JESUS “IS” THE SON OF DAVID 3

Let’s consider the genealogy of Jesus Christ that is listed in Matthew 1:1-17 and Luke 3:23-38.

The first thing that we as Christians know is that Joseph was not the father of Jesus. The second thing is that the two genealogies are different. Christians have struggled with this ever sense it was written. We have looked for the key that would reconcile the two genealogies, but no one has really found it.

Now I have to laugh as those chills go up and down my back, as they do when God shows me something that He has hidden from me. (Hidden in plain sight as He does many times in His Word)

As I said, the first thing that we know is Joseph is not the father of Jesus, so why is the genealogy of Joseph even to be considered? Then you have to ask yourself, why do the two genealogies not agree?

The answer to the first question is it really doesn’t matter and the answer to the second question is “because” it really doesn’t matter. It is wrong on purpose!

Matthew states that the genealogy he lists is that of “Jesus Christ the son of David, the son of Abraham”, not the genealogy of Joseph, so it is only important that it correct from Abraham to Jesus. If Joseph was the father of Jesus both lists would have to agree, but he wasn’t. I might add that both of the genealogies do agree from Abraham to Jesus.

This agrees with the statement that the Messiah would come from David. If Jesus was to come through the line of David then Joseph’s linage would have been important and would have been properly listed. Also the verses that say before Marry and Joseph came together, she was found to be with child through the Holy Spirit would have to be removed from the Bible. It would have to read that she was found to be with child through Joseph.

I have reached a point in my walk with God that I do no longer doubt anything that is in the Bible. I have realized that I do not understand everything, but when I find something that doesn’t seem to fit I know it does and I am almost overcome with joy, because I know I have something more to learn; and usually God shows me the key to understanding it. (Not always as I don’t have a clue when it comes to prophecy)

Because I am so sure of the infallibility of the Bible I never thought of the possibility that God might allow an error on purpose; which after all would not be an error. The genealogies in Matthew and Luke from David to Joseph are just that. They are there to prove that Joseph is not the father of Jesus.

6 Responses to JESUS “IS” THE SON OF DAVID 3

  1. reply says:

    your wrong sir, im afraid. please note that maria wasnt really a virgin but a young woman. its simply a translation error of the word almah (hebrew) to parthenos (greek). then everything makes sense, even though its still inconsistent. also josephs job is at least doubtful (search for a translation of naggar – which is aramaic) or just ask your theologian. its also not wrong on purpose. this problem was known for centuries. its not the only inconsistency youll find in the bible.
    have a look on micah 5,2 and john 7,41-42. it is extraordinarily interesting how luke and matthew deal with this problem (their storys are inconsistent again), for instance. historicans proofed that lukes story is so very wrong… (look at quirinius and herodes and the historical facts)
    you also have to ask yourself why these books are in the bible and other ones that were written arent.

  2. astudent says:

    reply

    No, I’m not wrong. There are no errors in the Bible: only errors in unbelievers minds. You do not understand the Bible, because you do not believe it. God does not waste His time on someone who does not even believe He exists. The Bible contains everything that He wanted to say to believers and that is why other books are not included, but it is not possible for unbelievers to understand (Matthew Chapter 13) (But you will not understand).

    I have tried to explain God’s Word to unbelievers and in doing so, I proved Matthew, chapter thirteen. It makes no one happy and it just wasted the time of both of us.

    I have no desire to repeat the fiasco. If you believed God’s word you would understand pagau and selvin, but even better than that, you would understand God.

  3. Anna says:

    Blind faith always keeps people from reasoning. Yet God said, “Come let us reason together.”

    The KJV was translated according to the doctrines and creeds of the religion of the day on pain of death. Many different words are translated the same but have very different meanings. Hades, Gehenna and Tartarus are translated ‘hell’ but all are different. Kosmos and eons are translated ‘world’ but the latter means ‘ages.’

    This is a deliberate altering of the truth to keep the sheeple subject to their masters, ‘The Church.’…..yet the church is the body of believers, not a building or a religious denomination. Is it any wonder there are over 33,000 different denominations in the Christian religion?

    People just want their ears tickled. The truth is sharper than a 2-edged sword and the religious people get mad when they are confronted with TRUTH….

  4. astudent says:

    Anna,

    Darn, girl, you sound like me.

    Jesus told us that the church would become corrupt, (Mat 13:33 NIV) He told them still another parable: “The kingdom of heaven is like yeast that a woman took and mixed into a large amount of flour until it worked all through the dough.”

    However, even though there are many translations of the Bible, God still protects His Word and uses it to teach believers. The world does not believe and does not even realize that it doesn’t. Without the Spirit to reveal all things no one would understand any translation of the Bible.

    I think that we should use all of the translations of the Bible. Sometimes I find the KJV easer to understand than my personal favorite, the NIV: but not often.

  5. Matthew says:

    I and asking this question out of my own ignorance of the Bible, please forgive my bluntness. What is the significance behind Christ being called the Son of David? I am doing a study for my expansion in my Walk with Christ and would really appreciate input on this matter. I do not really have anyone to be able to ask in person, as I feel I am the only one I know so far who is a true born again Christian.

  6. astudent says:

    Matthew,

    I think that we all, sometimes, think that we are the only true born again Christian. Perhaps because the Spirit within, that we received when we were baptized, revealed something to us that is so clear that it seems everyone should understand and it just seems as if others were genuine they would know it. However, it takes time to understand and no one knows everything.

    Even Elijah thought he was the only one of God, but consider the answer God gave him. Elijah said, (Rom 11:3 NIV) “Lord, they have killed your prophets and torn down your altars; I am the only one left, and they are trying to kill me”?
    (Rom 11:4 NIV) And what was God’s answer to him? “I have reserved for myself seven thousand who have not bowed the knee to Baal.”

    You do indeed have someone to ask and He is closer than a brother. Ask then read Scripture, and wait. God will be faithful to answer.

    Having said that truth, I will explain why it is important to me to understand or know that Jesus is the son of David: as well as the Son of God.

    Scripture said that He would come from David’s own body. (2 Sam 7:12 NIV) “When your days are over and you rest with your fathers, I will raise up your offspring to succeed you, who will come from your own body, and I will establish his kingdom.” All of Scripture is true and so all is important to me.

    Possibly, your question has led me to a better understanding of why it is important to know that Jesus is called the son of David.

    Jesus was both the son of man and the Son of God. Both parts (if one can call them parts) were kings. Jesus was a king in the line of man, and a Spiritual King in the line of God. I am sure that there is more and better answers to your question, but God has not made any clear to me: yet.

    He will, if I just ask and wait for the answers. If He answers you before me, then tell me and I will do the same.

Leave a Reply

