SHOULD WE PRAY FOR PHYSICAL HEALING?

The post that I have written on public prayer along with the responses have made me wonder if we are ever suppose to pray for physical healing. The most afflicted man in the Bible, other than Jesus, is Job, so I began my search with the Book of Job.

Neither Job, nor his three friends, prayed for physical healing. They all knew Job’s problems were caused by God.

Some people would say that God would not do such things, but Job 33:29-30 says, “God does all these things to a man– twice, even three times–to turn back his soul from the pit, that the light of life may shine on him. What is it that He does? (Job 33:19-22) Or a man may be chastened on a bed of pain with constant distress in his bones, so that his very being finds food repulsive and his soul loathes the choicest meal. His flesh wastes away to nothing, and his bones, once hidden, now stick out. His soul draws near to the pit, and his life to the messengers of death.

If someone had perfect faith he, or she, would know that God already knew their plight. Knowing that God loves His children and doesn’t want anything bad to happen to them, the one perfect in faith would also know that there is a reason for sickness and instead of praying for physical healing they would be praying for understanding. The understanding of how they have turned away from God so that their soul must be turned back from the pit.

Job didn’t think that he had done anything wrong, so it really bothered him that God would allow all of this to happen to him. The closest that Job came to asking for physical healing is found in chapter 13 verse 21, where he said, “Withdraw your hand far from me, and stop frightening me with your terrors.”

This is not the approach that we take when we pray for healing. We pray for those who are close to death to be healed. Not spiritually, but physically and I don’t believe that is how we should pray.

Think about it, if God does these things to a man then why would we ask Him to stop? Do we know better than God? He has said that He does all these things to a man– twice, even three times–to turn back his soul from the pit, that the light of life may shine on him

There are many verses in the New Testament where someone was healed physically, but they were only healed as an example that Jesus, and later the Apostles, had the power to really heal someone. To turn someone back from the pit is real healing. Everyone must die, so physical healing is only prolonging the inevitable. It is not really healing.

Even the Apostles were not physically healed. When Paul wrote to Timothy he did not tell him to pray that God would heal him physically. He wrote, (1 Tim 5:23 NIV) Stop drinking only water, and use a little wine because of your stomach and your frequent illnesses.

When Paul had a physical problem (Thorn in his flesh) God did not heal him, even though he prayed three times to be healed.

If you think that I am wrong (And you always should) then you have to reconcile the fact that God already knows of any sickness that anyone might have and that He has the power to heal anyone. If you think that He is just waiting for one to ask for physical healing then consider Paul.

I don’t know if all illnesses are caused to turn someone back to God, but I am sure that we are all sinners and I also can not be sure that some illness is not from God. I doubt if Paul needed to be turned, but his illness had a purpose and God would not heal him.

A wise man that served in a Church ministry where he visited the hospitals and prayed for the sick once told me that he would hear some people say, “I don’t see why God doesn’t just take me”.

I have to admit, though it makes me seem heartless, that I broke out laughing. It seemed rather funny to me that someone who was sick would go to a doctor, then to the hospital, do everything that they could possibly do to keep from dying and then say “I don’t see why God just doesn’t take me”!

 

 

15 Responses to SHOULD WE PRAY FOR PHYSICAL HEALING?

  1. Jake says:

    In response to your last paragraph, where you question why one would go to a Dr, hospital,etc. and then say “I don’t see why God just doesn’t take me”!

    The woman with the issue of blood had done all those things and got to the end of herself, when she heard about a man named Jesus and her faith rose up in her and she said”If I can touch just the hem of his garment, I can be healed”.

    Sometimes we do have to go through something, to get us out of something, to get us into The Thing that God is wanting us to have. On the other side of obedience is always a blessing!!

    Yes I DO believe we are to not only pray for healing, but do it without DOUBT and UNBELEIF, for without Faith it is impossible to please God!!

    Love in Christ Jesus
    Jake

  2. Carlton Figg says:

    Jesus said that God knows what we need even before we ask for it. I have to believe this because it comes from the Son himself. So I have stopped asking for healing and, instead, I thank God for the situation I am in because I know this is part of His greater plan for my life. And here I need to point out that I am a cardiac patient with a heart so weak that the doctors have recommended a heart transplant.

    As for divine healing. I believe that such intervention from Heaven is a possibility. But I also believe that evangelists are these days cheapening the name of Jesus in one hoax after another. I believe in divine intervention because, in January 2006, doctors at the local cardiac care centre informed my relatives that there was no hope for me, that I had gone into “end-stage” heart failure and that the best they could do was to make me as comfortable as possible. But a group of Christians, on hearing of the medical verdict, marched into the intensive care unit, laid hands on me and prayed fervently for my recovery. Within the hour I was sitting up in bed, combing my hair and while demanding to be taken home ! The original problem persists (heart failure et al), but the fact remains that the Lord intervened and gave me the gift of life at a time when trained professionals had left me for dead.

    I know that I am being kept alive for a purpose which will be revealed to me in time to come. I am also aware that God knows of my plight , and that while I pray for others (intercession, they call it), I no longer pray for my own healing. That is for other to do — as they did in that hospital. And yes, the miracle of healing is very real and alive even despite those who aver that the days of miracles are over.

  3. astudent says:

    Jake,
    The woman that you referred to (Mat 9:20-22, Mark 5:25-34 & Luke 8:43-48) did not pray for anything. She touched the cloak of Jesus and no one else knew that she had. Though it was done in a crowd it was still in secret and with faith. It is said “Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.” and He did.
    I see these verses as, though she was healed, it was to demonstrate that Jesus had and has the power to heal completely (spiritually). In order for us to understand it had to be a physical healing, because we can not see spiritual healing.

    Carlton,
    Thanks for the comment. It broadens my understanding. I am sorry about your physical weakness, but I am encouraged because of your spiritual strength.
    Viewing your comment with truth I see that God strengthened you physically, but He had already given you the gift of life. The gift of life came when you accepted Jesus as your Savior.
    I too am sure there is a reason that God granted you strength. Perhaps it is so you can tell others, or perhaps for some other reason that I don’t know.
    I look at the hospital incident as a fulfillment of James 5:14. Though you didn’t go to the elders they came to you. I think the oil is symbolic of wisdom and understanding and when they prayed and anointed you the Lord raised you (He didn’t heal you).
    I hope you don’t think that I am disagreeing with you in any way. I am only trying to think like someone with perfect faith: though I am not such a one. It seems to me that if physical health was the most important thing then God would not let any of us become sick. He not only lets us become sick, but He actually makes some of us sick: for a purpose. (Job 33:19-30) The most important purpose I might add.
    I also agree with you when you say, “But I also believe that evangelists are these days cheapening the name of Jesus in one hoax after another.” They do it for money and they bring glory to themselves: not to God and it hampers the teaching of the Gospel. It seems to me that those that follow such a person are putting their trust in a man: not God.
    I feel compelled to repeat that no one is truly healed physically. This phase of life is not permanent. This is the beginning of life and we will be permanently healed when we leave this physical life and go on to real life where there will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain (Rev 21:4).

  4. David says:

    As I continue to read your blogs I grow more and more saddened. You seem to twist the truth a lot and blend falsities into truths. Dealing with one thing that is completely a separate issue and then edifying your point. This one I could not keep silent. In one reply you used james 5:14 for your own interpretation when it is outlining not only that you should pray for the sick but how you should go about praying for them and with them bellow is the full verses in context.

    Prayer for the Sick

    5:13 Is anyone among you suffering? He should pray. Is anyone in good spirits? He should sing praises. 5:14 Is anyone among you ill? He should summon the elders of the church, and they should pray for him and anoint him with oil in the name of the Lord. 5:15 And the prayer of faith will save the one who is sick and the Lord will raise him up – and if he has committed sins, he will be forgiven. 5:16 So confess your sins to one another and pray for one another so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person has great effectiveness. 5:17 Elijah was a human being like us, and he prayed earnestly that it would not rain and there was no rain on the land for three years and six months! 5:18 Then he prayed again, and the sky gave rain and the land sprouted with a harvest.
    5:19 My brothers and sisters, if anyone among you wanders from the truth and someone turns him back, 5:20 he should know that the one who turns a sinner back from his wandering path will save that person’s soul from death and will cover a multitude of sins.

    Also when you pray you should pray as such
    Matthew 6:
    Our Father in heaven, may your name be honored,
    6:10 may your kingdom come,
    may your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.
    6:11 Give us today our daily bread,
    6:12 and forgive us our debts, as we ourselves have forgiven our debtors.
    6:13 And do not lead us into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one.
    6:14 “For if you forgive others their sins, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. 6:15 But if you do not forgive others, your Father will not forgive you your sins.

    Please Remember God demands mercy not sacrifice.

    And as far as your “Perfect Faith” goes as far as your theory on it that is I know you did not claim to have it but you said if they had it then

    If someone had perfect faith he, or she, would know that God already knew their plight. Knowing that God loves His children and doesn’t want anything bad to happen to them,

    1 Corinthians 13:
    …and if I have all faith so that I can remove mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. 13:3 If I give away everything I own, and if I give over my body in order to boast,1 but do not have love, I receive no benefit.
    13:4 Love is patient, love is kind, it is not envious. Love does not brag, it is not puffed up. 13:5 It is not rude, it is not self-serving, it is not easily angered or resentful. 13:6 It is not glad about injustice, but rejoices in the truth. 13:7 It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.
    13:8 Love never ends. But if there are prophecies, they will be set aside; if there are tongues, they will cease; if there is knowledge, it will be set aside. 13:9 For we know in part, and we prophesy in part, 13:10 but when what is perfect comes, the partial will be set aside. 13:11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. But when I became an adult, I set aside childish ways. 13:12 For now we see in a mirror indirectly, but then we will see face to face. Now I know in part, but then I will know fully, just as I have been fully known. 13:13 And now these three remain: faith, hope, and love. But the greatest of these is love.

    If we love one another we should have hope with prayer to God for one another and have faith in God that he will faithfully do what is according to his will.

    James 1
    1:2 My brothers and sisters, consider it nothing but joy when you fall into all sorts of trials, 1:3 because you know that the testing of your faith produces endurance. 1:4 And let endurance have its perfect effect, so that you will be perfect and complete, not deficient in anything. 1:5 But if anyone is deficient in wisdom, he should ask God, who gives to all generously and without reprimand, and it will be given to him. 1:6 But he must ask in faith without doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed around by the wind.

    And lastly know this
    Romans 8:28-30
    We know that in everything God works for good with those who love him, who are called according to his purpose. For those whom he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, in order that he might be the first-born among many brethren. And those whom he predestined he also called; and those whom he called he also justified; and those whom he justified he also glorified.

    That when we go through hard time struggles it is God forming us to be like Christ. And where did Jesus go to? those who were sick and diseased and lowly He went to sinners and he heard their need and many came to him pleading for their health, life, or friends life and he healed them for many that very hour.

    So offer your prayers to God. Petition for each other that God would hear your plea and have mercy on them because all things are in His hands and If we abide in Him He abides in us and we can ask what we will and it will be given to us.
    What a Merciful God He is my Master and King, my Father, and Creator of all that is, was, and shall be.

    Pray without ceasing and Rejoice everymore!
    Your Brother

  5. astudent says:

    David,
    I’m saddened that you are saddened. Of course I don’t believe that I twist the truth and blend falsities into truths. That certainty is not my intention. I do seem to have different understandings of some of the basic beliefs of many of my brothers and that is my motive for these posts. If I am right and don’t explain my beliefs then I would be a poor servant. If I am wrong then perhaps I will learn what is right.
    As for James 5:13-20 I believe that those who are ill and sick are those who are spiritually sick. The verses say that the prayer of faith will save the one who is sick not heal them physically. It says the Lord will raise him up, not heal them. I believe all of those verses are referring to the spiritually sick.
    Who is really sick? The Christian who is lying in the hospital, weighing half of what he weighed the previous year, tubes connected to both arms, and a doctor standing over him telling him he has only days to live; or the marathon runner that has just won a race, at the peak of his physical health, but does not know God and will not even go to Church? Though both will die the first death, which one is really sick and dying?
    The Bible is a book of Spiritual matters not physical matters. Physical health is covered in medical books. When physical health is spoken of in the Bible it is only for examples. We only know the physical world so an example that we can understand must be a physical one.
    You site Matthew 6:9-15 as the proper way to pray, but it says nothing about praying for physical health.
    You say, “If we love one another we should have hope with prayer to God for one another and have faith in God that he will faithfully do what is according to his will.” and I agree that ultimately He will do what is according to His will, but now men have the power to sin and that is not the will of God. The man who sins is spiritually sick.
    You seem to be saying that I lack love. You site I Corinthians 13:2-13 as an example to attempt to obtain and you are right. God is love and those verses describe Him. No one except God is perfect in love so you are correct about me, but how much love would a man have that thought someone else was wrong or that he understood something others did not and did not speak up? (You do, and you did, and I appreciate it)
    Look, if you really believe the Bible then you should believe that when we die we will go to Heaven to live with God and Jesus, where there is no more suffering or pain. God may choose an illness to end this part of life. Ask yourself if you want to stop the process or not. King Hezekiah did just that and it was a mistake (sin).
    Like you I only want God’s will to be done and if I am physically ill it might be God’s will. I am weak and when I am in pain I may pray for God to remove the problem, but not with much faith as my illness might be from God. I want God’s will to be done, because that is the best thing for everyone.
    Thanks for your comments. I believe you mean to help, though we seem to disagree. Disagreeing is part of learning.

  6. disciple says:

    I am heart-broken at what I have read. I will not tell you what you should believe because you seem to be someone who loves to learn on your own. So I encourage you to dig deeper and discover God’s grace and love being the reason for the healings Jesus performed. I’m sorry that so many peopele are willing to accept that God will not heal them simply because they have not experienced it before and have little faith. I challenge you to challenge God on His scriptures of faith and healing. I’ll only give you one so you can look up more on your own. John 14:12 says,”I tell you the truth,anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.” That is not saying we are better than Him, but His ministry lasted a couple years, and ours can last our whole lives and we have the Holy Spirit power which could not fully come to anyone on earth until after Christ paid the sacrifice. The reason Job didn’t pray for healing was because healing comes through the of the Lamb of God who was not slain yet. People had more of a fear of God in that day and believed if God wanted to heal them He would, but not to ask. The veil has been torn and now we can come before the Father like they never could in the Old Test.
    I used to be deaf,and God healed me because He loves His children. When His children ask their Daddy to heal, and have faith like a child, He will. I have not seen just several miracles in my 19 years, but dozens right before my very eyes. Do not doubt God’s power and do not doubt His love to overcome anything. My Father used to be a Satanist and has seen Satan do many powerly evil miracles. When He became a Christian He knew that God was more powerful than Satan so He began seeking more and more of the Holy Spirit. Now He has a healing ministry. See, the Satanists had no fear to see their master work in mysterious and powerful way, but Christians are terrified to let their God show His power.Do you see something wrong with that? Sorry if i sound harsh, but unbelief is like saying Christ died for nothing and makes Satan look like He has more power and is more caring about His followers.

    P.S. You must watch the documentory The Finger of God

  7. astudent says:

    disciple,

    It seems as though I am making my brothers sad and breaking their hearts by voicing what seems right to me. I suppose I could just keep quite, but then would anyone consider a different view if they didn’t hear it?

    I wonder who you think has the greater faith, the one who believes God already knows that they are sick and could heal them if He wanted, or the one who thinks he must tell God his problems and then go to some man for healing? Didn’t God allow both to become ill? Is God just waiting on a prayer from a mere man so that He can heal? Doesn’t God know the future and therefore knows we are going to pray for healing? Do you know what the person is going to do if they are healed? Perhaps they will go on to be the next Hitler. Who besides God would know, so who besides God should heal?

    I don’t see anything wrong with asking to be healed, but when anyone prays in public they are not obeying the command of Jesus which is found in Mathew 6:5-6 (NIV) “And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by men. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.” Should we ignore this command because we think good will come of it? We do all of the time, but should we? Do we really know good will come of it, or are we in our infinite wisdom just guessing?

    We are told not to worry about our life and body (Mat 6:25) and we are also told that whoever wants to save his life will lose it (Luke 9:24). It seems to me that we should be trying to heal the spiritually sick, because we know for sure that is what God wants and we do not know for sure if He wants someone healed physically.

    You cite John 14:12 and read into the verse that healing someone physically is what Jesus was speaking of, but healing or treating someone for a spiritual disease is far more important. Jesus walked on water and turned water into wine, but who can do that today and why would they?

    You say that Job did not pray for healing because healing comes through the Lamb of God, who was not slain yet, but God heals and He healed Hezekiah before Jesus was slain. (2 Ki 18:5 NIV) “Hezekiah trusted in the LORD, the God of Israel. There was no one like him among all the kings of Judah, either before him or after him.” He didn’t think God was right when Isaiah told him it was time to die. So he asked God to heal him and God did and granted him another 15 years of life. In those 15 years he had a son that lead Judah astray and he showed all of the treasure in the Temple to the messengers from Babylon. Would it have not been better for him to accept death than to pray for healing?

    You say that your father has a healing ministry. Does your father know who should live and who should die? Hezekiah didn’t and there was no one like him among all the kings of Judah!

    I do not learn on my own. I have the same teacher as you do: the Mind of Christ. The Teacher is telling me to accept my lot even if I become sick, because God is in control and I should trust Him even if things do not seem right to me. I do not see the future, but perhaps like Hezekiah should have done; I will accept what happens without complaint and try not to beg God to change it.

    That is not to say I would not pray about an illness, but at the end of any prayer I add that no matter what God’s will is, that is what should be done and what I want done. Perhaps if God allows me to become sick it will somehow glorify Him: who knows?

    I know that this comment is getting rather long, but to conclude it let me say what I believe in a slightly different way and let me use the verse that you challenged me with (John 14:12 NIV) “I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.”
    Jesus healed the physically sick and raised those that were physically dead, but though it does not say I am sure that later they became sick again and they also died. Because Jesus allowed himself to be sacrificed for our sins (returned to the Father) we can help raise someone to real life. If someone turns to God because of what we say then we have truly done a greater thing than healing the physically sick.

    It seems to me to be a waste of time to heal Christians when we could be making Christians.

    Jesus said (Mat 21:21-22 NIV) “I tell you the truth, if you have faith and do not doubt, not only can you do what was done to the fig tree, but also you can say to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and it will be done. If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.” But it has never been done, because the man without faith can not do it and the man with faith knows that God put the mountain where it is and that is where it belongs. It is a spiritual verse about spiritual things just as John 14:12 is. Ask God for spiritual blessings and you will receive them. Let the world worry about the world. Devote yourself to raising the spiritually dead and leave the physically ill in the hands of God. They are just going to get sick again and eventually die anyway. A birth certificate and a death certificate are a matched set; everybody dies. Why waste your time? Even worse suppose your actions heal a Christian that would have gone home to the Lord and later, because they were healed and therefore have still have the ability, they deny Him! Or perhaps they will have a son that leads many astray like Hezekiah did! Who knows? Satan is one slick dude and if he can divert our attention from the most important thing to anything else he has accomplished his goal. And he will use our best intentions to do so.

    Please forgive me for being so harsh. I am only trying to get those that read these comments to really consider the issue in a different light than what is usually said about the subject. I know that some of those that attempt to heal the sick are doing so out of the goodness of their heart, but we should always consider the main goal and who is really in charge when we do the things that we do.

  8. mehawke says:

    I think we should definately pray for any need we have. The Bible says to pray without ceasing (1 Thes 5:17) and to pray so that we do not worry about things (Phil 4:6-7). If we were not to ask for healing then Jesus probably would have shown that by refusing to heal the sick who came to him, but he answered their pleas. I agree some people will not be healed; that is God’s choice. But it does not mean we should not ask. In the case of Paul, I believe God wanted to teach him to depend on spiritual grace, rather than phyisical comfort. Paul hadn’t done anything wrong that he knew of; he was simply learning a valuable spiritual lesson. On the other hand, Job unknowingly taught Satan a valuable lesson about humans: that we are capable of loving God even when he withdraws his protection and blessings. God was very proud of Job’s loyalty and bragged about him to the devil. I’m sure that not everyone suffers physically for the same reason. Maybe some are being disciplined, maybe some are shaming the devil, maybe some are being drawn closer to understanding and appreciating God for who he is. But God knows everyone’s state and he cares. There is nothing wrong with asking him for help, even when he has a good reason for not answering.

    Thanks for your blog; it was very thought provoking!

  9. astudent says:

    mehawke,

    I do agree that we should pray without ceasing. I see prayer as my side of a conversation with God and I understand the Bible as His side of any conversation with me. It may seem as though God always says the same thing, or things to me, but there are two reasons for that: I am slow to understand and His words are perfect. If He changed His answer then His words would not have been perfect in the first place.

    It is only natural to ask God for physical healing, because He has the power to do so. But it should be done in private. God doesn’t always heal and the unsaved might not understand that and it might hinder their acceptance of our Savior.

    There are some very blessed people that were not healed physically. Why would God heal me and let Elisha die? (2 Kings 13:14) Would it show that I have more faith than Elisha? I have great health right now and now is the time to set my understanding about physical healing. Not when my understanding would be influenced by my desire to be healed.

    I don’t think Job shamed Satan. I believe God put Job threw his problems so that Job could learn that he was not blameless. Part of me says God is not proud of any man except Jesus and yet God made us all and I am usually proud of something that I make. Perhaps I could accept that though God is proud of making us, He is not proud of what we do.

    Anyway we do agree that there is nothing wrong with asking God for physical healing. Perhaps not asking would be a sign of little faith, but even the unsaved will ask God for healing when they face death. “There are no atheists in foxholes”.

    Thanks for the comment. Your comment and all the comments cause me to rethink what I understand so it is as thought provoking for me as it is for you.

  10. M.E. Hawke says:

    Thanks for your response to my post:) I look forward to reading more of your blogs in the future.

  11. graceofpapagod says:

    astudent,
    I found this blog when I googled the question “is it fleshly to only pray for healing”. I attended a church for several years that constantly sent out emails for prayer requests for people’s healing from illnesses (and occasionally job requests or safety in traveling). The focus of prayer requests during services was the same.

    My inner response to those prayer requests has always been to ask for God’s will and that people might come to know Him, and His ability to meet our every need, in even deeper ways. To ask God to heal them somehow feels presumptuous to me. I have no way of knowing whether it might be His will to allow someone to remain ill for some greater glory or because He is working out something in them that requires bringing them to the end of themselves so that they might have more of Him.

    In my own life I have had times of intense emotional pain. In the depths of it I cried out for God to heal me and in His perfect timing He did but not before the pain had brought me into a greater understanding of His character and surrender to His will.

    Somehow my church’s focus on physical healing, physical provision, physical safety has felt “fleshly” to me, if that makes any sense. Another part of this that made me uncomfortable was the great rejoicing when someone seemed to have been delivered from cancer or another illness and the talk about the power of prayer and God’s goodness.

    Several of these people had only been in remission and then died from their cancer or disease. Like you, I wonder how this impacts people new to the Christian life. Do they think God stopped answering people’s prayers or even worse that He is not always “good”?

    That is my own personal “for me” sense about prayers for physical healing. But I also believe that in the very personal way God has of using the same Biblical truths to reveal Himself to each of us in totally unique ways, His Spirit may very well call upon others to intercede for physical healing. I just don’t feel that I am one of them. I feel instead, that He would have me be praying for their spiritual healing and for their relationships with Him and other people.

    Thanks to all who posted on this question as you’ve helped me fine tune my own thoughts and come to a greater sense of understanding about this topic.
    a sister in Christ

  12. astudent says:

    graceof papaGod,

    Sister, you might consider your own blog. You are clear and you communicate your understanding very well. I believe the Holy Spirit has been hampered by the Church. That is not to say those who control the Church mean to do so, but the Spirit can only speak through one man, or woman in the church. Everyone else must stay silent.

    That is not the case here. The Holy Spirit is not hampered and sometimes it makes those who are the authorities mad. Sometimes when I read my own posts, I know it is the Holy Spirit that is speaking through me. I just do not communicate that well. Aw, but then it is easy to agree with yourself.

    If more people understood that the main goal of any Christian Church is to bring Spiritual healing rather than physical healing the goal would have a better chance for success. Trying to explain this to a preacher only causes him to defend himself and it binds his mind to defense. He does not consider the truth of the matter, because he cannot admit it and defend at the same time. Understanding comes later when he can think about it with the Spirit. One cannot defend ones self in the presence of God.

    Anyway, we need more people that can and will let the Spirit lead them and you seem to be such a one. I am not trying to recruit you for a job that maybe God has not called you to do. I do not know your circumstances and they might not allow it. Just consider the thought and if God wants you to blog, He will make it possible.

    Who knows, perhaps God put this on my heart!

  13. Valerie says:

    I just wanted to thank you for this post and all of the replies. I have been confused by this for 7.5 years, since I have known the Lord. It’s very hard for me to understand why our church has healing services and the same people ask for healing. Here is something I had posted on my pastor’s FB page (no response back). You will see that I really do align myself with the same perspective as you. And I am so thankful for you pointing out about spiritual healing vs. physical healing. It certainly makes much more sense in my spirit (and head) than constantly asking for my will to be done because I’m uncomfortable. Ok, here’s my post{s}!

    Q: Why do we pray for healing or other various changes to our life situation? Doesn’t that indicate that we are not at peace and giving Him praise for the situation, trusting He will work it out for our good and that it is somehow, for some reason His will? I’ve questioned this since day 1 of my walk with God, and it still puzzles me. If I pray for things to change (other than my attitude and acceptance or for more of His peace and joy, etc.), isn’t that putting things into MY hands instead of trusting Him and where He wants me to be and what He wants me go through?

    [This response is not from my pastor, but a FB friend of his, who I do not know] ‎@Valerie You need a proper perspective of the sovereignty of God, He is in charge but not in control of everything that happens. What that means is that the war has been won at the Cross, but there are battles left to be fought. So that is where the sons of God that need to be manifested come in – we command sickness to go because it is not of God – ever!! – and other things the enemy tries to bring/put on we come against as well. Don’t be complacent, love is not passive 🙂 Bri
    Yesterday at 11:27am · Like

    Thank you, Brian, but I guess I’m still confused. How can I be at peace, but still command my sickness to be gone? If I’m commanding it to be gone, that indicates that I’m not at peace. And why, when I command it to be gone, does it not just go right then? So I should just keep commanding it, over and over and over, and never stop? And all the while, my focus is on how horrible it is and how it’s not from God, and I should NOT be at peace with it? It’s my understanding that though He may not cause “bad” things to happen, He does allow them to happen, correct? And if He allows it to happen, He must have a greater purpose for it, one that may never be revealed to me in this life. So, even though it may not always feel great, how can I consider the sickness “bad”, knowing He works it all out for good? Is it bad or is it good? Am I at peace or am I not? And isn’t there a difference between contentedness and complacency? I’m sorry, but I guess I just see things too much in black and white {isn’t that how God sees things, though?}. Also, I have struggled with fear issues for a long time {manifested as control, perfectionism, anger, anxiety, etc.} ~ His sweet grace, peace, and joy is what I now have {thank you, Lord, for Jeff Turner}! I surely don’t want to go back to being angry at Satan all the time for my sickness or whatever. As far as I’m concerned, Satan can try to bring me down, try to steal my joy, try to separate me from God’s peace, but I have NO FEAR ~ God protects me and always has my best interest in mind. If a sickness is what He is allowing, then, although I do ask that it be taken away soon {right now would be nice!}, I say Your will be done, and I go along with my life, not giving Satan one more second of my time. I am instead filled with peace and joy and focused on God’s path for me. That seems to be the best medicine I’ve found yet. Please let me know if I’m completely off base!!! Thank you! : )
    29 minutes ago · Like

    And I understand that the “reasons” He has for the “bad” circumstances can be {maybe are always?} many and complex. Maybe He wants me to grow in my faith. Maybe He wants me to learn something. Maybe He wants to use me to touch someone else. Or maybe He wants a miraculous healing to occur so I can point it back to Him. But either way, whether it’s a miraculous, immediate healing or peace with the situation, I point it back to Him. : )

  14. astudent says:

    Valerie,

    You should be the pastor (if anyone should). You have faith and that is what pleases our Father: and me.

    Your comment came just at the right time to cheer me up. I feel chills running up and down my spine.

    When I wake up in the morning and thank God for all my blessings (Too many to list), I know that He is indeed in control.

    If I remember, I will thank Him for sisters like you as well.

    Well, I am thanking Him right now, so it doesn’t matter about tomorrow.

  15. Valerie says:

    Thank you so much! I am encouraged by you and your reply. Why do so many people not understand this?! I guess it goes along with the same idea as being duped into forgetting about Grace. I am hoping my pastor will reply to my post, as I believe he is a mighty many of God, proclaiming His grace over law and our weaknesses! He is an “outside of the box” thinker in many ways. If/when he replies to my post, I will share it with you! Thank you, again. : )

Leave a Reply

