JESUS “IS” THE SON OF DAVID 2

After I wrote my last post I thought some might think that I may no longer believe that Jesus is the Son of God. Rest assured nothing has changed.

Spirit and flesh are different entities and it is possible for them to both occupy the same space at the same time.

Every believer knows that the Holy Spirit is part of them. I know that I have received the Spirit because I can feel it. God has given me the Spirit to teach me His ways. I do not audibly hear the voice of God, but if I am quiet I have thoughts that can not come from a sinful mind like mine. Those thoughts come from the mind of Christ which I was given when I turned to God. God teaches me if I will but listen and I’m no different than you.

Well, I am not the swiftest of students so I sin sometimes and as soon as I realize that I have sinned it seem as though the bottom drops out of my stomach. It is said that we are led by the Spirit, but the Spirit doesn’t lead me; He teaches me. If He led me I would not have sinned in the first place. He lets me sin so that I can learn that it is wrong to sin.

I believe that later when we all live with God the Spirit will lead us as Isaiah says in 30:21 (NIV) “Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.”” Right now I don’t hear that voice so I don’t always turn the right way. I am depending on my own understanding. Understanding that I am trying to base on the Word of God, but never the less, because I am not perfect I do not hear the voice of God until I sin.

Jesus was/is both man and God. He allowed Himself to be perfectly led by the Spirit of His Father. There was no reason to teach Jesus anything because He allowed Himself to be led exactly as the Spirit directed. He could hear the voice behind Him saying “This is the way; walk in it”.

John says the Word was God (John 1:1) and he said the Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us (1:14). I believe that the flesh that the Word became was the Messiah, the son of David and I am only echoing what God said (Mat 1:1, Psa 89:3, 4, 29, 36, Jer 15, 17, 18 and more).

Let me ask a question from the Bible and then give you my answer.

(Isa 51:1 NIV) Who has believed our message and to whom has the arm of the LORD been revealed?

My answer is ME and now YOU also. (If you have ears to hear)

I must say one more time “Rabbis we have no disagreement, Jesus is the son of David as well as the Son of God.

2 Responses to JESUS “IS” THE SON OF DAVID 2

  1. MDCLXVI says:

    Jesus is the Son of David who God caused to die for David’s sin with Bathsheba, then Jesus was resurrected into Mary to die for the sins of the world.

    Romans 1:3 Concerning his Son Jesus Christ our Lord, which was made of the seed of David according to the flesh;

    2 Samuel 12:14 Howbeit, because by this deed thou hast given great occasion to the enemies of the LORD to blaspheme, the child also that is born unto thee shall surely die.

    Jesus is also called the Son of God, in God’s promise of Messiah to David.

    2 Samuel 7:12 And when thy days be fulfilled, and thou shalt sleep with thy fathers, I will set up thy seed after thee, which shall proceed out of thy bowels, and I will establish his kingdom.

    2 Samuel 7:13 He shall build an house for my name, and I will stablish the throne of his kingdom for ever.

    2 Samuel 7:14 I will be his father, and he shall be my son. If he commit iniquity, I will chasten him with the rod of men, and with the stripes of the children of men:

    David was promised to have an everlasting kingdom with a son always on the throne but the throne was toppled by Babylon for many generations.

    Therefore to keep His promise to David, God resurrected Jesus into Mary so that he is the firstborn from a womb from among the dead, though not the first ever resurrected.

    Colossians 1:18 And he is the head of the body, the church: who is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead; that in all things he might have the preeminence.

    Thus Nicodemus asked how a man could be born twice from the womb.

    John 3:4 Nicodemus saith unto him, How can a man be born when he is old? can he enter the second time into his mother’s womb, and be born?

    God resurrected the bones of David’s child, like a root from dry ground.

    Ezekiel 37:4-5 Again he said unto me, Prophesy upon these bones, and say unto them, O ye dry bones, hear the word of the LORD. Thus saith the Lord GOD unto these bones; Behold, I will cause breath to enter into you, and ye shall live:

    Isaiah 53:2 For he shall grow up before him as a tender plant, and as a root out of a dry ground: he hath no form nor comeliness; and when we shall see him, there is no beauty that we should desire him.

    Jesus was sown in shame with David and Bathsheba, but raised in glory from Mary.

    1 Corinthians 15:42-45 So also is the resurrection of the dead. It is sown in corruption; it is raised in incorruption: It is sown in dishonor; it is raised in glory: it is sown in weakness; it is raised in power: It is sown a natural body; it is raised a spiritual body. There is a natural body, and there is a spiritual body. And so it is written, The first man Adam was made a living soul; the last Adam was made a quickening spirit.

    Therefore Jesus was born a human, but for his obedience, given power of God to rule like God over us as Messiah, as Moses had power of God over Israel.

    Exodus 4:16 And he shall be thy spokesman unto the people: and he shall be, even he shall be to thee instead of a mouth, and thou (MOSES) shalt be to him instead of God.

    The genealogies in Matthew and Luke are simply for the two Josephs that acted as father to Jesus, the Carpenter and Arimathea, and irrelevant to the lineage of Jesus or his royalty from David.

    1 Timothy 1:4 Neither give heed to fables and endless genealogies, which minister questions, rather than godly edifying which is in faith: so do.

  2. astudent says:

    MDCLXVI,

    Well, I have to admit that is a different approach to understanding the genealogy of Jesus. I like different ideas, because I believe we should examine the Bible from as many different views as we can. My first duty is to be a Berean and test what you have said with the Scripture. I first thought it would be easy to refute your claim, but it was not. However there are a few verses that do not seem to fit your view.

    If Bathsheba was the mother of Jesus then Jesus would have died a physical death twice. This would refute Hebrews 9:27 (NIV) “Just as man is destined to die once, and after that to face judgment”. Though every man faces two births and two deaths one set is physical or worldly and the other is spiritual birth and death.

    Then the very next verse says, “so Christ was sacrificed once to take away the sins of many people; and he will appear a second time, not to bear sin, but to bring salvation to those who are waiting for him.” If Jesus died as the offspring of Bathsheba, returned as Jesus, then he comes again it would be the third time, not the second. I can see that it might be possible to refute this as the word for second can mean again.

    Then the Bible says Mary conceived (Mat 1; 20) and if your theory was correct Mary would have been a surrogate mother and not the one who conceived. But I can see that it might be possible to get around this as the Greek word for conceived figuratively means to regenerate. If I were agreeing with you (though I am not) I would say that Jesus was regenerated through Mary.

    As I try to agree with you I realize that I have to change the translation of some of the words of Scripture in order to do so. Those words have been translated by scholars that know much more about the language than I do. Then I have to consider that God has allowed the translation and He watches over His Word. The end result of this line of thought is that I should not try to change the meaning of the words.

    There is another thing that stands in my way when I try to agree. God always has a meaning hidden in everything that He does. At least that is what I have found. What would be the meaning of your view? Or said another way, why would God create Jesus this way? The Bible says, “All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness”, so what would this teach us?

    Then one would have to reconcile that if your view is correct Jesus would not have been born of a virgin: at least not the first time.

    Because of 2 Samuel 7:12 we do know that Jesus is the son of David, from David’s own body. How God has accomplished this is the only thing that separates our views.

    I have found a few things that stand out to me because of your comment. One is in 2 Samuel 11:4 (NIV) “Then David sent messengers to get her. She came to him, and he slept with her. (She had purified herself from her uncleanness.) Then she went back home.” I wonder why the phrase “She had purified herself from her uncleanness.” is included. Perhaps it is there as part of your view.

    The other one is David named a son Nathan. Nathan was the prophet that brought the news of the curse to David. That stuck me as quite unusual. Most people now days would blame Nathan for his part of the incident, but it seems David did not.

    As for your reference to 1 Tim 1:4, it is referring to Jews pointing out their own genealogy not to the study, thoughts, or questions about the genealogy of Jesus. The genealogy of the average Jew is not Scripture, but all Scripture is useful for teaching and any question about Jesus is fair game in my book.

    OK, I finally understand and have determined why I can not accept your view. If I viewed the genealogy of Jesus as you said then David would have been the father of Jesus; not God, because David was the father of the son of Bathsheba. If I view it as I said in my post even though Jesus came from David’s own body, God is still his Father and there is no confusion. (At least in my mind)

    Your choices of verses were very good and even though I do not agree, I almost did and I must thank you for the comment. It really caused me to think and that is the purpose of a good Bible study.

Leave a Reply

