WHY IS LINEAGE INCLUDED IN THE NEW TESTAMENT?

When I realized the answer, or rightly said, when God gave me the answer to this question I almost rolled on the floor with laughter. God hides the obvious right out in the open so none of us can see it!

 

First God tells us that He is the Father of Jesus and then in order that we might test ourselves, whether we believe Him or not, He includes a lineage of a man: not once, but twice!

 

What does a lineage of any man have to do with the lineage of Christ?

 

Well, because Jesus said that he was “Son of man” there is some reason to list a lineage. But let me say this, “The only lineage of any importance at all is that from Abraham to David.

 

In Mathew it is clearly said Jesus was the son of David and therefore the lineage stops with David. It is true that the lineage of David to Joseph is included, but if Jesus was the son of David as Scripture says then the lineage from David to Joseph means nothing.

 

The same can be said of the lineage from Adam to Abraham. Abraham is the father of all the children of God. If someone is born of the Spirit they become citizens of Israel. Not of the Israel of this world, but Spiritual Israel where the King is Jesus Christ. It is of no more importance to include the lineage of Abraham in the lineage of Jesus than to include clay in the lineage of Adam. Adam began with clay and the children of God began with Abraham, so the lineage to Abraham is of no spiritual importance.

 

I believe that is why the lineage of Abraham is included. It confuses those who do not have eyes to see and ears to hear. This confusion persists even with those who have eyes to see and ears to hear until they look and listen! God said Jesus would come from David’s own body (2 Sam 7:12) and he did.

 

Most Christians think that Jesus is God because Jesus only said what his father told him to say (John 12:49-50 NIV) For I did not speak of my own accord, but the Father who sent me commanded me what to say and how to say it. I know that his command leads to eternal life. So whatever I say is just what the Father has told me to say.” So those verses that seem to indicate that Jesus is God, like John 8:58 (NIV) “I tell you the truth,” Jesus answered, “before Abraham was born, I am!” are really God speaking through Jesus.

 

To get back to my original statement I thought it was hilarious that I had not realized that the lineage of Jesus was only from Abraham to David!

4 Responses to WHY IS LINEAGE INCLUDED IN THE NEW TESTAMENT?

  1. Elya says:

    If we find the answer of the question: what is the meaning of “son of GOD”, then all will be crystal clear.
    If we believe in GOD, then there can be only one GOD, because if there are two of them, one should ask who was the first, or who has created the other.
    Therefore all people must be the descendant of ADAM and EVE who were the first created man and woman.

    Since ADAM and EVE are children of GOD, then logically all people are children of GOD because.

    Then logically, ABRAHAM and MOSES and DAVID and JESUS and MOHAMED and you and me we are all children of GOD.
    IF WE think logically then it is simple, but if we think emotionaly, then we will have difficulties reaching the simple truth.

  2. astudent says:

    Elya,

    I have found the meaning of “son of God”. I can not teach it to you, because I am not the teacher, but I will attempt explain it from my understanding.

    You are correct when you say there is only one God. That is what Scripture states. And you are correct that all people are descendents of Adam and Eve. However Adam and Eve are children of the world: born of the flesh, as all humans are.

    Children of God are those who are born of the Spirit. Jesus was the first to be born of the Spirit and anyone who will come to their senses and admit they have sinned and ask for a Savior can be born of the Spirit.

    The penalty for sin is to die to God, or be separated from Him. That is what Jesus did for anyone who will ask. He is the only one that can die for another’s sin because he had no sin of his own to die for.

    Unfortunately Mohamed did not ask for a Savior.

  3. Elya says:

    All you said is truth with the only exception: ADAM and EVE were not only made of flesh; read Genesis and see that after GOD created the body from the earth, GOD also filled it with the SPIRIT of GOD.

    We are all a mixture of flesh and SPIRIT. When we follow GOD’s laws, our SPIRIT grows and changes the flesh so that all our body is transformed to pure SPIRIT and we get closer to GOD: meaning we transform to be immortal.

    The first that reached that level of spirituality were ENOCH and ELYAHU the prophet; they never died, they were transferred to heaven directly.

    All the humanity must reach this situation, of becomming purified; we all can do that and be immortal if we follow the laws of GOD; mainly to love each other unconditionnally.And no matter what is your religion.
    And I believe that JESUS was a great scholar Who wanted to teach HIS students the laws of GOD how to get purified and get closer to GOD.

  4. astudent says:

    Elya,

    You say that all I said was true and then you seem to paint a different picture over what I said.

    Well, I did read Geneses again and it does not say that God filled Adam or Eve with the Spirit of God. It says He breathed life into Adam and because it does not say that He breathed life into Eve I assume the life that Adam was given was passed onto Eve through the rib that she was made from.

    We seem to have a different understanding of spirit. Though the Bible doesn’t say that God filled Adam with a spirit I will agree the God gave Adam the spirit of man, but not the Spirit of God. The King James Version says (Gen 2:7 KJV) “And the LORD God formed man of the dust of the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and man became a living soul.” One might say the soul of a man is his spirit. There is probably a difference, but I don’t think a big difference.

    There are instances in the Bible where God filled men with His Spirit. The Spirit of God is always referred to as the Holy Spirit to differentiate it from the spirit of man.

    I think that you are right about Enoch and Elyahu. Scripture seems to say that they did not die, but it doesn’t say clearly. It took 300 years of walking with God for Enoch to be taken. I don’t have 300 years. Also those years that Enoch walked with God were simpler times than these, which would make it easier.

    I agree with you when you say we should love each other no matter what religion. The second of the two greatest commandments is to love others as you love yourself. I do not want others to hate me for my religion so I must not hate others for theirs.

    I am not sure if Jesus was a great scholar or not. He only said what God told him to say. (John 12:49 NIV) For I did not speak of my own accord, but the Father who sent me commanded me what to say and how to say it. Anyone would look like a great scholar when God is not only commanding what they say, but even how to say it.

    Truth is either Jesus is who and what he said he is, or he was no more than a liar. I believe him to be the Savior of all who will admit they have sinned. That is what he said he was, or if you believe Scripture that is what God said through him.

    I am glad that you believe he taught his students how to get purified. I certainly agree with you on that point. Truth is one can’t get any closer to God than having the Holy Spirit living inside of them!

Leave a Reply

