WHAT GOD WANTS FROM ME.

Before I tell you the answer, I would like everyone to stand up. If you do not half of you will knee yourself in the chin from your knee jerk reaction to my statement. OK, are you ready?

GOD WANTS ME TO OBEY THE LAW.

Well, you cannot say that I didn’t warn you.

Before you post your comment, listen to why I said what I said.

First, we are told to be like our master. Mat 10:25 (NIV) “It is enough for the student to be like his teacher, and the servant like his master. If the head of the house has been called Beelzebub, how much more the members of his household!” My master is Jesus Christ and he perfectly obeyed the law. So, if I am to be like him, then I also must obey the law. Of course, I cannot, but that does not relieve me from trying.

Mat 22:36-40 (NIV) “Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?” Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

Tell me, which of these commandments; because I am a Christian, am I released from? Which of these commandments do I want to be released from? Do you want to be released from either one of them?

If one obeys just these two commandments, he will obey all of the law.

I am a slave of God. I want to be the slave of God. I am a Bond Servant. Not one that “must” be a servant, but one that “wants” to be.

I am released from the penalty of the law, but I am not released from the law, nor do I want to be.

16 Responses to WHAT GOD WANTS FROM ME.

  1. liferestored says:

    The reason Jesus died and rose again was to fufill the law, no?. He fufilled the law. You can keep trying to “obey” the law all you want; but you will be like the pharasee who ended up saying Jesus was possesed by Beelzebub. You see, this type of thinking actually stops spiritual growth and faith because you will constantly be in a state of guilt – repentance – guilt – repentance…The enemy wins battles in your walk because you give him your mind. IS THE LAW DEAD? YES, scripture tells us it is. There is NO life in the LAW. You cannot BE like God, or even follow the LAW a little bit. You are not ritchous in yourself. Dont feel bad, Lucifer, the most beutiful angel God created couldnt do it either. If you want to be more like God, it is God who will make those changes in you….NOT YOU doing it to achieve the LAW. He gave us the Holy Spirit to write the law on our hearts. We are prompted and grow spiritually through the Spirit. Yes, love your God with all your heart, mind and soul. This will change you. This will prompt ritchous living because we love our saviour and through our saviour we have the Holy Spirit. Not because we try so hard to achieve the law. Moses, Abraham, Noah, Elija etc etc could not achieve the law. Why? Because God needed to show the world/man after the fall of Adam, God removed his spirit from them and they became spiritually dead. We are spiritually dead unless we believe what God did for us through Jesus Christ and recieve the Spirit of eternal life and are in harmony with with Him again. I hope you give up on this notion of “trying to achieve the law” and instead just enter into what God has done for you, is doing for you, loving your neighbor as your self….(serving the ones God has put in your life) and you will be amazed how God changes you.

  2. astudent says:

    liferestored,

    I hope you were sitting down when you read my post.

    That is exactly the over response that I expected from many Christians.

    Am I supposed to just sit on my rear and wait for God to change me? That would remove any and all responsibility for my actions from me. Wouldn’t it?

    I really do not see what you are so excited about! I believe you would answer my questions the same way I did. I want to obey both of the royal laws: don’t you? And I said that I can not, but I still want too. Do you have different answers? Don’t you want to love God with all of your heart, soul, mind, and strength? Are you waiting until God “makes” you? What do you think that God would think of someone that did nothing, but wait?

    If you think that the law is bad, then read Romans Chapter 7 and pay attention to verse 12. (NIV) “So then, the law is holy, and the commandment is holy, righteous and good.”

    Of course, I can follow the law a little bit. You say, “I hope you give up on this notion of “trying to achieve the law” and instead just enter into what God has done for you, is doing for you, loving your neighbor as your self….(serving the ones God has put in your life) and you will be amazed how God changes you.” But God doesn’t “make” me do anything. That is not His way. I must try to love my neighbor, not depend on God to make me. Every time I do something for someone that needs it, I am following the law a little bit.

    Don’t you understand why Jesus washed the feet of the Disciples? He said, “A person who has had a bath needs only to wash his feet”. Don’t you see that the person is responsible for cleaning as much of his or her body that they can? I hope that you understand that the example is physical, but the lesson is spiritual. We certainly are responsible for doing everything that we can to be and to stay clean.

    By the way, what is righteous living if it is not loving the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind; and loving your neighbor as yourself?

    By the way, by the way, if I gave my mind to the enemy do you think that he would try to convince me to love the Lord my God with all my heart and with all my soul and with all my strength and with all my mind; and love my neighbor as myself. I don’t think so!

  3. liferestored says:

    Because when it is God that changes through the Spirit, it is real and lasting. When it is us that strives to be “Holy” on our own; it is superficial and very often judgmental of other believers (our brothers and sisters) and never lasts; causing doubt, confusion and hypocracy.

  4. liferestored says:

    I recomend getting into Acts chap 1-15 as the early hebrew church struggled with maintaing the mosiac law with the Gentiles who believed in Jesus. Here is a teaching by Aaron Bugen on Hebrews chapt 2 that I think sums up alot our discusion. I hope it blesses you.

    http://www.newcovenantinstitute.net/living_god_ministries/radio_archive/hebrews.htm

  5. astudent says:

    liferestored,

    First, I am not striving to be holy on my own. I have the Holy Spirit to teach me and guide me and He uses the Bible to tell me what God wants of me. He only uses men to supply the questions, so I do not study what men say, because all men (including myself) are flawed.

    I have heard your theology many times and it took years before the Spirit straightened me out. I would have been better off not to have heard it in the first place.

    Look what God says about us keeping the law, (James 2:8 NIV) “If you really keep the royal law found in Scripture, “Love your neighbor as yourself,” you are doing right.”

    I do not disagree with you when you say God will change me. However, I am responsible for my actions and therefore I must try to keep “the royal law found in Scripture”.

    The royal law is not the law of the Pharisees. They added to God’s law and perverted it. All of the law comes from only two commandments. They took the two and created a network of power for themselves.

    How could God change me if I make no effort to change?

    James 2:12 (NIV), “Speak and act as those who are going to be judged by the law that gives freedom”.
    James 2:14 (NIV) What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him?
    James 2:17 (NIV) In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.
    James 2:24 (NIV) You see that a person is justified by what he does and not by faith alone.
    James 2:26 (NIV) As the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without deeds is dead.

    All of these deeds that are spoken of are measured with and by the second Royal Law. If I do such deeds, and I am required too do so in order to please my Father, I am obeying the law.

    Romans 2:6&7 (NIV) God “will give to each person according to what he has done.” To those who by persistence in doing good seek glory, honor and immortality, he will give eternal life.

    The law that gives freedom is “both” royal laws, not just the first one. It is true that none of us can keep the law, but that does not mean that it is not the law that gives freedom. Jesus kept the law and therefore he was free to die for our sins.

    As I understand our exchange of comments, you are correct; God has changed me, from someone that did not care if I obeyed the law, to someone that does care.

    Why do you try to change me? I am trying to please my Father. What would you have to gain by changing my actions?

  6. liferestored says:

    Of course I would not wish for you to stop pleasing our God…You say:

    “God has changed me, from someone that did not care if I obeyed the law, to someone that does care”.

    This is exactly my point. God changed you. It had nothing to do with your attempts at being Holy. Never did and never will. So I guese I do not understand why you would try and encourage others to do what you yourself say you didnt do.

    What is the harm? Well, I believe “your theology” as I have understood from our other converstations is one of legalism. I think the problem with legalism is it stops christians from growing spiritually. I believe the enemy uses legalism to actually harm the kingdom of God due to the judgment and discouragment it breeds; not to mention being completly hypocritical.

    So….you often like to call a spade a spade; Let me do so now. I think many of your posts decieve young believers in Jesus.. I say young belivers because most who have grown in Christ past the point of legalism will never go back. The closer we are to God the more he reveals to us that its is all about his Grace and love for an undeserving people..and that my brother changes us even more than the law could ever do.

  7. astudent says:

    liferestored,

    Well, because it seems that I have to defend my understanding (And I welcome the challenge), Let me try in two ways. Maybe three.

    You say, “This is exactly my point. God changed you. It had nothing to do with your attempts at being Holy. Never did and never will.”, but of course it did and it will for any one that tries it. You know that no one can keep the law. The law was given so that we can know it is not possible. I tried and because of the law, I became convinced that I could not. It certainly was my “attempts” at being holy that changed me. God didn’t stop me from trying, nor did he make it possible for me to succeed. I do encourage others to try it. If they do, they will understand that they need a Savior.

    Of course my theology is legalism. Just because God removed the penalty for breaking the law does, in no way, remove the responsibility of attempting it. Don’t you understand that our Father keeps the law? We are told to train ourselves to be godly. How could we train ourselves to be godly without training ourselves to obey the law?

    We are commanded to “Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength” (Deut 6:5 NIV), and Jesus repeats it in the New Testament. Don’t you understand that He wants us to do the same to Him that He does for us? God proved His love for us when Jesus died on the cross.

    God also obeys the second royal command. He always does to others, as He would have them do to Him. Even sending unbelievers to Hell is consistent with obeying that rule. No one wants someone else demanding that they obey and God makes no such demand. God will only do to them, as they wanted. They do not want to live with God and He will grant that wish.

    Perhaps you are saying something that I am not hearing. We both agree that God changes us; however, it seems to me that you are saying that we have no responsibility in the matter. I, no, not I, but Scripture says that we do.

    1Tim 4:7 (NIV) “Have nothing to do with godless myths and old wives’ tales; rather, TRAIN YOURSELF TO BE GODLY.”

    1Tim 4:16 (NIV) “Watch your life and doctrine closely. Persevere in them, because if you do, you will save both yourself and your hearers.”
    This you must do, not depending on God to make you.

    2Peter 3:11(NIV) “Since everything will be destroyed in this way, what kind of people ought you to be? You ought to live holy and godly lives”
    One lives a holy and godly life by obeying the law.

    2Peter 3:14(NIV) “So then, dear friends, since you are looking forward to this, make every effort to be found spotless, blameless and at peace with him.”

    The law has not been changed in any way. Mat 5:18(NIV) “I tell you the truth, until heaven and earth disappear, not the smallest letter, not the least stroke of a pen, will by any means disappear from the Law until everything is accomplished.”

    Do you want to be called great in the kingdom of heaven? Mat 5:19(NIV) Anyone who breaks one of the least of these commandments and teaches others to do the same will be called least in the kingdom of heaven, but whoever practices and teaches these commands will be called great in the kingdom of heaven.

    Why teach against the law? The law is good and perfect and because it is, we should strive to comply with it and teach others the same.

    You say, “this type of thinking actually stops spiritual growth and faith because you will constantly be in a state of guilt – repentance – guilt – repentance…The enemy wins battles in your walk because you give him your mind.”

    If you give the enemy your mind, would he teach you to obey the law, or disobey it?

    I am always in a state of guilt-repentance-guilt. I have not been made perfect. I am still in this body and will be in those states until I leave this earth. That is not to say God will not save me. Personally, I would rather be called great in the kingdom of heaven for practicing and teaching the law, than just to be saved.

    I feel bad when I break God’s law and I should. If I stick my hand on a hot stove, I will be burned. God made me that way, in order to keep me from harming myself. That is a physical law. God made a spiritual law for the same reason: to keep me from harming myself spiritually. Why would I want to harm myself and why would I not want to, at least explain that to others?

  8. liferestored says:

    Ok, so let me get this straight. You know you cannot follow the law and you know the point of the law is to teach us we cannot be holy with out the Spirit….but you still want to live under the law of Moses!! Galations 3:11; Clearly no one who relies on the law is justified before God, because “the righteous will live by faith.”
    You know the law does not save. So if you are strickly speaking to our brothers and sisters about holy living; then i say to you – you would be better off praying and encouraging them instead of preaching the law. For they allready have the law on their hearts and the Spirit molds them to do Gods will in joy and peace; not because of the written law on a tablet. Romans 3:21; But now apart from the law the righteousness of God has been made known, to which the Law and the Prophets testify. Paul was explaining to the Roman church that richousness of God will now come through Jesus Christ and not the law.
    I feel we are just going in circles again (like we have in the past) I do enjoy our sparring though!! Love you brother. God speed. (And I am not just saying that because the law demands it)!! ha. couldnt resist the last part.

  9. astudent says:

    liferestored,

    Well, we almost agree. The problem is that you do not seem to grasp just exactly what I mean. It is my fault, because I am not explaining it well enough.

    I have said this before but have you really thought about it? Which one of the royal laws do you think that we shouldn’t bother to obey? Should we not, ‘Love the LORD our God with all our heart and with all our soul and with all our strength? Or, is it that we should not ‘Love our neighbor as our self’?

    If your answer is neither then you also want to live under the law. You have just not thought it out. Ha, Ha

    We agree that the law cannot justify anyone. Let’s compare God’s law to the system of law that this country has. It only exists to bring to justice and punish the offender: not to justify the innocent. If you perfectly obey the law of the land, you will still not be justified, but because you do not steal and murder others will not be harmed.

    God’s law is the same. It is not all about me. As a Christian, I am supposed to live my life as though it is all about others. If I obey God’s law, others will not suffer, so in order to protect others I want to obey God’s law.

    You see that the law is good for me and good for others. It is even good for God, because if I obey the law it will reflect on God. I mean my example will show others that God’s way is right.

    I am encouraging my brothers and sisters to do what our Father wants us to do. That is to follow the law of Christ.

    Let me just list what I believe about the law and you tell me which part is wrong.
    One, the law condemns us, because we cannot perfectly obey it.
    Two, the law is good. If it could be followed, there would be world peace.
    Three, Jesus did only what the Father wanted him to do; he had no sin, because he perfectly obeyed the law. If God wanted Jesus to obey the law and we should emulate Christ, then we should also obey the law.
    Four, the law is the standard for determining what is right and what is not. I don’t mean the Ten Commandments, but the two royal laws. If we do not hide those commandments in our heart, we cannot determine what is right and what is wrong.

    I cannot understand why anyone who claims to be a child of God would not want to obey the law. Just because it is said that it is unnecessary for salvation doesn’t mean that I should not consider it and when I do consider it, I want to obey it! It is for others more than it is for me.

    Consider Gal 6:1(NIV) Brothers, if someone is caught in a sin, you who are spiritual should restore him gently. But watch yourself, or you also may be tempted.

    If that brother obeyed the law, he would not be caught in a sin. Isn’t it better to teach brothers and sisters to obey the law, so they will not be caught: instead of trying to restore them after the fact?

    By the way, Scripture just said that we should restore the sinner. It didn’t say God would.

    I also like and even appreciate your efforts to convince me your view is right. It is a pleasure to be able to trade comments with someone that genuinely believes his understanding. (Even if he is wrong) (Woops, that was against the law: wasn’t it.)

  10. liferestored says:

    Ha! Very good. I agree with your last post. Of course I desire to obey the law. It is on my heart. As on yours. Good discussion. Thank you

  11. Ummmm…didn’t Jesus actually say, I came not to abolish the law but to fullfill it. For not one jot or tittle of the law shall be removed until the kingdom of heaven comes to pass?

    Seems like life, you are wrong. And let me know astudent when you start stoning people so I can call the cops.

  12. Liferestored says:

    No. You are wrong monkey boy. Yes Jesus said he came to “fulfill the law”. And he did. My point exactly. What exactly are you asking or saying? It’s easy to just throw a comment out there and bail without really saying what you mean. What do you mean? I am sencerly curious.

  13. astudent says:

    liferestored,

    You cannot explain anything to someone that refuses to understand.

    Though you certainly welcome to try, you should understand that you are talking to a monkey. Excuse me, I mean a stewpidmonkey.

    Ha, what would a monkey do with a phone?

  14. Liferestored says:

    Yes. Astudent I know your right. I still get caught up at times. It challenges my lack of patience. I really appreciate your posts and have benefited greatly from them. Have a great new year my brother.

  15. astudent says:

    kmlaw,

    You have indeed studied the law and I also agree with you.

    Thanks for your thoughts and understanding.

    We also live among sin. Unlike Israel we have no country to retreat to. I am afraid that we too no longer call many things sin that we should.

    Thank God for a Savior, because we cannot conquer sin. But we must keep trying. Repentance is always what our Father wants.

    1Co 13:13 (NIV) And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

    Love is fulfillment of the law, but then you knew that.

Leave a Reply

