DID GOD CAUSE THE DISASTERS OF JAPAN?

I love a good question as it seems to always lead to more understanding and this is a good question.

I believe in a God that knows everything. Everything includes the knowledge that the disasters that have plagued Japan were to be. My God also is all powerful and therefore could have prevented it. My God is also a caring and loving God; so much so that it is said “He is love” twice, in first John, chapter four (8& 16). So the question changed slightly to me, “Would” God cause the disasters that have struck Japan.

I don’t believe that I have a corner on that question. I think that any Christian has, at least briefly, considered it. If you haven’t, then you should. God is fair enough to answer any question that you might have. I mean any honest question. And I don’t believe He would condemn anyone that would ask for an answer, for any question, asked with sincerity. So let me try to explain the answer that I received.

It seems as though one question leads to another and all must be resolved if an accurate understanding is to be attained. Many lives were lost in the disaster and the next question that occurred to me was, “Would a God that is love take someone’s life?”

Now, everyone knows that we must die a physical death, but those who understand also know that is not the end of life, because we “all” go on living: either in Heaven, or Hell. Look at what the wise woman from Tekoa said to King David, (2 Sam 14:14 NIV) Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But God does not take away life; instead, he devises ways so that a banished person may not remain estranged from him.

So, God has decreed that a man’s soul must leave this earth and that is the first death, but He has devised a way for man to avoid the second death, which is for a man’s soul to be banished from God. So, God has not, does not, and will not take anyone’s life.

The dangerous thing about God is He will grant the wishes of everyone’s heart. Those who want to spend eternity with such a wonderful God will and those who do not will also receive their wish.

If that was all that God reviled to me then I would still be confused. I know that God knew the disaster of Japan would happen and I also know that He has the power to stop it. So there had to be something that I was missing and because I asked He gave.

I knew that God is true to His word. God gave the power to His two witnesses to strike the earth with every kind of plague as often as they want (Rev 11:3-6). If He were to stop the witness, after saying He gave them the power, then He would not be true to His word. So, it was not God that caused the disaster; it was the two witnesses.

You may say that God should not have given that power away, but if God went on granting every selfish wish mankind can come up with, then why would anyone repent and act justly? We don’t change when everything is going the way we want. We change when times are tough. That is why it is so difficult for a rich man to enter Heaven.

If you still think it too harsh for Japan to have such a disaster then try to look at Japan through the eyes of the two witnesses. God has abundantly blessed Japan and yet the people do not even consider Him.

If you had the power of the two witnesses, would you create a disaster that would cause the first death of many, in order to awaken a few to eternal life? It is not like those who were killed were going to turn to God if they were left alone.

15 Responses to DID GOD CAUSE THE DISASTERS OF JAPAN?

  1. God is God sovereign and absolute!

  2. Carolyn says:

    Interesting topic…’why?’ I suspect the answer is way beyond our ability to comprehend.

    Ro 11:33 O the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! how unsearchable are his judgments, and his ways past finding out!

    The two witnesses were only channels through which God performed His purposes in Egypt.

    Ex 3:20 And I will stretch out my hand, and smite Egypt with all my wonders which I will do in the midst thereof: and after that he will let you go.

    Concerning the incredible natural disasters and the devastation they bring…truly it rains on the just and the unjust…too, the righteous suffer. Whether one discusses the thousands dead of Japan or the Christian martyrs in China…we must agree that all judgement is left to God.

    Again, interesting thoughts.

    Carolyn

  3. Good thoughts Carolyn, may we “feed” on them! 🙂

  4. astudent says:

    irishanglican ~ Fr. Robert

    I agree that God is sovereign and absolute.

    All are welcome to comment on anything that is said on this blog. I am only searching for truth and I hope everyone else is also.

    You are welcome to agree or disagree in a comment. Disagreements are especially welcome. If two agree then there is little either can learn.

    You used the phrase “feed on” I have not been able to determine just what, but there is something about it that bothers me.

    Perhaps it is the impression that I get when I read the phrase is that we should think some man or woman is supposed to be our teacher.

    I cannot speak for you, but if I were to feed on anything, it would be the Word of God and not the word of man (or woman, which I believe is equally important as a man’s word). (But, then I don’t think my words are all that important)

  5. astudent says:

    Carolyn,

    Your thoughts were as interesting to me as I trust mine were to you.

    Many things are beyond our ability to understand. Such as how God can speak and a universe is created. Or how He can create life, when we do not even know what life is.
    However, He has given us a teacher to teach us all things (John 14:26). (1 Cor 2:12 NIV) We have not received the spirit of the world but the Spirit who is from God, that we may understand what God has freely given us. (1 Cor 2:16 NIV) “For who has known the mind of the Lord that he may instruct him?” But we have the mind of Christ.

    It can be a self fulfilled prophecy to think something is way beyond our ability to comprehend. God gave us a Bible and the Holy Spirit to teach us and all things are possible with God. If understanding is beyond us then God wasted His time: still wasting His time.

    I like your verse (Rom 11:33 NIV) Oh, the depth of the riches of the wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable his judgments, and his paths beyond tracing out! Notice the next verse (Rom 11:34 NIV) “Who has known the mind of the Lord? Or who has been his counselor?” Then ponder (1 Cor 2:16 NIV) “For who has known the mind of the Lord that he may instruct him?” But we have the mind of Christ. (To instruct us)

    You did not say, but I assume the two witnesses that you refer to are Moses and Aaron. But they were not given power to strike the earth as often as they wanted. They were told what to do. God granted them limited power to do only what He wanted (Exo 4:21, 6:61, etc, etc)

    These two cannot be the two witnesses spoken of in Revelation. (Rev 11:8 NIV) Their bodies will lie in the street of the great city, which is figuratively called Sodom and Egypt, where also their Lord was crucified.
    (Num 20:28 NIV) Moses removed Aaron’s garments and put them on his son Eleazar. And Aaron died there on top of the mountain. Then Moses and Eleazar came down from the mountain,
    (Deu 34:5-6 NIV) And Moses the servant of the LORD died there in Moab, as the LORD had said. He buried him in Moab, in the valley opposite Beth Peor, but to this day no one knows where his grave is.

    It is my understanding that the street the two witnesses lie in is symbolic of the whole evil world, where Jesus was crucified. That when they finished their testimony, the beast that comes up from the Abyss attacked them, and overpowered and killed them on the cross. Also, that men from every people, tribe, language and nation gaze on their bodies and refuse them burial. However, we were buried with them in baptism. We did not refuse them burial. Also, that on Christmas the inhabitants of the earth gloat over them and celebrate by sending each other gifts, because these two prophets torment those who live on the earth. Think about it and you will realize that the work of the two witnesses is not yet complete.

    We do agree that all judgment is God’s, but He does not judge on a whim. We can know who He judges and who He judges not.

    If I were to die in some disaster that the two witnesses caused, would that mean that I would suffer? Would I receive the same rain as the unjust? I must die in order to enter Heaven and if I die in such a disaster, then would it be a disaster for me? Going to Heaven to live in a place where God walks with His subjects and dries every tear they might have, doesn’t seem like too much of a disaster to me.

    However, there is a little Woody Allen in me: “I am not afraid of death; I just don’t want to be there when it happens!”

    Thanks for the comment. A comment that disagrees is worth ten that agree.

  6. scott says:

    In the Old Testament our Father performed such acts upon cities and peoples. I persoally believe the Father knew Japan would get hit but He certainy didn;t author the event. The boys one day wanted Jesus to destroy a city and he turned to them and simply said the son of man came not to take life but to give life. We are simply in the season of His return…thus we’ll see the earth groan and travail via weather patterns, hurricanes, tornadoes, and the like as never witnessed by human eyes….all to tell us His return is not only near but I believe emminent. We’re seeing wonders take place in the heavens….the moon moving closer to earth….which many feel caused the earthquate and others over the past few years, Maybe we should just accept the earth and heaven are making a very important anouncement,,,,,we are about to see the Lord actually return. I’m 60 so not sure it will be in my lifetime…unless my kids are right when they tell me I’ll never grow up…but I am confident in my spirit that during their lifetime the glorious return of our loving Jesus will occur…..evil will be bound….life as we know it will change for at least a thousand years. I truly believe the voice of John the Baptist is sounnding once again “Prepare yue the waiy of the Lord…….for me it’s the most amazing time to be alive….a time of turmoil never witnessed by mankind before.,,,nations going broke…cos the devil has a budget….then we’ll see the abundance of heaven,….where there is no lack spill out His glory upon those who love him. just a thought that stirrs in me night and day…….exciting while humbling at the same time…but hey, isn’t the Kingdom a realm of paradox anyway…..which is simply two conflicting statements found in the same sentence

  7. Carolyn says:

    Very well said, Scott. Since the time I originally commented here, my southern United States was hit with another of God’s awesome climatilogical events and more than 350 were killed on April 27th. I did a post at my internetelias.wordpress.com site called ‘Southern Tribulation.’ I kinda needed to spill my guts …so to speak…in the aftermath of the awesome event. My hometown of Rainsville, Alabama was hit hard. My daughter was spared in Tuscaloosa while others students were killed. In the post, my conclusion is ‘only God knows.’ Whether Japan, Haiti, Louisiana’s Katrina, or F4 and F5 tornadoes in Alabama and the south…..it’s all the same….and is tied to the permission of God. Only He knows which storm or earthquake is judgment and which is merely the climatological systems He set in motion at creaion. Even with the destruction and devestation…we remain awestruck as we watch the hundreds of videos of the monstrous but beautiful whirlwinds of God.

    Carolyn

  8. scott says:

    I fully believe and accept that we are not to calculate the time of our dear Lords return. In fact, we’re instructed not to watch for the day….but the hour of His return. The interesting thing is that each generation fully believed Jesus would return in their time of life. Yet that has yet to occur. I’m not a student of prophecy….yet I’ve studied and listened to many I consider such a call on their lives. Even then, it’s not what they say as much as it is a deep inner peace and stirring within me to make sure my lamp is filled with oil so I can be able to see the Bridegroom commig. For years I mixed the old testament with the new testament in manners that only confused too many issues….a whole different long discussion. One thing I believe and have settled in my heart is what Jesus came to do; what His role is in my life; what His great and precious promises are…thus I live my life caught up in the beauty that He ushered in the age of grace and I simply take advantage of that gift. Many believe climatic events and wars are the fathers way of judging…I personally don’t believe that is true…but it really doesn’t matter in the whole scheme of things. I know the Father can get mad….pour out His wrath….and that He certainly plans on doing so. Yet it’s written that Jesus delivered us from the wrath to come. So my conclusion is that my Father can get mad….He’s just not mad at me. I have strengths….gifts from Him. I have weaknesses….yet the promise from Jesus that in my weakness He’ll be made strong. I have the Holy Spirit who loves his job and is a complete know it all when it comes to his ability and passion to lead me into all truth. We all have a call on our life. We all are dispensed special giftings….the beauty of how the body moves and functions. We are at total peace…a peace He gave and not one as the world gives….yet we are also caught up in the final stages of the greatest spiritual warfare to ever hit mankind….for the enemy knows he has but a short time. What I love is that I know the enemy has limited resources…my Father provides out of a realm of unlimited abundance. The enemy has a budget…the Father doesn’t. I think the teaching of 1/3 of the angels falling is wrong. Wrong only because it says there is an innumeralble company of angelic beings…if they cannot be numbered than how would one be able to calculate 1/3 fell. But for the sake of argument let’s simply say that is true….it still means there are only so many demonic forces to do the evil plans set that will usher in the mystery of the fullness of iniquity….not a pleasant thought but a silly one to consider when we also know that the mystery of godliness will usher in right on the heels of the evil stuff we’ll see as it all culminates. I’m a simple man…..my Lord told me that when I begin to see the vast devastation upon the earth….the historic weather events…etc….and when I begin to see the wonders in the heavens above….such as the blood moons that have been occuring….the lining up of planets that have never been seen in hundreds and hundreds of years…..when I see the moon moving closer to the earth which scientists actually have concluded that it is causing much of the weather patterns we now see….etc……etc. Jesus simply told me to not focus on all the events, and sadly the loss of life….but to look up for my redemption draws nigh. Thus, at age 60 I’m pumped to be alive in such a season….this is a one time event that the prophets of old only saw in vision and dreams….stuff that caused Paul to know he was born out of season….they saw it by revelation….we’re seeing it in real time. The time of the eleventh hour worker is upon the church. The time to trim our wicks and insure we are anointed is the issue….for soon we’ll see an event that will never ever ever happen again…Jesus came once….died once…and is to return once. There will be no sequeal……so as tough as life and spiritual warfare has become…I remain eternally grateful that soon I’ll hear the heavenly words “that’s a wrap”…..let’s usher in the thousand year reign…..bind evil…and spend all that glorious time living when we all finally elect the right leader…..Jesus as King.

  9. Carolyn says:

    Amen! Well said. Puts things in perspective. And I agree that there will be no sequel to the SeCond Coming. Wasn’t two deliverances at Sodom. Wasn’t two boat loads (Ark)at the deluge. lol.

  10. astudent says:

    Scott,

    Sorry about the long delay of my comment. Your children may say you will never grow up, but I claim the charge myself. I am “Peter Pan” and I do not want to change. I am a child of God and when I leave this earth I will be able to fly just like Mr. Pan. In other words, I have been playing and though I enjoy thinking and writing about my Father I am just a child. Sorry: but not sorry enough to change.

    God is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow. What ever He did in the Old Testament He would do today. Actually the verse says, (Heb 13:8 NIV) Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever. Jesus was the perfect image of God. So if Jesus doesn’t change then neither does God. Also consider (James 1:17 NIV) Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. (Num 23:19 NIV) God is not a man, that he should lie, nor a son of man, that he should change his mind. Does he speak and then not act? Does he promise and not fulfill? (1 Sam 15:29 NIV) He who is the Glory of Israel does not lie or change his mind; for he is not a man, that he should change his mind.”

    Yes, Jesus did rebuke the disciples when they asked if they should pray for the destruction of a Samaritan village (Luke 9:51-55), but they were mere men and did not know if any of the citizens of that village would eventually turn to God. However Jesus, who I believe is one of the two witnesses, does know who the Father will give him to save.

    I certainly agree that we are in the season of the end, but I cannot find a verse that states ‘we can know the hour’. Actually I found a verse that says (Mat 24:36 NIV) “No one knows about that day or hour, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.” Also (Mark 13:35 NIV) “Therefore keep watch because you do not know when the owner of the house will come back–whether in the evening, or at midnight, or when the rooster crows, or at dawn.

    We are told, in Matthew 24:32 (NIV) “Now learn this lesson from the fig tree: As soon as its twigs get tender and its leaves come out, you know that summer is near.” I think the fig tree represents Israel and it is being forced to prepare for the summer season. The summer season is a hot time of the year and the time fruit is produced and when fall comes it is gathered.

    Israel has always put their safety in the hands of others and now there is no one left that will protect them. Now they have no one but their God to trust in and when they finally come to their senses God will surely do so.

    We look for the end of time, but the end of this age comes for anyone that dies the first death.

    I agree with you when you say this is an interesting time. And I find comfort in (1 Cor 1:8 NIV) “He will keep you strong to the end, so that you will be blameless on the day of our Lord Jesus Christ.” Because it is written to all those everywhere who call on the name of our Lord Jesus Christ (1:2).

    Just to throw something in, it seems to me that oil is symbolic of wisdom or faith. Light comes from the oil and if we become spiritually sick we are to call the elders of the church to pray over us and anoint us with oil in the name of the Lord (James 5:14).

  11. internet elias says:

    Astudent,I recently saw the comment to Irishanglican concerning his ‘feed’ comment to me. He and I have interacted and enjoyed sharing the wisdom of God for a long time now. His statement, ‘Good thoughts, Carolyn, may we ‘feed’ on them’…was greatly appreciated by me. I took the words as encouragment an continued affirmation that we, indeed, are brothers and sisters in Christ…the Bread of Life. But I can see how others who are not aware of our mutual respect…might not understand the comment. Keep posting and I will keep reading your posts. Have a wonderful Memorial Day.

  12. astudent says:

    internet elias,

    Sorry for the long delay. I probably should just copy and paste that, as I have been late every time. I have temporally lost some of my enthusiasm (if I ever had any).

    I was wrong to comment about a comment that was not to me. I apologize to Irishanglican and to you. In the future, I will try to keep my big mouth shut when the comment is to others.

    Every day is a wonderful day for me. We look to Heaven to enjoy God, but we waste a lot of todays while we wait.

  13. Disaster News…

    DID GOD CAUSE THE DISASTERS OF JAPAN? « Bible study by a student…

  14. George says:

    Did God casue the tsunamis of Japan and Singapore? How about 911, Katrina, and lately Sandy?
    I believe God is trying to get some peoples attention and they don”t realize that it is Him.
    Read the OT and see why God cursed other nations as well as His own people. God is the same today, yesterday and always. Read Deuteronomy 28 and see what is expected of His people. The churches have failed to fulfill their duties and God is not pleased. Judgement starts at the House of God.
    America was founded by God to carry out His command to go into all the world and preach the Good News. We let the unbelievers in charge of our nation and they began to remove God from everything. God will judge those who hate Himm. More is to come upon the USA if they don’t repent.
    Our unbelieving leaders don’t know where to turn for help lately and if they don’t turn to God for His help, they will fail miserably.

  15. astudent says:

    George,

    I prefer to think of natural disasters as God ordained, but disasters such as 9/11 I think of as God permitted.

    I also believe, as you do, that God allows and causes disasters to get the attention of the people of this world. It is a warning to those who do evil that God will judge them at the end of time.

    I will disagree a bit with your assessment of America. We did not allow unbelievers to take control; we elected them and gave them the power that they have. What has occurred, because of this, is our fault: God only allowed it to happen.

    It serves us right because we did not believe Romans 13:1&2, but we decided that we should choose the authorities.

    Our unbelieving leaders are not looking for help from anyone. They are hell-bent on destroying believers and do not even know enough to understand that it is their real goal. They are only thinking about money, which is the god of this world.

    Rest assured, they will fail miserably.

Leave a Reply

