IS THE KNOWEDGE OF GOOD AND EVIL NECESSARY?

That seems like a silly question; doesn’t it?

When I thought about the first three chapters of Genesis I had to wonder why God would curse someone for wanting the knowledge of good and evil! After all, if I didn’t know what was right and what was wrong, then how could I do right? I might be doing wrong and not know it!

The example of Adam and Eve only served to confuse me further. They were naked and knew no shame! And yet God did not even tell them! He didn’t curse them until they ate the fruit from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil and then knew the difference between good and evil.

I saw that they were not condemned for their sin, because they didn’t understand and yet I search constantly for understanding and believe it is better than not understanding!

At times it seemed like I was growing farther from God by wanting to know the difference of good and evil even better!

That is, when I thought about the first three chapters of Genesis, but just a few words of the second chapter of Proverbs refute that concept. So I was confused. It seemed as though I had to return to the condition of Adam and Eve before they ate from the tree and yet that was impossible for me. I had always known the difference between good and evil. Even before I began to think about God and read His word; I knew.

Now, I know that everyone’s mind is jumping to Jesus and you are saying to yourself that Jesus died for our sins and of course that is correct. However, we are told not to continue to sin, so shouldn’t we learn even more about good and evil, so that we will not sin?

That seemed like an oxymoron to me and I knew there are no contradictory terms in Scripture, so I knew that I had more to learn about this.

Lately God has made the two most important commandments and therefore all of the law clear to me. Now I realize that I do not have to commit to memory the Ten Commandments, because if I obey the second greatest commandment, I will automatically obey the law; in all circumstances. For example, I will not kill anyone, because I do not want anyone to kill me. It is a guide line for how I should treat anyone; in all circumstances: even in those that are not specifically listed. Learning more rules, about the basic rule, only serves to confuse us.

Let me give you an example. If I tell someone about God and Jesus Christ and they do not want to hear it, and yet I continue to tell them, then I am not obeying the second greatest commandment. If I did not want to hear someone tell me about their god and they continued I would be offended and they would be violating the law, just as I would, under the same circumstances.

I know that I am right, because God does not force anyone to listen about Him or Jesus. The law, the second of the greatest commandments, is the way of God and it is right.

If we tell our neighbor that they are doing something wrong, they will just get mad at us and attempt to justify their actions. It only serves to vindicate their actions in their own minds

All of this has led me to the understanding that it is not necessary to know good and evil! If I obey the second greatest commandment I will fulfill the law and therefore I will not sin. Actually, knowing the difference between good and evil only tempts me to judge others!

What others do is none of my business. I do not know their circumstances, so I cannot judge whether they are doing right or wrong. I might do the same as them, under the same circumstances.

Anyway, at the risk of repeating myself, it is only necessary to obey the greatest commandments: it is not necessary to understand good and evil.

Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the first and greatest commandment. (Mat 22:37&28) (Because that is how He loves us.)

And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.” (Even if your neighbor is not doing right at the time, because God loves that neighbor and will not condemn him for what he has, or is, doing, until the proper time.) Perhaps that neighbor will not be condemned, just as we will not be condemned!

Isn’t our Father the most wonderful being in the whole universe? His ways are so basic and simple that it is not possible to understand them if He does not explain them to us.

5 Responses to IS THE KNOWEDGE OF GOOD AND EVIL NECESSARY?

  1. Robert Hagedorn says:

    The tree? Yes, it is very confusing. Google First Scandal. When you get there, go to the top of the page and click on “Can you explain…” Please note: this website you reach will be deleted on November 1, 2012.

  2. liferestored says:

    I have often contemplated this exact thing. I have come to some organization of my thoughts about this subject. First I must say I think this subject (though it seems at first as simple and at the surface) is indeed an extreemly deep spiritual understanding of our relationship with God and his grace, the fall of man and redemtion. In short, I think its awsome you tackeled this and are comming to a very simular conclusion as I have.

    Let me ask you what you think about this: Before the fall of Adam and Eve there was no sin held against them. Its not that they acted any different after the fall; its just that they gained the “knowlage of right and wrong”. So before the fall, everything was permitted and was not concidered a sin against God. He held nothing against them….He only required obediance in NOT eating of the tree of the knowlage…

    So I think you are absolutly delving into the heart of the matter when you explain how to be saved is to become as Adam before the fall. Adam had the Holy Spirit before the fall. After, he did not. We are indeed Adam before the fall. Jesus Christ restored the broken relationship to God lost that day in the garden. We are sealed with his spirit again…became spiritually alive after being dead.

    When God told Adam he would surely die if he ate of the forbidden tree, we now know it was not that he was going to drop dead on the ground…what Adam and Eve did not understand is it was the spritual death they would suffer as the Holy Spirit would depart from them, there eyes would be opened to sin and they (and every offspring after must account for the sin they now have been revealed as there eyes were opened (as they knew they were naked).

    So now comes us…We travel the opposite path. Adam started with life and ended with death. We begin with death and are restored to life. There fore we are truly blamless (as Adam before the fall). I do believe this. Unfortunaly we still struggle with the “knowlage” of our sin because we dont get our minds erased with our new life and being born with the knowlage of good and evil. I believe the enemy uses our knowlage as his greatest weapon against us. He reminds us we are not worthy, that we are like dogs returning to our own vomit. He often wins the battle in our minds. When we grasp what you have shared in your last post, it takes the battleground back from the enemy and even our own guilt, and struggles against sin.

    This is why I have come to the conclusion, it is not “sin” that sends someone to the second death, as I believe Christ defeated this on the cross for the world. It is the rejeciton of having life restored {the Holy Spirit} as Adam had before the fall and being IN FULL KNOWLAGE of our sin. Now I also believe it takes more than just saying your a believer in Christ to be saved. I think there are many who claim to be believers who have not been restored with the Holy Spirit. That is why Paul explained that even the demons believe. As we have discussed before, the Spirit leads us to Holy living…which i agree can be fullfilled by keeping the two greatest commandments. It is imposible to live those two commandments without the Holy Spirit.

    So my brother. We can boldy proclaim our new life in Jesus and our salvation with the power of the new Spirit which has brought us to the place Adam was before the fall.

  3. astudent says:

    liferestored,

    I thought that I had said this pretty clear, but I think you have said it even better.

    We must have the same teacher!

    Well, I couldn’t help but say that. Actually, I am sure that we have the same teacher.

  4. astudent says:

    Robert Hagedorn,

    I didn’t gain much from your advice and I kind of forgot to reply.

    I put it in the comments pending file and thought no more about it.

    I apologize for the delay.

    I approved the comment, because I know your heart.

    When you say what you believe in a short comment, it is much easer to understand. Well, it is for me, but then I am no mental heavyweight.

  5. liferestored says:

    Robert, are you questioning God or scripture? Or God and scripture? You ask “why”?? not sure who you are questioning.

Leave a Reply

