HOW SHOULD WE FAST?

Well, I have to laugh. It seems as though I am always asking a question and then answering it for everyone. The truth is I am giving the answer that seems correct to me and I try to use the Bible to find my answer. If your answer is different from mine that is fine, because I am only human and all humans are flawed (Don’t forget that you are also human).

 

Fasting use to be a problem for me. I didn’t understand how or why going without food for some period of time would help my walk with God. Then I found Isaiah Chapter 58 and God explanation of fasting: what He meant it to be.

 

(Isa 58:5 NIV)  Is this the kind of fast I have chosen, only a day for a man to humble himself? Is it only for bowing one’s head like a reed and for lying on sackcloth and ashes? Is that what you call a fast, a day acceptable to the LORD?

Is this not the same as going without food for a day?

 

The very next two verses explain what God wants a fast to be. (Isa 58:6&7 NIV)  “Is not this the kind of fasting I have chosen: to loose the chains of injustice and untie the cords of the yoke, to set the oppressed free and break every yoke? Is it not to share your food with the hungry and to provide the poor wanderer with shelter– when you see the naked, to clothe him, and not to turn away from your own flesh and blood?

 

Fasting is to go without something for a reason. If it is food that one chooses to go without then use that food to feed the hungry. If you do not give it away isn’t it still there in your refrigerator waiting for you when your fast is over? What did you really give up? I might add (I’m always adding; aren’t I) God didn’t say totally abstain from food. He said share it with the hungry.

3 Responses to HOW SHOULD WE FAST?

  1. Susejevoli says:

    That was really helpful. One of things i wanted to do this year was to fast, but i haven’t done proper research and thus was yet to figure out the significance.

    This makes a lot of sense! Don’t just go without food and store it so you can enjoy it later – share it with someone, esp a person who needs it!

    Excellent, thanks.

    Tony

  2. astudent says:

    Susejevoli,

    God has given you some wisdom. Share it also with those who need it. Freely it was given, so freely give it again.

  3. Susejevoli says:

    astudent,

    Thanks, i have and will continue to pass on the wisdom that is freely given to whom may need.

    Your recent articles look interesting, i will have a read. I also have not forgotten about your reply, i will get onto that after i do some more research and evaluation.

Leave a Reply

