WOMEN ARE NOT SECOND CLASS CHRISTIANS.

 

I attend a small Bible study that is non-gender specific and we have been studying 1 Corinthians. We reached 1Cor. 14:33-35: “For God is not a God of disorder but of peace. As in all the congregations of the saints, women should remain silent in the churches. They are not allowed to speak, but must be in submission, as the Law says. If they want to inquire about something, they should ask their own husbands at home; for it is disgraceful for a woman to speak in the church.

Now I don’t know about you, but when I read or hear someone quote those verses the Spirit churns inside me. I know that I am no better than any of the women in the class and I do not want any woman to think she needs my permission to speak, nor should any one, man or woman, be in submission to me. One searches their inner self for attributes of leadership, but first one should understand what is necessary to lead. It would be necessary to know the future in order to give a correct command and I do not know the future. No man does. Yet the Bible says it is disgraceful (The KJV says it is a shame) for a woman to speak in church and it makes no similar statement about men!

It did not sound right, it did not feel right, but now I understand better. The key is “Who is shamed?” The answer is “It is the men that are shamed or disgraced”: not the women! If the men of the Church were enthusiastic and properly representing God on this earth, there would be nothing a woman could say that would not have already been said!

We assume too much when we read those verses. Our first mistake was assuming who was shamed. Our second mistake was assuming it is God’s law that Paul cites. And our third mistake is assuming God does not want women to speak in Church.

A study of the law, as put forth in the first books of the Bible, does not support the idea that God wants women to be in submission to men. There is one verse that might support such an idea and I will save it for last (it is worth the wait).

A study of the prophetess Deborah in the fourth chapter of Judges will shed some light on the subject. Judges were not in submission to anyone, men or women, (Judges 2:18) “Whenever the LORD raised up a judge for them, he was with the judge and saved them out of the hands of their enemies as long as the judge lived; for the LORD had compassion on them as they groaned under those who oppressed and afflicted them.” Because Deborah was a Judge, she was not submissive to men. She held court and made decisions about the affaires of men and God was with her. When god decided to free Israel He chose a man to accomplish the task, but the man had more faith in Deborah than he had in God! Because of this, it was a woman that freed Israel from the rule of Sisera. None of the women were shamed: it was the men that were shamed.

Still don’t get it? Consider the death of Abimelech. A woman dropped an upper millstone on his head and he was sure he was going to die, so he commanded his servant to kill him, just so no one could say a woman did! Abimelech made a mistake when he went to close to the tower and that mistake was his shame and it was the actions of a woman that pointed it out. By the way, it did not work. Joab understood and he knew David would also (2 Sam 11:18-21) and if the messenger had not previously known, he did when Joab told him what to say to David!

Too sum it up; men are shamed when women speak in Church: not women. It has to be man’s law that required women to be in submission to men; we can see it is not God’s law, because if it were, He would not have appointed a women Judge. If men make mistakes and women do not drop millstones on their heads, then who will? (When you have a head like mine, millstones just bounce off, so feel free to throw!)

And as I promised, there is one verse that says women are to be subservient to men. Are you ready? IT IS A CURSE, NOT A BLESSING! (Gen 3:16) “To the woman he said, “I will greatly increase your pains in childbearing; with pain you will give birth to children. Your desire will be for your husband, and he will rule over you.”

I trust the men that are reading this are laughing as much as the women.

Well, I am anyway.

6 Responses to WOMEN ARE NOT SECOND CLASS CHRISTIANS.

  1. Christine says:

    Haha! I had to comment, since the Holy Spirit just recently opened this freakin passage to me, like a jar of spaghetti sauce.

    The traditional interpretation of this verse is also contradicted a few chapters earlier where he says “And every woman who prays or prophesies with her head uncovered dishonors her head…(1 Cor 11:5) Regardless of the “to cover or not to cover” argument, Paul makes it clear that women should and do “pray or prophesy,” which is more than most Western American churches have allowed.

    Speaking of Western American church, it’s also likely that the early christian church did not at all follow the model of church that the modern world is used to. In fact, based on the passage it was probably more spontaneous and “led by the Spirit,” perhaps similar to Quaker services in the 1700’s where women were then allowed to speak if prompted, and it was a HUGE scandal. If that’s the case, then the passage in 1 Cor. 14 would make sense, if perhaps the “speaking” in question was idle chatter, which, let’s be honest, was likely the issue with women (even more likely that men were just as culpable but the eventual report to Paul blamed women exclusively :P). Paul’s added sentiment supports this: “If they want to inquire about something they should ask their own husbands at home (v. 35).”

    Church was probably a wholly sacred affair, likely modeled after the conduct required of the temple. And with the inclusion of Gentiles, not used to Jewish law, church gatherings probably did get “unruly.”

    I’ll admit, that passage stumped me for awhile, and it was only recently that God brought me back to it. He basically said, “I bet if you went back and read it today, you would see it entirely differently.” He was right. I read it and I wasn’t even slightly confused anymore, and it was almost impossible to see it the previous way that had so frustrated me.

  2. astudent says:

    Christine,

    Kind of makes one wonder how some poor woman that isn’t cursed with a husband could learn anything, doesn’t it?

    I see that you listen to the Spirit within. That is the only one that can really teach.

    I am encouraged that most women do not become discouraged by 1 Cor. 14. Many times I have seen well meaning Christian men thump their Bible and read 14:34&35 without understanding it. I may have also, but only with a smile on my face.

  3. Bernadette says:

    Thank you for posting this. I pray that the Lord blesses you on your journey to reveal God’s truths. As you well know many women live in bondage to husbands who use these scriptures to manipulate them. I am one who did for thirty years. God bless you.

  4. deshanne says:

    Blessed be the name of the Lord Jesus.

    Blessing and peace be unto you in the name of Jesus Christ my God and Savior.

    I would really like to speak with you. I found your blog after googling ” Jesus told me to stop using money.”

    Recently I had a thought. If the love of money is the root to all evil, than the hatred of money is the root to all good.

    I used to make like 85k a year… until Jesus told me that I was a thief, liar, and oppressor and that He hated what I did for a living….actually most available “career opportunities” Jesus hates…. this is another topic all together.

    I would really like to speak with you mote on this issue and other things… as my life is not my own anymore and I feel more out of place in this world more and more each day…. everything has changed so quickly since 2009.

    I hope I can connect with you, may Jesus bring us together according to His divine will.

    Blessing, Peace, and grace unto you all who call upon the name of Jesus from a pure heart.

    deshanne
    servant of Jesus Christ The King called out of the world by grace

  5. deshanne says:

    REPENT FOR THE KINGDOM OF HEAVEN IS AT HAND
    FEAR THE LORD, DEPART FROM EVIL AND DO GOOD.
    KEEP THE COMMANDMENTS OF THE LIVING GOD OF ISRAEL AND THE FAITH OF JESUS CHRIST, ENDURE TO THE END AND GREAT WILL BE YOUR REWARD. JESUS IS FOREVER BLESSED AMEN.

  6. astudent says:

    deshanne,

    When I started this blog I decided, in my heart, not to reveal myself. I have learned much about God, from God, and I am convinced that He should be the only one to receive any credit for anything and everything that I post. Well, I am not always right, so I take credit for any errors. Anyway, I feel that I cannot change course in the middle of the stream. I hope you understand.

    Hatred of money is not the root, or route to all good. The love of God is the route to all good. Money is only a false god. Isn’t it funny that those who do not believe in God chide us for our belief and yet they believe in money! Money is only valuable because people believe it is! If everyone lost their faith in money, it would be immediately worthless! It is only a piece of paper, or a piece of metal!

    Do not put your faith in me or any human. Concentrate on God; ask Him for answers and He will calm your mind. Ask with faith and you will receive.

    John 16:22-24 (NIV) So with you: Now is your time of grief, but I will see you again and you will rejoice, and no one will take away your joy. In that day you will no longer ask me anything. I tell you the truth, my Father will give you whatever you ask in my name. Until now you have not asked for anything in my name. Ask and you will receive, and your joy will be complete.

    He has the answers: all of the answers.

Leave a Reply

