MORE BLESSED THAN SOLOMON

When I came to my senses and turned to the Lord, I realized that I needed to understand all about God that I could. So, I asked Him to give me “all” understanding and wisdom. I knew that He had given Solomon more wisdom than anyone before or after him. So I knew that I could not have more than He did, but still, in my ignorance, I asked. I thought to myself that I must know what God wants in order to do what God wants. It seemed like logical request to me when I asked, but as God has given me more understanding I have realized that even knowing what God wants, I do not do it.

Even though I do not always do what God would have me do, I know that He loves me. Solomon had and has more understanding than I do and yet he sinned greatly. Therefore, understanding does not save, but wisdom is not understanding. Wisdom, it seems to me is the Holy Spirit and if one turns to God, then Wisdom will pour out His heart to that person and make His thoughts known to him, or her (Proverbs 1:23)

As I thought about Solomon, the Spirit within me pointed out one word that greatly helped me understand Ecclesiastes and that word is “was”. I know that the word “was” is not in the original language, however the verse Ecc 1:12 (NIV) “I, the Teacher, was king over Israel in Jerusalem” is always written as past tense.

Solomon died in office, so if Ecclesiastes was written buy Solomon when he was alive on this earth, the verse would have to say ‘I am king’, not “I was king”.

1 Kings 11:42&43 (NIV) also Chronicles 9:30&31, “Solomon reigned in Jerusalem over all Israel forty years. Then he rested with his fathers and was buried in the city of David his father. And Rehoboam his son succeeded him as king.”

Why does that make Ecclesiastes clear to me? Well, it is a book written by a man that had everything and yet sinned greatly against God. There was nothing of the world that Solomon did not have. He used his wisdom to explore the world and everything in it, but he did not use it to search out God!

He finally applied his wisdom to God and reached a conclusion, Ecc 12:13 (NIV) “Now all has been heard; here is the conclusion of the matter: Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man.”

His commandments are (Deu 6:5 NIV) “Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength” and (Mat 7:12 NIV) So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets.

Why am I more blessed than Solomon? Because God didn’t give me as much as He gave Solomon, so I was not so tempted to put my faith in money, or my own wisdom. What the world views as a blessing can be just the opposite.

Leave a Reply

