WHO DID JESUS DIE FOR?

Well, as most who read my posts are Christians and know Jesus died for anyone who will admit they are a sinner and in dire need of a Savior. We search out Jesus, realize that he is that Savior that we so desperately need then we plead guilty, are baptized, and raised a new being. As a rule humans only think of themselves. We are selfish and self-centered, so in our own mind that pretty much ends the question of ‘Who did Jesus die for’.

I am not throwing stones at others: I am just as human as anyone. However, as I think about God and Jesus, it becomes apparent to even someone like me that I, or we, are not the only ones that Jesus died for.

Jesus did and said only what his Father wanted him to do and say. So, what ever Jesus did is what God would do. Jesus said, to those around him, that if you see him you see the Father.

Now we understand that only Jesus could die in our place, which is the penalty for sin, because only Jesus had no sin of his own. If he had “any” sin then he would have had to die for his own sin and because death is permanent, then he could not have returned to die for us. Of course, we all know and understand this, but do you realize that Jesus also died in God’s place?

If Jesus did only what His father would do, then if it were possible for God to die, He would die for us, because that is what Jesus did!

It is not possible for God to die, because if He did then everything would cease to exist. We would be no more and I for one do not want to die; or be no more. God promised us eternal life and If He ceased to exist then He could not keep His promise and I, for one, am sure that He would not break His word.

God will not violate His own precepts and His second rule is “Do unto others what you would have them do to you” (Matthew 7:12 NIV). It is a hard thing to admit that we would want someone to die for us, but that is just what we ask Jesus to do and because he obeys God’s rules, he did for us, as he would want us to do for him: if that were possible.

Just as we need, someone to die for us, God also needed someone to die for Him!

Think about it and see what a wonderful God and Savior we have and understand why God honors His son so much.

5 Responses to WHO DID JESUS DIE FOR?

  1. Lisa says:

    Beautifully written. And I happen to believe it to be true. Not sure if we agree on all things, but over all, He died for all who are willing to humble themselves in His Truth (which is the absolute truth) and repent. (He died for all anyway.) Death has no hold on God or the Son… Nor His Spirit that dwells with in us. I know it is controversial, but I happen to believe that they are one. Not Gods but GOD.

    He IS a God of LOVE. Agape love. Justice. Truth. Peace. Doesn’t mean that all right now will be peaches and cream. But it does mean that we have a Higher Advocate, Comforter, Savior and Redeemer than even our human minds can truly comprehend. Here and when we are taken out of this current state.

    That which is born of the flesh is of flesh. That which is born of The Spirit is of the Spirit. Each discern things according to what nature they are of. Over time, He pulls us out and cleanses us. (Personal thing… and I believe that He is very personal and individual toward all people. Each He saves and changes according to His Wisdom. He knows us each personally.)

    Thanks for being a Voice! Thanks for doing what He has called you to do. ๐Ÿ™‚ Praise the Lord for His justice, mercy and grace…

  2. astudent says:

    Lisa,

    Thanks for the encouragement. I do not live for it, but a little is nice.

    Of course, we do not agree on everything and that is a blessing. I ask myself, if we agree on everything, what would be left to learn?

    We certainly agree on the important things.

    I also believe there is only one God and He had, or has only one son born directly from Him. The rest of us can trace our linage all the way back to clay: that is mud, earth, or as we usually say, when not speaking about our creation, just plain dirt. (The term fits me better than most)

    I cannot find anything in your comment that I can possibly disagree with. We do have a Creator that loves and cares for us. Lately I have realized that we do not have to wait for Heaven to enjoy our Father. I awake, in the morning and I know that He was awake all night, just watching over me! Even better, He is awake every night, watching over all of us!

  3. Lisa says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Agreed.
    From what I am noticing, most people think that heaven (or the eternal realm) happens after we die. Not so. It is happening as we live. Before we were even created. And will be there far after our earthen vessels go back to the dust. However the very breath that He breathed into us will not die. It is HIS. The soul of a person
    that He created (all) have yet to see the side that we are blind to. (how self centered and “being our own god” to think otherwise?)

    Some say they see it now. Some say that they have NDE’s that allow them to see it and come back with a story to tell. But over all, it doesn’t start after we die. It is happening now. Each step here is a mirror image of the “step” we take in the realm of the LORD.

    I have to ask my self each day if my heart and mind are growing in Him. Toward Him. If I am hearing Him… depends on how selfish my thoughts and motives are. Humbling is a great thing that is extremely hard to do on our own. Pride is difficult to notice…

    Have you ever “felt” something? Positive or negative. Sometimes peaceful and wonderful. Sometimes something that gives you the heebie jeebies? I have, and no doubt feel that war that He says is very real and there right now.

    Time is confined to the minds and physical lives of life. But God has no time. Maybe that is the cleansing time of the sin nature in the person? What path they covet and choose. Don’t know… just throwing thoughts out there.
    God bless ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. astudent says:

    Lisa,

    It is unusual that someone agrees with me so much and even more unusual when I agree with them!

    I use to think, as you do, that I had to wonder if I were growing closer to Him. Then I realized that it was a selfish thought, a thought about myself, so I turned to thanking Him for everything that He has done for me and all that live on this earth. I found that the more I believed God, the less I doubted myself! In other words, I filled my eyes with light and there is no room for darkness. (Luke 11:34-36)

    I agree that pride is difficult to notice, if you mean in ourselves. However it is very easy to see in others. Pride is silly when one realizes that God gave us everything and we are only using what He gave us. I didnโ€™t give myself life, or a mind, or even an opportunity to use the mind God gave me! No wonder He hates pride.

    Yes, I have felt something that is very difficult to express. The best way that I can describe it is a feeling of euphoria with a chill traveling up my spine. That is a positive feeling and the only one worth remembering. Any negative feeling is best not even thought about, so I am sure that I have had such thoughts, I can not describe them and will not even try to remember them in order to describe them.

    Thanks for the thoughts. Thoughts generate thoughts and those generate even more thoughts. Your thoughts are good and because they are, they generate more good thoughts. When your eyes are good, your whole body also is full of light and your eyes are good.

  5. Lisa says:

    Yes, pride in our own selves is the hardest part to see. Even through the wilderness walk I pray that He reveals to me my heart and heals me. I can only repent of what I know of.
    I can’t say that I can see pride easily in others. However there are times that it is obvious. I used to think that everyone always did the right thing, even if they messed up. It was the right thing at the time for them. Now I see how at war we are and things just look/feel… what ever you want to call it… different. It is a war. A violent war. Yet God IS GOD. And what is His He will not allow to be snatched out of His Hands. (PRAISE and THANK HIM!!) He knows what is best. His ways are higher than our ways. His thoughts higher than our thought. HE IS.
    The closer I allow God to get to me or reveal Himself to me by putting off my pride and selfish thinking, (this is how I see it now…) the more I see of the REAL life. All happening at the same time yet invisible to the physical eye. Hard to explain in words…

    What ever is good in me is of and from Him. Not of my own. I am holding on to the scripture that “He will finish the work that He started in me”. I am weak. Very weak. Yet I have no other hope than His Word. When I am weak He is strong. I cling to that hope and His Word. My life jacket. My cleansing fire. Sometimes it is painful to see our own state. But with our eyes on where Jesus said for them to be, we press in to Him and move forward. Ahead. Never looking back.
    Many blessings and I pray that you bless the Lord with your work that you are doing here. After all, you are here on this earth to reach those that are in your path for His glory. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

