HOW IMPORTANT IS CLOTHING?

When I go to church now it seems as if no one thinks that they should wear dress clothing. I have heard it said that God knows what any individual looks like and therefore dress clothes are not important and I use to ascribe to the same beliefs.

In one of his sermons a wise teacher once said that if the President of the United States were to visit and you were invited to the meeting wouldn’t you wear your best clothing out of respect to the man and the office? And of course I would. Then he said that the King of Kings is here, in the Sanctuary, and this meeting is to honor Him! Who deserves more respect, the King of Kings or the President of the United States?

I have not attended Church after that message without a suit and tie.

I don’t wear a suit for any other reason than to show God and others that I respect Jesus Christ and our Heavenly Father.

When I attended Church I use to rejoice as I saw those who were not wearing their best clothing, because I knew that they were new to the faith and did not yet understand, but anymore I do not. The leaders of the Church do not understand the symbolism of clothing and because of that they do not teach the importance of it.

I have heard a pretty good preacher say that God saw him in the shower when he was getting ready for Church so clothing was not important. Well, God knows everything so yes God knows what we look like in the nude, but our sins are covered and this covering keeps God from seeing our sin. Even in the shower we are clothed and our sins are covered.

The first thing that God did for Adam and Eve after they sinned was to make clothing for them. We are clothed with Christ and therefore clothing is very important, but who will know and understand, if it is not taught? Even the teachers of the Church do not understand. Maybe because they have not been taught as I have, but then they have not studied it either. Who can teach that clothing is important after teaching that it is not?

If you are one that believes God knows what you look like and therefore clothing is not important ask yourself, “Would I go to Church dressed the same as when I step out of the shower” and of course the answer would be “No”. Why? Because there are other people there. The truth is we dress for others. I wear a suit and tie so that others can see that I respect my Heavenly Father.

I understand that the Church has bought into the idea that if we do not teach what anyone wears to Worship that the unbeliever will be more comfortable: just as it no longer teaches about Hell. At some point Church becomes no more than a social club, where people come to hear a message that makes them feel good. Church should make one feel good, but not before they realize that they are sinners headed for Hell and are saved from that fate by the sacrifice of Jesus Christ.

In my opinion the Church that does not teach sin and Hell is the Church of Laodicea. How could anyone realize that they are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked if they are not taught it? And they are not taught it in many Churches today.

Well, I kind of got off the subject, didn’t I?

What do you think? Is clothing important or not?

23 Responses to HOW IMPORTANT IS CLOTHING?

  1. thereisnogray says:

    As we consider this post-modern (some say post-Christian) Generation I think we have to say that clothing is one of many things that may prevent those sinners from investigation our churches. We have to consider what a non-beleiver sees when they cross over into a new culture like the church. Will they feel like they fit in? Will they feel like they are welcome? Ultimately our job as Christ followers is to love everyone and introduce them to Christ so that we fullfill the commandment of making disciples of all nations.

    For too long our churches have been a social club of well dressed members who project the image that says: “If you don’t look/act/smell like us, don’t bother stopping by” It’s time we create churches that say “come as you are, we will love you just the same”

    You said :”The truth is we dress for others. I wear a suit and tie so that others can see that I respect my Heavenly Father.” But if the respect for my Savior and King is evidenced only by what I am wearing, I am in serious trouble.

    Great topic, I hope there are more responses

  2. Often times, our outside appearence is merely a reflection of our inside. If inside we honor, respect, and think God worthy of our best, we look like it when we dress.

    On the other hand, if we consider God just “one of the guys”, hold to a low view of His glory and holiness, we appraoch Him much like we would anyone else.

  3. Mark says:

    Enjoyed your thoughts.

    If we are dressing for each other (like we usually do in everyday life), or under some legalistic requirement demanded by our traditions, then we have missed the entire point of worship.

    Thinking primarily of the Sunday morning worship meeting (Breaking of Bread/Remembrance Meeting), I dress as if I were meeting God Almighty because, well, He promised “where two or three are gathered” He would be there!

    Can my clothes impress the One who inhabits Eternity? Of course not! But they can be seen by angels looking on, and they do testify to my heart’s desire to meet Him on holy ground. He is my God. Whatever I can do to express my awe for Him his worth the extra couple of minutes putting on a shirt and tie.

    With regards to the previous comment, with respect, scripturally speaking the Church only consists of believers. While a local assembly of the Lord’s redeemed certainly should preach the Gospel to the lost, adopting changes to accommodate sinners allowed within (or visiting) is a very poor testimony.

    Again, to be very clear, every local assembly should be involved in Gospel outreach, but sadly so many church congregations are being influenced outside and within by unsaved persons. So much so that dear, religious folks who have never been born again go out into a lost eternity believing that their church association (and nice clothes) prepared them for Heaven, as if anything we can do can merit salvation or compare to the Cross of Christ.

    Regards

  4. Beth says:

    Is not what “best clothing” is, determined by social norms, what people can afford, and what the occasion is? Do some people in today’s society not have suits and ties? Should they be made to feel uncomfortable in church because the others have them? Was Jesus’ mission not to save the lost? Should they be made to feel uncomfortable in His church because saved people feel they have to get dressed up? Should saved people wear nice clothes but have their attention taken off the sermon or not be able to worship like they should because they aren’t entirely comfortable?

  5. Whosoever is born of God does not commit sin; for God’s seed remains in him and he cannot sin, because he is born of God (1 Jn.3:9 below).

    Whosoever is born of God sins not; but he that is begotten of God keeps himself, and the wicked one (Satan) touches him not (1 Jn.5:18 below).

    We were born into this present evil world (Gal.1:4) as Jews and Gentiles and are all under sin (Rom.3:9 below), but once we are baptized (Eph.4:5) into Christ Jesus by the Holy Spirit (Jn.6:44) we become a “new” creature (2 Cor.5:17, Gal.6:15), we become individually, as well as collectively, the living body of Christ Jesus (Col.1:24). We BECOME the church of God (1 Cor.10:32 below, 1 Cor.1:2, 1 Cor.15:9, Gal.1:13). The church of God are saints of the most High (Dan.7:22, Re.15:3 below).

    We were chosen by Christ BEFORE the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before Him in love (Eph.1:4 below, Col.1:22, 2 Cor.11:2). We in Christ Jesus are in His love as the church of God.

    There is no condemnation (Jn.5:24, Rom.8:1) to those who are in Christ Jesus. The church of God are called according to God’s purpose (1Cor.1:2). We are foreknown and predestinated to be conformed to the image of God’s son (Rom.8:29-30). The church of God are justified, glorified, sanctified, and perfect in Christ Jesus (Col.1:28, Matt.5:48).

    In Christ Jesus we pass FROM death UNTO life (Jn.5:24), immediately upon death (2 Cor.5:8).

    1 Jn.3:9 Whosoever is born of God doth not commit sin; for his seed remaineth in him: and he cannot sin, because he is born of God.

    1 Jn. 5:18 We know that whosoever is born of God sinneth not; but he that is begotten of God keepeth himself, and that wicked one toucheth him not.

    Rom.3:9 What then? are we better than they? No, in no wise: for we have before proved BOTH Jews and Gentiles, that they are all under sin;

    1 Cor.10:32 Give none offence, neither to the Jews, nor to the Gentiles, nor to the church of God.

    Dan.7:22 Until the Ancient of days came, and judgment was given to the saints of the most High (Re.15:3 below); and the time came that the saints possessed the kingdom.

    Re.15:3 And they sing the song of Moses the servant of God, and the song of the Lamb, saying, Great and marvelous are thy works, Lord God Almighty; just and true are thy ways, thou King of saints (Dan.7:22 above).

    Eph.1:4 According as he (Christ) hath CHOSEN US in him BEFORE THE FOUNDATION OF THE WORLD, that we should be holy and without blame before him in love:

    Pat (ndbpsa ©) Bible Prophecy on the Web
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/BibleProphecy

  6. astudent says:

    I must apologize for being so late to comment. I will not bore you with excuses.

    Patricia Burns,
    Nice verses, but what are you trying to say?
    What have these verses to do with clothing?
    How do they apply to what I said?

    Beth,
    I was speaking as a man. Men’s best clothing is usually a suit and tie. I do not think it should be a requirement that anyone has to dress up. The lost should not be required to, because if they do not realize who the King of Kings is or how awesome God is so it would be hollow anyway.
    You say, “Is not what “best clothing” is, determined by social norms, what people can afford, and what the occasion is?” My answer would be yes and those who should be explaining that the occasion is worshiping the God of the universe are not doing so. If you want to pick the most important occasion there could possibly be it would be worship. We are changing the respect that the world gives to God by not setting the example.
    I believe you are buying in to unsubstantiated claims. I did not start going to Church wearing a suit and tie and I did not feel uncomfortable at all, although most of the older members of the Church did dress up.
    You say, “Should saved people wear nice clothes but have their attention taken off the sermon or not be able to worship like they should because they aren’t entirely comfortable?” How would that take any ones attention off the sermon? One can worship anywhere at anytime. If being comfortable is a requirement then worship at home in bed, or anywhere you feel comfortable. Public worship doesn’t have to be comfortable. It is not saying much if one can not even give up comfort to worship God. What did God give up for us?
    Please forgive me for sounding so harsh. I understand that you mean well. I am only voicing the other side of the discussion and I don’t mean to infer that you wouldn’t give up comfort to worship the God of the universe.

    Mark,
    Well, I believe we are in total agreement. I would only add that as I said to Beth that we can worship anywhere at anytime. Formal worship is as much to demonstrate to the world that there are those who really believe as it is to worship the one and only God and His only begotten Son.

    David,
    I agree with you also.
    Your statement bears repeating “On the other hand, if we consider God just “one of the guys”, hold to a low view of His glory and holiness, we approach Him much like we would anyone else.” and that, it seems to me, is the impression the Church is presenting to the world.

    nogray,
    Well, I am not sure that the sinner should fit in. I do believe they should be made to feel welcome, but the truth is they do not fit in. Our goal should be to present the Church as different from the world in such a way that they understand they are sinners in need of a Savior. That is not comfortable, but true.
    You say, “Ultimately our job as Christ followers is to love everyone and introduce them to Christ so that we fulfill the commandment of making disciples of all nations.” And that is how the Church thinks today, but it leaves out the first step. First one must realize they are a sinner and then realize that as a sinner they are condemned. Then we can introduce them to Jesus and it will mean something to them. If we do not explain the first step and they are not convicted then the whole thing makes no sense.
    I believe all Churches should say “come as you are, we will love you just the same” and at the same time demonstrate that the God of the universe is worthy of ones best. Whether that is clothing, worship, money, or anything.
    The respect for my Savior and King is evidenced by more than my dress, but how I dress is one of the ways and it is important to me and I believe should be important to all.

  7. Is a church building God’s “Sanctuary?” Should we dress and act differently on Sunday than other days of the week? Are we only in His presence in a church building? Are we only watched by angels when going to church?

    I like what Beth said.

    Feeling a need to dress a certain way on a certain day is bordering on legalism in my opinion.

    The important thing is not to dress in a manner that will distract others.

  8. astudent says:

    Zealot,
    You ask, “Is a church building God’s “Sanctuary?” and by the definition of the word “Yes”. We are the Church, but we gather at the Sanctuary.
    You ask, “Should we dress and act differently on Sunday than other days of the week?”
    The answer is yes and no, because it is two questions. Yes, we dress differently for different undertakings (We wouldn’t tend bees in a bathing suit) and “no”, we should act the same any day of the week.
    You ask if we are we only in His presence in a church building and if we are we only watched by angels when going to church and of course you know the right answers to all of these questions.
    I hear the word “legalism” quite often when one Christian does not agree with another. I don’t understand why you used it. What does the word mean to you?
    The American Heritage Dictionary defines legalism as 1. Strict, literal adherence to the law or to a particular code, as of religion or morality. 2. A legal word, expression, or rule.
    What could possibly be wrong with that?
    I didn’t say everyone should be required to dress appropriately. I only said that I wear my best clothing when I go to Church and I attempted to explain why. If you do not believe Church is worthy of your best then don’t wear your best! No one, including me, will say anything about it: to you or anyone else who doesn’t dress up.
    Well, I have to laugh at your last statement. If I know that you are an established believer and you come to Church dressed as you do everyday, then you have dressed in a manner which distracts me. I wouldn’t tell you and I wouldn’t condemn you for it, but it saddens me that those who are supposed to be teaching and setting the example are buying into an idea that cheapens worship. I might add that after the service starts I will give it no more thought so it will not take any of my joy from my worship.
    How do you think God feels when we do not wear our best to a meeting that is designed to honor Him? How would you feel if you had gone to the trouble to create a complete universe, life, and everything there is and then after someone has drank your water, ate your food, lived in your house; then they didn’t even feel you worthy enough to wear their best when attending a ceremony in your honor?
    I’m just trying to live as I think God would want me too. If that makes me a legalist then I can live with it.
    God doesn’t want me to demand that anyone should dress in any matter for any occasion. We are free to do anything right or wrong and it is our responsibility to determine what is correct, so if you are looking for me when you are at Church, look for the little, old, ugly, sad, legalist “in the suit”, because I’m going to wear my best to honor my God.

  9. >>>1. Strict, literal adherence to the law or to a particular code, as of religion or morality.<<<

    I don’t think what we wear would be included in a moral or religious code.

    You may have taken my post as more accusative than I meant it. They were questions for thought. I believe that the body of Christ (as in people) and our individual bodies are now God’s temple and sanctuary. (1 Cor 3:16, 1 Cor 6:19-20). If there is Scripture that mentions a church building being His sanctuary in new covenant times I’d like to know.

    I believe that God is concerned with the heart much more than the outer man or outer actions as Jesus stresses in the Sermon on the Mount.

    Dress is the least of my concerns with the concept of worshiping God. Like I said, if someone is dressed in a way that’s distracting to others (meaning immodesty or wearing a Black Sabbath T-shirt). BTW I’m not sure how you know what I wear every day. I might wake up and put my suit and tie on. 🙂

    Everything needs to be measured against Scripture and I can’t find much on this other than some references to order of worship in 1 Cor. Let me know if you come up with anything.

  10. astudent says:

    Zealot,
    I agree with you that what we wear should not be part of a moral or religious code: which would be a requirement. If one feels that wearing their best to a meeting that is called to honor God it must come from the heart and not a requirement. Otherwise it would be meaningless.
    I didn’t take your comment as accusative. I viewed them as questions for thought and did think about them. I knew I would sound a bit strong, but some times it is better to sound strong about one’s beliefs. My comments and posts are also questions for thoughts just as yours are. I take most comments as the other side of an understanding and I value them as I do not know everything: but I am trying.
    We both understand that Christ is in us; we have the mind of Christ. That makes each and every one of us “The most Holy Place”, that is the place where God can be found, though none of us are worthy to be.
    I wasn’t applying some spiritual meaning to the word sanctuary. I only meant a room where Christians meet publicly. If you don’t call it a sanctuary then what would you call it?
    I don’t think we are talking about the same thing. Dress has nothing to do with worship, but it has everything to do with the heart. If one understands that God gave His very best for us, then it is only right that we show the world our respect for Him. One of the ways, at least for me, is to wear my best to a meeting that is designed to honor Him.
    I agree that everything needs to be measured against Scripture, but everything can not be spelled out. The Bible would be to large to carry, so God gave us two Royal Laws and if those are applied to any situation a proper approach can be determined. I might add that because of underlying circumstances there may different answers to what seems like the same situation.
    Let me say this, worship is for God, it is not for us. Our comfort is not that important, especially if God is not exalted because of it. I also do not think we should be like the world. If we are not different how can the world know where to find God? At some point we must be different. Taken to extremes, if we had a wet bar and pole dancers the unsaved would be very comfortable.
    I didn’t always wear my best to Church and I was not alienated because others did. Actually I expected those who were Christian to dress for Church.
    It is said that the unsaved will feel more comfortable if they are not required to dress for Church and it seems logical, but those who have accepted God’s best should return in kind regardless of what the unsaved are encouraged to do.
    My disappointment is with the leaders of the Church. They do not understand and maybe it is because they have not thought about it. So I wrote a post to make some do so.
    In the Old Testament, when someone did not bring the best that they had to be sacrificed, God was not pleased. God does not change therefore I do not believe God would be pleased if we did not bring our best to a meeting to honor Him. We are not even required to sacrifice it. We can take it with us when we leave.
    God did not require a sacrifice that one could not deliver. If God had not given a sheep to someone then they were not required to sacrifice one. However they were required to sacrifice what they could afford. If God has not given one a suit and tie then one should wear the best that God has given.
    You are correct in that I don’t know what you wear. You might even sleep in a suit and tie! I only used “suit and tie” to illustrate the best clothing that one owns. A woman would look as out of place in a suit and tie, as a man would also look in a dress. However, using my own logic, if a suit and tie is the best that she has……..
    The brother that pointed out that I would wear better clothing to a meeting in honor of a man than I would wear to a meeting in honor of my God convicted me. Or better said caused me to convict myself. I am only trying to spread conviction. I trust that you understand that conviction is good for the soul.
    By the way I like your name “Zealot” I wish we all were zealots about God.

  11. Hi,
    I equated Sanctuary with the dwelling place of God because you used a capital S.

    I’m very turned off by corporate culture and their need to wear suits and ties (for menanyway) and always act a certain way. So when we “should be separate from the world”, to me it means not having to “put on a face” and wear clothes we wouldn’t normally wear and put on a happy face (which SO many Chirstians do in church) and not be real. So that’s partly where I’m coming from.

    So we both have different perspectives that we both spelled out and I respect where you’re coming from.

    I’m glad you like the word Zealot. Lately I’ve been wondering if this has too negative of a connotation because Zealots in the Bible weren’t exactly godly people with godly motives. I mean it as zealousness for God and His Word.

    If I may make an unsolicited suggestion – your posts would be easier to read if you put an extra line break between paragraphs.

    I like your blog and the whole idea of it.
    Jeff

  12. astudent says:

    Jeff,
    English was and is my second worse subject; first is spelling. It seems to me that sanctuary should be spelled with a capital letter when using to indicate the room in a Christian church where Christians gather to worship. In this case it seems to me to be a proper noun (A noun belonging to the class of words used as names for unique individuals, events, or places), but like I said I stink at language. Even if I am correct the same words can mean different things to different people.

    I understand you completely about your desire not to copy others just to blend in. I don’t either and never did. I think God gave us individuality in order for us to be individuals. However there are always at least two ways to look at anything. There are some (not me) that enjoy wearing a suit and tie.

    You pegged me when you said some Christians wear clothes we wouldn’t normally wear and put on a happy face, though my face is usually happy so it’s no act. I love Church because I don’t have to worry about offending someone when I talk about God and I always leave feeling better than when I came.

    It was clear that you are zealous for God and that is why I liked your blog name. Whether it is negative or positive is an attitude in the mind of the one that hears the word “Zealot” and we can not control that. Though if we act as Christians should act maybe the impression will be positive. Most people don’t study the Bible enough to know that a Zealot was often not zealous for God. I know for sure that God is pleased that you are zealous.

    Thanks for the advice. I need all of the help I can get. I write in “Word” and paste it into the blog. It is a challenge to make it look the same, so I will work on it. You can see from this comment that I am trying.

    Thanks also for the vote of confidence. Maybe you like my blog because like me you think for yourself.

  13. Mike says:

    My only concern with this discussion is what happened at our church. We wanted to establish an outreach to the Hispanic community in our area, and were distressed to find out that we were labeled as “Tie Required to Attend”. Not a good thing.

    Also, it’s not what goes in ones mouth (or IMHO, on his body) that makes a man bad[good], but rather what comes out.

    I firmly believe 100% in Grace, which tells me that it’s not through my actions that I achieve salvation. I agree, we must show respect. However, I’ve been pondering lately the difference between praise and reverent worship. The former was often done in the Old Testament with dancing, clapping and tambourines. The latter is more in line with your approach via this article.

    I think what Jeff/Zealot was driving to was a caution to not turn this into a legal issue and make it a “required” way to worship.

    Excellent and thought provoking as always!
    Mike

  14. astudent says:

    Mike,
    Thanks for the comment and encouragement.

    I would agree that the label “Tie Required to Attend” would not be a good thing, but (You knew that “but” was coming, didn’t you) I think that could be overcome without deleting teaching about clothing. There are always those who will make up labels to attempt to keep others from coming. No successful church teaches “Tithing Required to Attend”, but all churches that teach the Bible will get around to teaching about tithing. I am not saying that it is required. It is Old Testament law, but every Christian should know about it so they can make up their own mind if God wants them to tithe or not, or just to consider it.

    You make a good point that there is an outer difference between praise and reverent worship. I admit that I am not comfortable with much outward show of praise. That is not to say, or even imply that it is somehow wrong. It is just my makeup. I do not want to be counted with King David’s wife and I judge no one for enthusiastic worship, but it would be phony on my part to worship with abandonment. God knows the heart and God was pleased with David’s dancing just as, I believe, He is pleased with reverent worship. In my opinion if anyone feels like dancing in the isle, then they should, but in a church where all do it. Having said there is a difference, it is outward only. Either method is from the heart. I believe that God is more pleased with how we treat our brothers than how we worship.

    I also think that “Zealot” was trying to emphasize that we should not make clothing a “Requirement” and I agree, but I also do not think it should be a requirement to not teach about clothing.

  15. Chris says:

    i think it’s an interesting topic…but!

    i would have to say that in general, the basic (spiritual) reason for dressing up to go to church, referring to the president/Jesus metaphor, is out of respect for Christ and showing that respect by wearing your “church clothes”…but the way i look at it is, if you’re not constantly respecting God in everything you do, every action, every thought, every second of every day, then stop worrying about it, wear whatever you want (as long as it is decent and not distracting), and starting putting more emphasis on the areas of your life where you are not constantly bringing glory to God!

    …in general, i wear nicer things to church then i would out to a movie or something but not having anything nice to wear definitely wouldn’t make me think twice about going!

    I love Jesus!

    Chris

  16. astudent says:

    Chris,

    Think about what you have said. ” “…but the way i look at it is, if you’re not constantly respecting God in everything you do, every action, every thought, every second of every day, then stop worrying about it, wear whatever you want”. If you think about it, what you wear shows your respect for God, just as what you do. How could anyone who wants to constantly show respect for God, after thinking about clothing, dress in anything but his or her very best? By your own words “everything you do”. Don’t listen to me; listen to yourself! “Buy” your own words!

    It is not something to worry about, worry itself is a sin, but it is something to do that can show respect for God.

    I don’t understand why others think that I am trying to set a dress code for church. I am not nor am I demanding anyone to act in some form or fashion. If anyone doesn’t think God is worthy of their personal best, then they shouldn’t dress in their best: it is nothing to me.

    Anything and everything that a Christian does reflects on their God. The world looks at us and judges us and our God by what we do. It’s not fair to judge God by what we do, but the world is not fair.

    After I thought about it I will not show less respect for God than I would for the President of the United States. I wear my best, but if I am in a foreign place and the only thing I have to wear are Levies and a t-shirt then that is my best at that time and that would not stop me from attending church. It would be wrong for me to judge anyone for what they wear and anyone to judge me for what I wear. It would be entirely unnecessary to judge me because I judge myself in such matters.

    If anyone feels like I am condemning them for what they wear or don’t wear they can rest assured that it is not I that is condemning, but if there is any condemnation it is coming from within: which is where my own came from. It was not the minister that condemned me. It was his words that caused me to condemn myself and I am grateful for those words.

    Everything should be compared to Scripture. Clothing is important in Scripture. Clothing is referred to as a robe. The word is used 61 times in the NIV. It was important to God just how a priest was dressed, it was important to those who tortured Jesus, because they dressed him in two different colored robes, and it is important to us because we are said to posses a white robe; one that hides our sin.

    The only point that I am attempting to make is “How can anyone who teachers that clothing is absolutely unimportant, then teach that it is important?” and if the importance of clothing can not be preached then the lesson contained in most of the 61 times clothing is referred to are lost to the student.

    I can tell from your last statement that you believe, as I do, that clothing is important even though you seem to disagree. Probably because you think I am trying to set a dress code for the church. The truth is I am trying to set a dress code for those who have authority in the church, because they have the responsibility to set a proper example. Just as I feel that I do, because those who are not Christian see my example. My personal comfort should not even be considered. I can and do worship God in all forms of dress, but when it comes to church, clothing is important to the world and that makes my example important.

  17. Jim says:

    I often sign my blogs with one of two different signatures:
    * Never trust a man in a suit and tie.
    * Wearing a tie is a sin against man and God.
    Why?
    * Many leaders who wear ties have betrayed the trust of their position.
    * Many hospitals have banned ties. They carry germs, because they are cleaned every day like the rest of the hospital clothes.
    * People judge on the clothes. (Hypocrites)
    * People are proud of their clothes (Pride)
    * People laud their clothes over those who can not afford.
    * The above attitudes keep people from the Lord.

  18. astudent says:

    Hey Jim,
    You say “People judge on the clothes. (Hypocrites), but you said, “Never trust a man in a suit and tie”!!! Haven’t you judged your brother because of what he wears? Maybe you should ask yourself who the hypocrite is!!!!
    I don’t mean to make you mad, only to show you that you are judging others that chose to wear a suit and tie.
    I know, that you know, that wearing a tie is really no sin. If you are looking for something that men wear that God does not approve of just look at your shoes. God told Moses that he should remove his sandals because he was on Holy Ground.
    This is just an educated guess, but I don’t think God approves of anything that man makes, whether it is shoes or ties. I don’t think you will find any sandals in Heaven, because all of Heaven is Holy Ground. Yes, I know that you are thinking there will be no ties either and I agree.
    Truth is it is not a tie, shoe, gun, wine, or any inanimate object that can be said is sin. It is the man that sins and everything else is only a prop. It is how the object is used that makes it seem evil: though it is not.
    I am sure that you are wrong when you say, “People laud their clothes over those who can not afford”. I believe that anyone in the United States can go to a used clothing store, operated by a Church Organization, explain that they can not afford a suit and tie to wear to Church and those who are in charge will give them any suit and tie they desire.
    I wonder if a man can be proud of not wearing a tie, as well as proud of wearing one.

  19. Col Sampath Kumar says:

    After all why do we go to church? I am certain that every one agrees with me that we are going in the presence of our Almighty God, the King of kings to worship Him and glorify His name. He deserves all the respect in this universe therefore are we not supposed to wear decent and dignified dress while going to church? I certainly do not agree people wearing jeans and colourful T-shirts to church services. The same people when going for an interview for a job are immaculately dressed up because they want to impress the interviewers and need the job.

  20. astudent says:

    Col Sampath Kumar,

    First please forgive my slow response.

    I think your first statement hits the nail on the head. It seems as though we have begun to think that we go to church for our own good when we should be there to glorify God.

    Your last statement is also accurate. It would be a statement that one doesn’t really want the job if they were to apply in jeans and t-shirt.

    However I am encouraged when I see people that are new to the church dressed in any manor.

    My gripe is that the ones who are supposed to set the example do not.

  21. Jonah Art says:

    whoa!! thanks a lot!! …jajajaja…
    Clothing is Passion and dat Passion Makes Who we are! Suits and Ties are nothing but a PRACTICE of mostly dos religious men! But we do have the THE LAW OF LIBERTY! Which clothing for us is more brilliant then have it! anyway we do have diferent tastes of Passion! BUt as long as our clothing wud not make anyone stumble as (wearing sexy outfits) ..its ALRIGHT.! THis is the Freedom we live .! .. jaja

  22. Jonah Art says:

    God is Looking @ our Hearts not what we are wearing! Clothe is a fruit of sin! It was not made for God but for Man!

  23. astudent says:

    Jonah Art,

    Adam and Eve made the first clothing to hide their sin from God, so though man wore it, it was made for God; not man. It was not the kind of clothing that God would accept, so He made clothing for them, but that clothing was only symbolic of the spiritual clothing of Christ. Clothing is important to God.

    I don’t believe clothing makes someone, in some way, different. The man or woman under that clothing is the same person; no matter what they wear. It is only for others to see and think them different.

    I do agree that we are free to wear whatever we want. My point is that we show less respect for God, than we show for man, when we do not dress with the best that we own as we attend church. The people of the world dress up to attend a wedding, funeral, or to attend a dinner to honor a mere man and it is considered the right thing to do. But it is thought right to attend Communion, which is a meal in honor of the King of Kings, dressed in every day clothing! That doesn’t seem right to me.

    We are indeed free of the penalty for sin, but should that free us of the desire to honor Jesus Christ and His Father with our best?

    By the way, you obviously consider yourself free of everything, but have you considered (1 Cor 7:22 NIV) For he who was a slave when he was called by the Lord is the Lord’s freedman; similarly, he who was a free man when he was called is Christ’s slave.

    I don’t see that as a command, but a privilege. The kind of servant that God wants is a Bond Servant, which is a servant that wants to be the slave of his master: not a slave that has to be a slave.

    God has given us everything that we have. Isn’t it proper to honor Him with our best?

    The rule given to Israel was that only the best animal was to be given as a sacrifice on the altar. The animal was a symbol of Christ and had to be without blemish, but the demand to “choose” the best animal was a test to the person. Don’t you feel as though you are being tested?

Leave a Reply

