WHAT DO YOU BELIEVE IN?

 

First let me say that there is no man or woman that truly believes in nothing. There may be those that profess they do not believe in anything, but in order to believe that, they must believe in their own mental abilities to understand that view. So if you are one who claims you do not believe in anything you are wrong, because you believe in yourself.

 

In other words everyone believes that they are right about their views of what they believe. If they thought they were wrong they would change what they believe, though they might not admit it to others and in their own mind they would understand their error and begin to look for a belief that they can live with.

 

Most of the time I write about what I understand about God’s Word, which is the Bible. As I learn more about God I see more sin that others are committing. I have found that it is easer to see the sin of others than for me to see or understand my own. If anyone is studying in truth and they see the sin of others it is only right to examine themselves to determine if they are also guilty.

 

These are depressing times. The whole world is in turmoil over money. I see money as a tool of Satan and I ask myself if money is too important to me. It is a difficult question that deserves an honest answer. The basic question is “Which has more power God or money?”

 

As a Christian my answer comes quickly “God does”, but to those who do not yet know God their answer is “money”. That is a logical answer for anyone that does not even believe in a god.

 

Well actually everyone does believe in money. If that seems odd to you then grab a dollar and examine it. It is really only a fancy green piece of paper with a number printed on it. You must believe that others believe it is worth something and if they do not, it is not.

 

Money is an idol, but unlike any other idol it has power. If anyone is hungry and they have money they can use that money to slake their appetite. The same can be said for clothing, shelter, or even enjoyment. Do you see what I mean when I say money has power?

 

Because money has power many worship it. Not only money it’s self, but those who have an abundance of it receive worship; and only because they have it. How many people would admire Donald Trump if he lost all of his money?

 

After examining a dollar I still didn’t think that I believed in money, but then I examined a five dollar bill and had to admit that I believed it would purchase five times what the one dollar bill would and the only real difference was it has a different number on it. It is not that I believe it is more valuable than one dollar bill, but that I know others believe it, so it is five times more valuable, or said a slightly different way it has five times the power. And I had to admit to myself that I believed in the power of money.

 

That is why the world is in turmoil. This government has destroyed our economy and the rest of the world can see it. As I said earlier, it is easer to see the sin of others than to see your own and the same can be said of governments. The world is losing confidence in the dollar.

 

Where does money come from? Well that is easy to understand. It comes from governments, everyone of them has it’s own types of pieces of paper. I am going to stop here, because this is getting to long, so take a break and think about what I said and then let us think about governments: not just this one, but all governments.

 

Now if you think that what I have said is too simple, or too basic, for you to spend time thinking about it, let me say this, there are many people in this world that are more intelligent than I am. But I have seen, over and over, that they do not think about the basics enough and because they do not have their foundations correct they build their understandings on shifting sands. If I were to give advice there is none so important than one should understand the simple things in life.

 

Having said that there are some things that can not be understood. Of course God can not be understood, but then though He is basic, He is not simple. One thing that is simple but can not be understood is life! Man does not understand it and yet though we do not understand it some profess to know it just happened! And that comes from those who can not even define it!

 

If I said something that you do not agree with, I would be interested in your views. I will probably disagree with you, but it will be beneficial for all to look at what I have said from a different angle.  

 

6 Responses to WHAT DO YOU BELIEVE IN?

  1. Susejevoli says:

    I too would quickly respond with ‘God does’ but in that context there is a lacking of weight behind those words because i have never been tested. I have never had a lacking of money for a period so long that i had to rely purely on God to live or get by. I have a feeling that one of these years i will be tested.

    I believe only those that have live in, or through such circumstances can truly proclaim with much weight behind their words that God has more power than money. Or perhaps there’s another way. Maybe through time, with lots of growth and focus on God, or through some other God centered circumstance one can truly understand God’s power in the face of a world that worships money.

    I have to ask astudent, that despite calling yourself a student, have you ever actually accepted correction? I haven’t been around your blogs enough to answer this myself, but from what i’ve come across, it just seems like you are constantly rebuking other people. Now this is certainly a good thing, but when i come across pastors accusing you of incorrect exegesis, i start to wonder whether your name is just a pretense.

    But i would like to hear your thoughts on this. Maybe in everyone of those examples i have come across, you held the truth, but growing up in both my faith, and on the internet, i have realized that since we cannot easily see the in the hearts of people, we should be very cautious of what we read, and perhaps take from it.

    Let me know if i have ventured too far, i don’t realize this often until i read things again a few days later.

  2. astudent says:

    Susejevoli,

    Let me answer the last question first. It is not possible to venture too far with a comment to or about me. It doesn’t bother me if you disagree with me or you think that I have erred. If you say that I am wrong about something and I am angered by the statement it can only be because I have pride in my understanding. No one should have any pride in anyone or anything except the pride we share in our Heavenly Father and Jesus.

    If someone says that I am wrong I will consider that they could be right and rethink the subject. It is my desire that others will say they think that I am wrong. I do not usually agree with comments that disagree, because I do not post something without a lot of thought on it, however I am only a man and all men are flawed so there are times when someone will point out error and I will admit it. Because the discussion is on the web the whole world is invited to ponder the point. Perhaps there is more than one way to understand and maybe someone will point that out. Truth is I want to be wrong, no one learns anything by being right.

    Can a man accuse another of incorrect exegesis if that man doesn’t believe his exegesis is correct? Shouldn’t the two exchange thoughts so truth can be found for all? That is why I post and I will not stop exchanging comments with someone until truth is found. Unfortunately others seem to give up, or don’t even comment: just accuse me of incorrect exegesis. I have often found that both the one who comments and I are correct. We are just looking at a subject from different angles or applying a different definition to a word.

    In my opinion there is nothing that someone can do for me that is better than rebuke. Even if they get personal and call me short, fat, dumb, and ugly. There is some truth to all of it. My only saving grace is that I am not perfect, so I am not perfectly short, fat, dumb and ugly! Really I believe it is good to be rebuked as it makes you realize that you are only a man.

    If you think that I am a teacher in students clothing then consider this. We are all students. Those who God enabled to teach should only teach the unsaved. Once someone has been reborn they are given the Holy Spirit to teach them. They have the perfect teacher: all they need are the questions.

    I don’t seem to get along well with those who believe they are teachers of God’s children. Every man believes they are right about all of their thoughts: if they didn’t and they were honest they would change what they believe. A pastor that has been teaching a particular way has a very hard time admitting they could be wrong, because of their pride of their understanding and they would be embarrassed to be wrong. I suppose that I just made someone’s blood boil with that statement, but if I did it only serves to prove my point: they have pride in their understanding.

    Do not put pastors, or presidents, or even students (Ha-Ha) on a pedestal. All are human, all sin and none understand perfectly. Me included: especially me!

    If you think that I do not appreciate pastors, you are wrong, I do. I believe we should support and help them in any way, as long as they are doing the job correctly. That job is the last command of Jesus, (Mat 28:19&20 NIV) “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

    Now before you cite the fact that the verse says you should teach the disciples to obey everything Jesus commanded them ask yourself what is everything Jesus commanded them. If I were answering that it would be the two verses just quoted and (Mat 22:37-40 NIV) Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.” How long would that take?

    Just for the record I try not to rebuke the person, only to criticize their theology and that only to clarify and understand truth. But if I do slip and rebuke the person shouldn’t they be grateful? When anyone rebukes me or my theology I am. They can do nothing better for me. I am already saved, what more do I need?

    You do not have to agree with me. If you are born of the Spirit, you are saved and I can not, nor would not, add another condition to anyone’s salvation. It seems others demand that if I do not believe in predestination or what ever their particular way of viewing Scripture is I am lost and they do not realize that they are adding to God’s word!

    As for your thoughts on money, I do not think someone has to be tested to the limits to understand money. One who has been stuck with a pin has a pretty good understanding of what a sword would feel like. Not only would they not want to be stuck with a pin again, but they really would not want to be stuck with a sword. I pray that you will not be tested, because you already understand. Unfortunately the way our country is headed you may well be: along with me. But if there are only two of us tested I will have better company than you!

  3. Ants Honey says:

    I think you are right about a lot . I had similar revelation yet I feel it all available all the time it’s just so simple people over look it and yet call things of God or politics too complex all things are deep even simplified at times and they are always thinking like that and then they deflect people like us and turn it into us that we are the deep ones philosophical . So my similar revelation was that of focus and clarity like when you have a camera an you focus it things can be made clear and that clear is crisp almost so crisp it’s invisible but right there and that simplicity is God a lot a form of living evidence but free will can blur it like we take out conscience and twist it around as we wish like the lens of a 35mm camera . When we take those photos we are seeing something clear but clear is almost a numb thing we re focus searching looking for more like the original sin back in the garden . Our free will is a blessing and a curse .

  4. Ants Honey says:

    (Correction “our” not out conscience )

    I think you are right about a lot . I had similar revelation yet I feel it all available all the time it’s just so simple people over look it and yet call things of God or politics too complex all things are deep even simplified at times and they are always thinking like that and then they deflect people like us and turn it into us that we are the deep ones philosophical . So my similar revelation was that of focus and clarity like when you have a camera an you focus it things can be made clear and that clear is crisp almost so crisp it’s invisible but right there and that simplicity is God a lot a form of living evidence but free will can blur it like we take out conscience and twist it around as we wish like the lens of a 35mm camera . When we take those photos we are seeing something clear but clear is almost a numb thing we re focus searching looking for more like the original sin back in the garden . Our free will is a blessing and a curse .

  5. astudent says:

    Ants Honey,

    Well, I think I understand your comment. I have to laugh, because it was both simple and yet complex.

    I would say “Our free will can be either a blessing or a curse: depends on what you do with it.

  6. astudent says:

    Susejevoli,

    For some reason. I don’t know why, I found myself rereading my last comment to you and my last statement did not sound like what I meant.

    But if there are only two of us tested, I could not have better company than you! Is what I meant!

    Do you see how imperfect I am?

    Please forgive me, if you thought any differently. Sometimes I do not proof read as well as I should.

Leave a Reply

