply

