I’VE GOT TO CHANGE MY WAYS!!!!

This has been an enlightening experiment for me, but it is time to change. I thought a blog would be a good format with which to learn more about Scripture, but it hasn’t worked very well for me.

Not long after I came to my senses and asked Jesus to save me I began to study the Bible. I read that Solomon was given great wisdom because he asked God for it. So I also asked God for wisdom. I knew I could never have as much wisdom as Solomon, because God said there had never been any like Solomon nor would there ever be. But I wanted all wisdom that God would give me. I have to admit that unlike Solomon’s request mine was selfish. I wanted it for myself. Even though I knew enough to understand I was not going to receive all wisdom, I asked for all of it anyway.

If anyone wants to know wisdom they should read and contemplate what the Bible says in Proverbs about it. Basically it says that if you want it then search for it: so I did. The second chapter of Proverbs is a guarantee that wisdom is there for the taking. It is a personal offer from God to anyone that wants it. No man can obtain it and then give it to someone else. If that were possible Proverbs would not be perfectly true; and it is. Proverbs says the LORD gives wisdom, and from his mouth come knowledge and understanding. (Prov 2:6 NIV) It is plain that man does not give knowledge and understanding.

I reached a point where I knew that God had given me understanding and I began to feel like the lepers in Second Kings chapter seven. When they found great treasure they realized it was not right to keep it to themselves and not tell others about it. They didn’t go tell the people that they were special and they knew the way to riches. They just told it as it was. It was up to the people to find out for themselves if what the lepers said was true.

So, like the lepers, I would like to tell you about real treasure, but you must go outside the gate yourself to get it. Wisdom does not come from my mouth and I can not give you any of what God has given me. There is no need for me to give you any of mine. There is more than a man can handle for anyone that wants it enough to search for it and the truth is that it is not hard to find. I am not the way to understanding I am only telling you where I found it and that you can and may find it also.

ALL TRUTH AND UNDERSTANDING ABOUT GOD IS FOUND IN THE BIBLE.

Look at wisdom as a jewel and I am showing you the jewel that God has guided me to and let me find. If you want a jewel like it you will have to find your own.

The Bible says that we are not to be called teacher, because we have only one Teacher, so I correctly refer to myself as a student. I have asked everyone that if they see error in what I say to comment on it. This has led to much confusion rather than clarity.

When I answer a comment that disagrees with me it seems to them as though I think I know everything. I am sure that I do not, but it must seem that way, because I have been accused of it. There seems a double standard. Others are free to say I am wrong, but I am not free to say otherwise and if I argue then I am accused of teaching and being a know-it-all.

Truth is I do not have much trouble speaking with fellow students, but “some” of those who call themselves teachers are a different story. It seems to me that there are two important things that cause strife between us: pride and money. If someone thinks of themselves as a teacher of those who have already turned to God and it were possible, then wisdom would come from their mouth as well as God’s, but the Bible says wisdom comes from the mouth of God. It does not say from the mouth of man. Those who think of themselves as teachers and have taught something that I say is not true would have to humble themselves if they were to agree with me. I have found very little of this.

Then there is money. If a man accepts money for teaching and then a mere student points out something that they should have already understood others might question their competence and that does little their job security. Truth is if the Bible says we are not to be called teacher and if anyone accepts that title then they are wrong from the “git-go”.

I am not saying that we should not teach the Gospel. We must teach the unsaved that they are just that and that there is a way to be reconciled to God, but after someone admits they are a sinner and they let themselves be baptized, they are given the Mind of Christ to teach them all things. They have “The Teacher” to teach them all things. All they need are the questions.

If in your mind, you assign the position of teacher to anyone other than God you will receive the teaching of man; not God. Your teacher might use the Bible to add creditability to his words, but wisdom does not come from the mouth of man. Yes that includes my mouth. Check scripture to see if what I say is true and if you find it is, then do not think that I know because of my ability to figure out Scripture. Any understanding that I may have is a gift from God though I have done my part by searching for it. I do not even claim that I worked for it. For me it has been like an Easter egg hunt, pure pleasure with reward after reward.

Well, anyway, when I try to show others why and how I believe what I do, it only promotes arguments and unchristian conduct from both of us. It is as much my fault as it is anyone else’s. I have no desire to cause anyone to sin and that has been the result of some of our comments.

This has caused me to consider ceasing to post and erasing my entire blog site. But then I wonder who will say anything different than those who call themselves teachers. All men are imperfect and therefore no one man could teach perfectly. If I go away then who would be left to say some teacher is wrong?

In the past I have tried to answer all comments from my point of view. The first comments from others are usually civil, but if I do not agree with them the exchange becomes somewhat less than Christian and leads nowhere.

I am going to try a different approach. If I do not allow comments then arguments can not in sue. However I think an exchange of ideas is beneficial: that is why I started this site. So I will no longer continue to exchange comments with someone about a subject when it begins to sound unchristian.

Like a talk show, I have the button that stops anyone else from commenting any further. I hear callers to talk shows where the host hangs up on them and then proceeds to act like the caller is still there whereupon the host has his say and it seems like the caller has no answer. That is misleading and basically wrong. So if I hang up on you I will try to explain to everyone that we can not reach an agreement and it is becoming a shouting match which helps no one.

(Mat 23:10 NIV)  Nor are you to be called ‘teacher,’ for you have one Teacher, the Christ.

Beware of the teacher. “O” and the student also!

11 Responses to I’VE GOT TO CHANGE MY WAYS!!!!

  1. J Gomez says:

    Brother, be encouraged to continue to share your thoughts. It’s what helps us to draw the composite of what the Holy Spirit is saying to the church. There will always be those out there that think THEY know it all. Even more of them know nothing of consequence. Keep up the good work!! I am a fan of the site – even when I do not agree.

  2. Susejevoli says:

    When i post here, i always spend so much time looking over it and editing it, sometimes it can go into the hours when i can’t really afford that time. Usually it’s because i’m in the middle of something critical, or just me being unwise in playing first when there’s urgent work at hand.

    I am not troubled at all in your decision to keep the blog, i think if something can be redeemed, then it is much more honorable to take a little break, then initiate that, than to abandon the whole thing altogether. However if you did stop blogging, for a Godly reason like using that time to evangelize, then that too would be good.

    I’ve heard it said that marriage is a sanctification process, and often i wonder why. The answer that i receive is that in marriage, certain sins come to surface that you were never aware of, and you are forced to deal with it. And these sins aren’t anything little, but usually something you’ve become blind to, and have lived with for many years.

    The only reason they surface is because you are now living in very close proximity to another person all the time, and by that they become acutely aware of things that you had no notice of (and visa versa). To repent of these deep-rooted sins is part of the sanctification process.

    In saying that, my point is i’ve been around this blog for a little while and i have read much of your perspective. And just like how you say that no man is perfect, this is also applicable to you, in that after reading repeatedly your perspective, i’ve become aware of a few things i believe you should address.

    An issue that keeps arising over and over again is the one you have with Godly men. Jesus is the Good Shepperd, but pastors are also shepperds who God has put into place to teach and equip the sheep He has given him. In saying this, i am putting forward the notion that there is Godly value in Godly men. We shouldn’t just dismiss them just because they are men.

    God doesn’t need us to do anything for Him, He Himself is capable of all, and if anything we’re just getting in the way. However to God’s delight, He chooses to use us, to sanctify us so that we slowly but surely become like Him. So there is value in the teaching if a pastor, and there is value in accountability groups, and Bible studies where there is a leader leading.

    You would disagree with me, but i testify to these things that they sanctify me and are so for the Godly people around me, whom God has placed in my life. So i hope you would reconsider your stance, perhaps even just a little. We all need rebuke, and a lot of times in my experience God chooses to use Godly people in our lives to rebuke us.

    Please consider Ecclesiastes 4, esp v9-13.

  3. astudent says:

    J Gomez,

    Thanks for the advice. Most of the advice I receive is more like sit down and shut up.
    It is refreshing to hear the opposite for a change. It might surprise you but I am happier when others do not agree. I don’t believe God has given me perfect wisdom and I appreciate when someone points out my errors. Although it is usually that they are applying a different meaning to a word that I have used, or they are viewing the subject from a different angle. They are right from their view and I am right from mine. It is like predestination, if you view history through the eyes of God then we are predestined to be saved, because He knew even before He made us that we would turn to Him. But if you view it through man’s eyes it is up to us to obey God; which leads to the salvation that God knew all along that we would ask for.

    Anyway thanks again for the comment.

  4. astudent says:

    Susejevoli,

    I do the same thing. I spend much time rewriting what I post and comment. I also view it as play, but what is more important than understanding God’s Word? Do you really think that we should view it as unimportant? What urgent work could be more important? I think that is the world that is speaking to us, not God.

    I don’t think that God has called me to evangelize. I’ve attempted it and I stink at it. There are those that excel at it, but I am not one of them. It is not that I wouldn’t try if the opportunity presented itself, but I believe that God raises up some to evangelize and gives them the talent and abilities to do the job. Because I do not have those attributes it doesn’t look to me like God wants me working at it.

    Who is a “Godly man”? (Prov 20:9 NIV) Who can say, “I have kept my heart pure; I am clean and without sin”?
    (1 John 1:8 NIV) If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us.

    I think you have me wrong. I do not dismiss pastors because they are men. I regularly attend a local church. I do not bother the pastor when his doctrine doesn’t agree with mine (I use to brother another pastor, but it was unproductive). I support the Church and I believe God appointed the pastor to lead this group of believers. But (you knew I was going to say “but”, didn’t you?) pastors really are only men. They stand at the door of the church and accept the accolades of the members as they leave. If even one like me would say they are wrong about something they seem to have such a good opinion of themselves they can not accept it. The proof is visible when they become angry at the person who disagrees with them.

    If I am right then they should learn and if I am wrong then they should explain how I am wrong. If they can not get it through my thick head then the fault is mine and it doesn’t hurt them in the least, but if they are proud of what they know, or think they know, it leads to character assassination or at least an attempt at it.

    I believe those who God has placed in a high position should realize that it is an act of God that they are where they are and that they are really no better than those that God has placed under them.

    I don’t say the things that I say to imply that I am better than anyone: only that I am spiritually equal and it is important that everyone else realize that we are all the same: just children of God.

    As far as accountability groups are concerned, the Bible says that we should confess our sins to each other: OK, I sin. I don’t believe in listing particular sins. It is unproductive and it tempts those who know another’s sins to gossip.

    Suppose a man is tempted and has sex with a woman other than his wife. He is convicted in his heart and is determined never to allow it to happen again. Should he confess his sin to his wife? Those who believe in accountability groups along with most Christians would say “Yes”. But what good would become of confessing that sin? The man has already determined not to repeat the offense and he is sorry for it. It is done and can not be undone. The only result will be the wife will be crushed and for what? The marriage will be placed in jeopardy because the man wants his wife to forgive him. What a selfish stance. I said this at a Bible study once and one of my brothers said “but the man would have to suffer because he would never feel forgiven”. My reply was then who should suffer, the man that committed the sin, or the wife that didn’t, because if he tells her she will suffer for his sin! His sin was against God and that is the one who should be confessed to.

    When I think about Ecclesiastes 4:9-12 I see the Holy Spirit as the other one spoken of: not another mortal. Verse 13 doesn’t seem to fit with either of our understandings.

    When I read verse 13 I think of the old preacher as the old king.

    With all of the people in this world that think their pastor is wonderful do you think there is not room for one who only believes they are just equal? Have I really been hard on preachers or have I just said that they are wrong about some things?

  5. charles says:

    you said: “(Mat 23:10 NIV) Nor are you to be called ‘teacher,’ for you have one Teacher, the Christ.”

    the original context of the verse is during a scathing condemnation of the pharisees:

    8″But you are not to be called ‘Rabbi,’ for you have only one Master and you are all brothers. 9And do not call anyone on earth ‘father,’ for you have one Father, and he is in heaven. 10Nor are you to be called ‘teacher,’ for you have one Teacher, the Christ. 11The greatest among you will be your servant.

    the disciples were given borrowed authority to teach and make disciples – they were in fact “TEACHERS” and getting hung up on that word by focusing on one verse out of context is unnecessary. that would be like claiming believers should never call their fathers “father” because of verse 9. you are not entirely wrong in this post but you are missing the main point here.

    the point was being made that unlike the pharisees – who used their position to gain prestige and glory for themselves – the disciples and other church leaders and teachers were not to “lord it over” other believers, but to recognize that they were all brothers, which you seem to understand correctly.

    Matt28:18Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. 19Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20and TEACHING them to obey everything I have commanded you.

    you are correct that it is difficult for pastors and teachers to admit when they are wrong. (although, sometimes they may have studied an argument far more thoroughly than you have and just don’t want to get into the details). OTOH, it seems to be just as difficult for you as a “student” to attempt to represent calvin’s beliefs accurately…or to openly admit that you are wrong when your quotes are shown to be slanted at best if not completely misleading. if it is so difficult for you as a student to admit when you are wrong, how can you hold it against someone else?

    in fact, at some point, you SHOULD aspire to becoming a teacher:

    Hebrews 5:12
    In fact, though by this time YOU OUGHT TO BE TEACHERS, you need someone to teach you the elementary truths of God’s word all over again. You need milk, not solid food!

    many believers are commanded to teach in scripture…and it would be silly to trip over ourselves not to refer to these people who teach as “teachers” because of misunderstanding matt23:10.

    Colossians 3:16
    Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you TEACH and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God.

    1 Timothy 3:2
    Now the overseer must be above reproach, the husband of but one wife, temperate, self-controlled, respectable, hospitable, able to TEACH…

    1 Timothy 4:11
    Command and TEACH these things.

    1 Timothy 6:2
    …These are the things you are to TEACH and urge on them.

    2 Timothy 2:2
    And the things you have heard me say in the presence of many witnesses entrust to reliable men who will also be qualified to TEACH others.

    2 Timothy 2:24
    And the Lord’s servant must not quarrel; instead, he must be kind to everyone, able to TEACH, not resentful.

    Titus 2:1,15
    You must TEACH what is in accord with sound doctrine…These, then, are the things you should TEACH. Encourage and rebuke with all authority. Do not let anyone despise you.

    you ought to give your teachers and pastors respect and appreciate their willingness to step up. that doesn’t mean that you are not equal to them. if they are in error, you should feel free to question them about it. if it seems to you to be a serious error, you may need to look for another local church. but it can take a lot of patience on both sides, surely.

  6. astudent says:

    charles,

    You didn’t quote the KJV version of 1 Tim 6:10 although I would bet you knew that it was different. (1 Tim 6:10 KJV) For the love of money is the root of ALL evil: which while some coveted after, they have erred from the faith, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows.
    The word “kind” is not in Strong’s and because of that it isn’t in the KJV either. Now you will say ‘well what about sexual sins’ and the truth is the NIV seems right to me because I would ask the same question. However I still must say that “pas” means “pas” or all means all and I don’t think either of us understands 1 Tim 6:10. Perhaps we should study the verse with faith that God meant what He said, instead of trying to justify our wealth!

    The Greeks had a word for “kinds” it is “genos” and that word is not in 1 Tim 2:4 or 1 Tim 6:10. God knows the word “genous” and if He wanted to say “kinds” that is what He would have said.

    I don’t think that I said that God loves every person the same way He loves His Bride. Perhaps you didn’t or don’t understand me. Our difference is I believe man chooses his own destiny and you believe God makes the choice. Let me say it one more time “BECAUSE GOD KNOWS HOW WE WILL CHOOSE DOESN’T MEAN HE MAKES THE CHOICE FOR US!”

    God knew my choice even before He made me, so to Him I was always chosen and He refers to those who He knew would choose correctly as His elect. I think that is what confuses some who search Scripture.

    Diligently searching Scripture does not guarantee understanding (John 5:39-40 NIV) You diligently study the Scriptures because you think that by them you possess eternal life. These are the Scriptures that testify about me, yet you refuse to come to me to have life.

    If I believed Calvin it would not be possible to refuse to go to Jesus and yet Jesus said they did refuse!

    Charles exchanging comments with you is depressing. I said that you have judged me from your own ideas and you say “where do you imagine that I said this” and of course you did not come right out and say it! But you did prove it when you called me a liar, among other things. You seem to be more offended by what is said about Calvin than what is said about God!

    I said you try to put conditions on salvation that are not in the Bible. You say that you do not and then go on to say “I do wonder whether you really know the way, the TRUTH, and the life”. It seems to me that you are even twisting what you, yourself are saying.

    You accuse me of believing that I know more than you about the Bible and then you go to great extremes to attempt to show that you know more than I! Even as far as to attempt to show God, Himself as unjust! You ask was God equally fair to the Chinese or the other nations? What do you know about the Chinese or the other nations? Were you there?

    Everyone has the requirements of the law written on their hearts. Therefore no one is without guilt. If God condemns anyone it is because they are guilty of sin. Everyone will or has had the chance to repent and turn to Jesus whether or not they lived before Jesus came or after he came. It would not be fair or just if they did not.
    (John 10:16 NIV) I have other sheep that are not of this sheep pen. I must bring them also. They too will listen to my voice, and there shall be one flock and one shepherd.

    You say “I never said that God was “fair” by your definition”. I said that this was becoming an argument about words and you prove me right.
    Fair – 6.a. Having or exhibiting a disposition that is free of favoritism or bias; impartial: a fair mediator. b. Just to all parties; equitable (The American Heritage Dictionary)
    You are trying to tell everybody that God has a different definition of fairness! The truth is you must, to keep from accusing God of being unfair.

    Picture yourself standing before God and saying ‘I knew you were unfair to the Chinese, but I thank you for saving me’.

    I wouldn’t say such a thing, but then I am sure God is fair and just.

    You accuse me of lying about what Calvin said, but most know the acronym “TULIP”. I did not use the exact words that Calvin and others used when describing his doctrine, but I have been accurate enough to convey my thoughts: if you were really interested in my thoughts. I said that Calvin claimed man was totally worthless when he actually claims man is totally depraved. Totally depraved is actually worse than totally worthless. Because I didn’t use the word depraved you said that I misrepresented the teachings of Calvin!

    You did surprise me when you said that you are not just attacking me for fun. First you admit that you are attacking me and then not just for fun. Then why do you attack me? Finally we reach somewhat of an agreement. You are attacking me, but I am sure we will disagree on the purpose.

    (Acts 20:29-30 NIV) I know that after I leave, savage wolves will come in among you and will not spare the flock. Even from your own number men will arise and distort the truth in order to draw away disciples after them.

    Do you have followers?

    No one can be my disciple nor can anyone follow me. You do not even know who I am. You would not be wise to follow a student nor would you be wise to follow any man. And you certainly would not be wise to accuse God of being unjust!

    Where is your church? As I said in a different comment, if it isn’t too far I just might give it a shot!

  7. Susejevoli says:

    Astudent,

    The importance of understanding God’s Word can be argued many ways, but I believe the importance varies from person to person. That is, for those who take the time to understand God’s Word, the more important thing for them, then is to do it, after understanding it. The Bible is full of commands and instructions, what’s the point of understanding them, and the heart of God, if then you are going to sit there and do little to nothing? To those who do, but understand little, it is more important for them to understand so that their motivation is righteous.

    But in saying that, understanding God’s Word and doing what it commands are the most important things to a Christian. However, sitting there and reading the Bible all day while you neglect your other responsibilities is not honoring God, it’s running away, being cowardly. You can’t pursue a good thing in a bad way and expect God to be well pleased.

    Is that an excuse? Well there are always exceptions, but most of the time people are just making excuses, trying to find the hole to crawl through so that they can be the exception to the rule. However I know next to zilch about your life, so instead of legalism, I would like to encourage you to try harder to tell people about Jesus. Even children who know only but a few verses from the Bible, and next to nothing about apologetics can do a good job at evangelizing by God’s power, there is no excuse for any of us. Apart from our own personal relationship with Jesus, I don’t know what could be more important, or demand more urgency.

    When I speak of Godly men, I don’t lift them up to be sinless. I simply admire the Godly characteristics they possess by the grace of God, through the power of the Holy Spirit working in them after so many years. Perhaps you don’t dismiss pastors because they are men, but I feel like you are quick to. The same fault you accuse them of, that is; being too proud to admit their faulty theology, is the same fault that we charge you of, yet after explaining ourselves over and over, we still haven’t come to any agreement. Are you in this way, not alike the people you are pointing the finger at?

    “Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye?” Matthew 7:3

    Astudent, I just read your latest post on the 2 witnesses and replied. I am deeply disturbed. I begin to think that these pastors tried to rebuke you, yet you were so stubborn that it frustrated them to the point of anger. Perhaps the fault IS yours, and although it might not hurt them, I am telling you now that you are HURTING God’s children. I fear for those who stumble here while they are still young in the faith and not yet discerning enough to not take in everything they read. Especially when the lies are given mixed in between truths, these half-truths are the most dangerous, they are the most deceiving, and are used by Satan right in the beginning.

    If the Bible says that we should confess our sins to one another, then we should. I don’t believe you should be making excuses not to, because this after all is the Word of God. His ways are higher than ours, just as the heavens are higher than the earth. Perhaps you don’t understand fully the goodness and the usefulness in this particular instruction, but neither do I in certain parts of God’s Word (I am sure of this even if I can’t recall), yet by faith in Jesus and what He did on the cross, we will obey knowing God’s good and perfect intentions.

    If a man commits adultery against his wife, what good is it in confessing that sin? Seriously, this is shameful. It DOESN’T MATTER if he is determined not to sleep with another woman again, it doesn’t matter if can’t be undone, or what good will it do if he confesses, or his wife will be hurt, or the marriage will be broken. The fact is, he should have thought about this BEFORE he did it, and now that he has committed the act, these severe, dire consequences are just the natural result.

    There should not be even a HINT of sexual immorality in thought, or deed, or anywhere in a man that is about to enter the marriage covenant. If there is, he is in NO POSITION to take care of any daughter of God’s. Now the fact here is that he has sinned AGAINST his wife, and God. Are you suggesting that he should continue to sin against her and God by deceiving her and lying to her?

    This man in question deserves to suffer the full consequences of adultery. That is the least he deserves. As for the women, this is just a really sad story for her. But it just highlights the severity and wickedness of sin. Every sin we commit ultimately is against God, but we also sin against other people and the consequences are very real towards other people too. The answer to sin, isn’t more sin and cowardice, but repentance and being responsible towards God, and the people God has placed in your life.

    If you think that the Ecclesiastes 4:9-12 is referring to the Holy Spirit then you are wrong. Perhaps you think it is noble to read the Holy Spirit into everything so it sounds more Godly, or to fit your understanding, but all you’re doing is eisegesis. It has been present in the past, it is present here, and also present in your post succeeding this one. You’re not giving God glory by interpreting God’s Word in a way that fits your views, the purpose of reading the Bible is to understand God’s view on how we should live (as obvious as that sounds, it seems fitting to repeat).

    What the teacher is talking about in Ecclesiastes 4:7-12 is companionship, or the value in companionship. Read what it says: “one person who has no other, either son or brother… Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their toil. 10For if they fall, one will lift up his fellow… Again, if two lie together, they keep warm,(P) but how can one keep warm alone? 12And though a man might prevail against one who is alone, two will withstand him.”

    The acts referred to in this verse are all related to physical acts; working, falling, lying, fighting or defense. People are also mentioned like son or brother, and those only mentioned by number can be understood as a person by the context. Sure the Holy Spirit helps you up when you fall, there verses where God says that, but this isn’t what God is talking about here.

    You don’t need to be a genius to see the principles here, you just need not to abandon your logic. It’s all very simple, if you spend lots of time working, and has no one to enjoy the fruits of labor with, then it is sad and not satisfying. If you’re walking with someone and you fall over, then they will help you up. If two people sleep together, they keep each other warm. If you’re by yourself and you are attacked, you are more vulnerable than if you had your friend to defend you.

    Other sources also confirm this. Fact one is that I got this verse from a Christian accountability article, and fact two is that I checked this verse up with three Bible commentaries and they pretty clearly state that this is talking about companionship. And once again, YES the Holy Spirit does help you up when you fall, and maybe you might defend yourself more diligently if you knew God was sovereign and He is with you, but God is talking about companionship here.

    Come on! Just admit you’re wrong for once. If you do it enough times you’ll experience real humility and you’ll be able to enter into the joy of the Lord!

    God is relational, we’re relational creatures. Hence He told us to multiply, and made awesome things like friendship, love, marriage. It is only natural that He speaks about the nature and truth of such things through circumstances or situations. And since God is wise, and what He says is true, the Bible happens to contain quite a bit of practical wisdom that even the average non-Christian layman can see.

    I don’t know how many people you know in this world, but both my friends and I admire our pastor, yet at the same time we can see his weaknesses. Yes he is wonderful, yet at the same time, not so wonderful. Also we are indeed equal in the sense that we’re the children of God, but just like in the Parable of the Talents, God gives to some 5 talents, to some 2 talents and others 1 talent, each according to his ability.

    You can’t spend hours on this blog promoting false teachings and expect God to bless you as much as someone who spends the same amount of time out there building his or her brothers and sisters up, and fulfilling the Great commission by telling people about Jesus.

    God is sovereign, yet we are also responsible.

    So be now responsible and repent, that or shut down this blog. You are subtracting from God’s kingdom.

  8. Susejevoli says:

    I was writing up this reply in word, in between your paragraphs so sometimes it feels a little disjointed.

    In the 3rd paragraph, when i was asking ‘what’ is an excuse or not, i was addressing: “I don’t think that God has called me to evangelize…”

    Some parts of what i wrote earlier may sound harsh, but i had to put emphasis because certain parts required it. However, i do not bear the grudge against you like i did before, but in saying that, i am very much continually disturbed by each of your posts astudent (topics, threads, not so much replies).

    It’s like all you do is read the Bible and try to understand by the knowledge that you already possess, instead of reaching into the wealth of resources we have available here in the western world. Perhaps in China or Africa, where resources are not readily available, God is willing to teach there by the power of the Holy Spirit through revelation in someone’s life, so that they may understand Him, and His Word accurately, to pass onto the students that someone has been entrusted with.

    However, in the western world, we have an amazing amount of resources, it’s just a different story here. There’s no need for God to reveal Himself in a special way to the normal person that is perfectly capable of buying a resource that will teach the same thing. In fact, i would argue that this is the case, because there are many benefits. For example, if you buy Christian books, you not only support the ministries of the publisher, and authors, but you also get to practice stewarding your resources well. As an extra bonus, by reading books you also become more proficient with language skills.

    Unless you’re special in some way that i’m not aware of. It is most likely God would have you work and study for Him according to the model of western society. To be a part of the society, yet apart from it, to shine like a city on a hill, so that men may see your good deeds and praise our Father in heaven.

    Saint Augustine once said: “Faith is to believe what you do not see; the reward of this faith is to see what you believe.”

    You know if someone spends 5 years doing archeology and digs up many things that support the historical aspect of the Bible, they will be able to appreciate the truth of the Bible more so than you, or i. Just like Augustine said, they will be able to see what they believe, they will be able to see God clearly working in their life, and be greatly encouraged and blessed.

    Now if this man goes on to write a book about his findings, and wisdom that God has taught him in his Godly stewardship of his resources (including time, effort), many people who read it, especially Christians can be and will be greatly encouraged and blessed. This is why we should seek to further our knowledge of God practically through reading God honoring resources by Godly authors, instead of denouncing these authors as merely men, and operating under the assumption that the wisdom God has blessed them is tainted and therefore we cannot gain anything from it.

    Far from it!

    There is value in being wise and spending your time and resources in the way that BEST honors God. Like going through seminary to learn proper Biblical hermeneutics to gain from from God’s Word. And in noway is seminary going to subtract from your walk with God unless your going there in spite of God’s convictions, or you by your God given choice give up mid way through in an act of cowardice.

    Before God can bless you with any sort of authority over the teaching and preaching of Scripture, you first have to seek God so that you may be humbled enough to subject to the authority God has given other teachers and preachers. The way of humility has ALWAYS been God’s way, to be first by being least.

    And in closing, i would like to point out the obvious.

    If you’re interpretation has your brothers and sisters against it, and is banned from Church, it is likely that your interpretation is wrong. There is a reason why rightful interpretation is popular among God’s people – because it’s righteous. The ones that do not testify to the Scriptures are false teachings, and those who teach such things are called false teachers, and they are kicked out of Churches so that no one can be exposed to such heretical ideas.

    Perhaps the lack of acceptance on a teaching is a clear indication that it is one contrary to God’s Word.

  9. astudent says:

    Susejevoli,

    You know I don’t mind if you are harsh with me. You have said what you thought was correct from your understanding and that is what I want.

    When I was young I really liked football and I attempted to play it. However God did not make me with the necessary physical attributes that are required for the game. I understood this but I tried anyway. To this day I can not wear a motorcycle helmet for more than a half hour and still be able to turn my head.

    When I became a Christian I tried evangelizing, but God didn’t give me the necessary attributes.

    We do not all have the same gift. (1 Cor 12:27-14:1) Just because you feel called to evangelize doesn’t mean that I am; or that I could.

    I believe the importance of understanding God’s word is the same for everyone. How could anyone do what God wants if they do not know what God wants?

    Let me give you some good advice that you already know is true. We have the Bible that was given to every Christian as a textbook and every Christian has been given the Holy Spirit to teach us all things. Because we have the perfect teacher all we need are the questions. Those who want you to believe they are your teachers violate the advice of Matthew (23:10 NIV) Nor are you to be called ‘teacher,’ for you have one Teacher, the Christ.
    Bear in mind (1 Cor 2:15-16 NIV) The spiritual man makes judgments about all things, but he himself is not subject to any man’s judgment: “For who has known the mind of the Lord that he may instruct him?” But we have the mind of Christ.

    You don’t have to agree with what I say. I defend what I post because I believe it but I consider what others say. If you don’t like it then don’t read it!

    As for what I said about the man that was unfaithful I based it on the Second Royal Law ‘Do to others as you would have them do to you’. If my wife would have been unfaithful to me I would not want to know as it would only upset me and would not benefit me in any way. I already knew my wife was not perfect when I married her. I did not demand an accounting of her sins when I asked for her hand and I would never do so. I would not want anyone to demand an accounting for my sin, so obeying the Second Royal Law, I would not demand it from someone else.

    That is the way I would approach the problem. There are many who view it different. Would you have me stop posting because I see it differently than others, but not stop them when they see it differently than me? There is nothing wrong with disagreeing with me, but there is error in trying to stop me from airing my understanding.

    Those who are trying to rebuke me are not really interested in Bible study. It should be obvious that they are only interested in character assassination. Charles even stated that he was attacking me!

    I am not hurting God’s children. If they hurt they are inflecting pain on themselves. They feel compelled to prove me wrong and they use any method they can to try to do so. They have the same opportunity as anyone else that reads my blog. If they don’t like it then they shouldn’t read it!

    I have said that Calvinism paints God as unfair and unjust. I can not accept any dogma that would do so and I believe others should consider the end result of that theology. If I didn’t speak up who would? Instead of answering my charge I am accused of human philosophy; what ever that may mean. O, it means what ever they want it to, of course!

    Well, please forgive me, but I am getting kind of tickled! You say (not your exact words) that I do not understand Scripture and your advice is stop studying the Bible so much and study what men say about studying the Bible! Listen……Can you hear me laughing? Or perhaps I should go dig in the dirt to find artifacts that others will claim are not what I claim them to be!

    Picture God telling me ‘Son put down the Book that I wrote and do not listen to My Spirit, but go forth and study what men say about what I said so you can understand Me!

    Do you really think God would give me such advice? Or can you see it is the advice of those you consider your teachers? If you were thinking this out, without the pressure being put on you by those who you consider your teachers, would you really tell someone to read less of God’s word? I have a much higher opinion of you than that.

    You say, “Perhaps the lack of acceptance on a teaching is a clear indication that it is one contrary to God’s word. And I would have to ask how many prophets in the Bible were accepted by the established Church? I am not going to spend a lot of time trying to think of one, but just off the top of my head I can’t think of any! As a matter of fact they were all treated just like those in the established Church are treating me!

  10. Debbie Hall says:

    Thank you for a site that helps develope a relationship with God through Jesus Christ and make it about new life and life more abundant and free by most of all freedom from worldly and religious minds…… fun! God woke me up last Saturday morning to “awake oh Deborah and sing” I agree with you on everything and need to encourage others to always have their own relationship with Jesus! They can’t fly to heaven on my wings! Lol…… I believe that we can heaven or hell right now! The battle we fight is with the enemy within our own selves ! Is you want to learn a new kind of battle plan….. I would love to share some clues with you as you start your own book of life! Again thanks! 🐝

  11. astudent says:

    Debbie Hall,

    Thank you for the encouragement. One can see the joy you have in our Father and your joy is infectious.

    Please forgive me, but I do not correspond privately. I feel that I should keep my identity a secret. I am only a child, but I can see the danger of believing that I am something that I am not. It is easy for others, when they glimpse God within me, to think that it is me they see, when it is really the Spirit that lives in me. All too often men take the credit (glory) for that phenomenon. If no one knows who I am, then they cannot make that mistake and if they do not error, then I am safe.

    Having said that, you are certainly welcome to share any clues you feel God has given to you here, where all might benefit from them.

    Truth is that I will probably sound like I am disagreeing with you, when you do, but it is only because I usually view what is said from a slightly different angle; it does not mean that they are wrong.

    I really love it when someone expresses their joy for our Father. Thank you for making my day.

Leave a Reply

