HELL IS NOTHING

This is basically an open letter to all my atheist friends. I just want to put your mind at ease. Let me say it a bit more accurately HELL IS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING.

Notice that I did not say that there is no Hell, only that Hell is nothing. Well, you shouldn’t have any fear of nothing; should you?

Suppose, just for arguments sake, there is a God. That is not to say that there is, only that there could be.

If there is a God, then one could assume that He has complete control, because if He did not, or does not, then He cannot be God. I don’t know if you can grasp this or not, but it seems to me that in order to have complete control, He would have had to make everything. I have control over many things, but I do not have complete control over anything, not even the things that I make, because I did not make the materials from which I make things. Perhaps you are different from me. Have you ever created something from nothing? If you think deeply, you must admit that you did not create yourself, so it would be absolutely impossible for you to create something from nothing because you exist and you did not create yourself.

Now, if that God was absolutely fair and just, and He would have to be, because not to be would mean that He was not perfect and therefore could not be God. In order to be God one must be perfect. Any flaw would be proof that being was not, is not, God.

Sorry if I am boring you with all of this God talk, but the idea of Hell comes from God talk, so one must understand, at least a little God before one can understand Hell.

The Bible seems to say that Hell is a place where no one would want to go, but think about it. The atheist will no longer be bothered by any God talk! As a matter of fact, those who are thrown into Hell are thrown out of Heaven and God will not even think about them ever again.

Because the wicked did not care about the maker of all things, not even enough to recognize the existence of their maker, God will respond in kind. That is fair: isn’t it?

Because you do not recognize Him and do not want Him to rule over you, He will grant your desire. God lives by His own laws and the second most important law is ‘do to others, as you would have them do to you’. God does not want to live with you just as much as you do not want to live with Him. Therefore, He will honor your wishes and cast you out of His presence. That is fair, isn’t it?

Because God would not want anyone to kill Him, He will not kill anyone. Your life is permanent, not your physical life, but you will always be conscious. You will always know who you are and where you are.

Now, everything that you have enjoyed on this earth really belongs to God and because you do not want anything to do with God, you will not be able to enjoy anything that is His.

God has given you a body to enjoy everything that belongs to Him, so you will no longer have a body, because you do not want anything from Him. You will no longer hear anything, taste anything, smell anything, or feel anything. That is what you wanted: to be rid of God and all that He is and does: isn’t it?

If you are using the mind that, God gave you, you might have noticed that I said you would feel no pain and yet Scripture says you will be thrown into the lake of fire! You are also thinking that Scripture says that you will be tormented forever and you are thinking that a God of love would not, or could not torture anyone forever and you are correct. The torment that you will suffer will come from your own mind. Not physical pain, after all you have no body, or nerves to feel physical pain. You could have had everything, but because you did not appreciate anything, you have NOTHING (Hell) and you will have it forever.

So really, you have nothing to fear from Hell, unless of course, you are wise enough to fear nothing!

35 Responses to HELL IS NOTHING

  1. criticofchristianity says:

    Meh, I’d rather end up in nothing than be worshipping the cruel and unfair God of the Bible for eternity.

  2. astudent says:

    criticofchristianity,

    What would cause you to think that the God of the universe is cruel and unfair?

  3. “What would cause you to think that the God of the universe is cruel and unfair?”

    He plays favorites. In the Bible he commits genocide. He allows horrible things to happen for no discernible reason because, if he exists, he has the power to prevent them. But he doesn’t.

    And his followers attempt to use fear to convince others to believe.

    Not the kind of being I would worship.

  4. keithnoback says:

    I’m frequently unconscious already, and sometimes, even when I’m awake, I don’t know who I am or where I am. Ha! Beat the system again. Bring the Hell, baby!

  5. “Now, if that God was absolutely fair and just, and He would have to be, because not to be would mean that He was not perfect and therefore could not be God. In order to be God one must be perfect. Any flaw would be proof that being was not, is not, God.”

    God created a world where bad things happen to good people and good things happen to bad people. This is a flaw. Therefore, according to your logic “God” is not God; thus, there is no God. That was easy. 🙂

  6. astudent says:

    NotAScientest,

    I suppose that you could say that God plays favorites. He favors those that favor Him. Don’t you also play favorites? If God is wrong then aren’t you wrong also? Or perhaps you think it is only wrong if God does.

    He does permit horrible things to happen. In this world, man has the power to sin. If God stopped someone from sinning then they could say that God was controlling them and therefore it was not a fair test, so He does not stop them. It is true that the innocent suffer because of the sin of men, but this worldly existence is short compared to eternity.

    Actually, it is God that uses fear to attempt to convince others to follow Him. He would not be using everything in His power to convince the lost, if He didn’t.

    You would want to worship Him, if you knew Him.

  7. astudent says:

    keithnoback,

    Unconscious people do not comment.

    Those in Hell will not be unconscious, nor will they have the ability to make themselves unconscious.

    You cannot beat God’s system.

    Other than that, I agree with your comment.

  8. astudent says:

    The Great Antagonizer,

    You are confused.

    There are no good people. Everyone sins (Romans 3:23) so everyone deserves Hell.

    The flaw is in man, not God.

  9. “He favors those that favor Him. Don’t you also play favorites?”

    So your god is as petty as the average human? Interesting.

    “In this world, man has the power to sin. ”

    And all those sinning people caused horrible things like tsunamis and earthquakes, did they?

    “You would want to worship Him, if you knew Him.”

    If he existed, and was anywhere near to how you describe him, no I wouldn’t.

  10. astudent says:

    NotAScientest,

    You could not have read my description of God. God is Love (1 John 4:8). There are not enough words to describe the love of God.

    Everyone must die a physical death. What makes you think that a, so-called natural disaster, is any worse than any other way to die?

    You will also die, just as I will, but my death will lead to paradise. Yours could also: if you change and accept the fact that there is a God and He created a way for you to escape Hell.

    You are free to worship Him or not to worship Him. Your choice.

  11. “You could not have read my description of God. God is Love (1 John 4:8). There are not enough words to describe the love of God.”

    No. Love is love. God, as you have described him, is a being who plays favorites and allows horrible things to happen to otherwise innocent people.

    “What makes you think that a, so-called natural disaster, is any worse than any other way to die? ”

    I never said it was worse.

    I will say, however, that if I had the power to prevent a natural disaster, or to keep it from harming people, I would use it.

    The fact that, if your god exists, he doesn’t use that power, makes him of questionable morality.

    “Yours could also:”

    I see zero good evidence to back this extraordinary claim up.

  12. astudent says:

    NotAScientest,

    1John 4:8 (NIV) Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love.

    You do not know God, because you do not love God. These are not just my words, but God’s Words.

    Romans 3:23 (NIV) “for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God”. No one is innocent.

    You implied, at least to me, that tsunamis and earthquakes were terrible disasters and if you do not understand God and His plan, it certainly looks that way. However, no innocent people were harmed, as there are no innocent people. The bright spot is that those with a rational mind might consider that they too must face death and eternity.

    In order to see evidence one must look for it. Scripture has spoken of Hell for thousands of years. Of course, you see no evidence of my claim. You are only looking for some way to refute the claim, not really examining it.

  13. “No one is innocent.”

    I’m sorry you feel that way. I’ll go let all the surviving parents of babies who have died in natural disasters know that. I’m sure they’ll understand.

    “You are only looking for some way to refute the claim, not really examining it.”

    Sure I am. You have a book that says Heaven and Hell exist.

    Where’s the evidence?

  14. keithnoback says:

    Now wait a minute, the me that I know (and I think i have a pretty good idea what I am even if my roles in life are sometimes muddled) needs to sleep sometimes, that’s a defining part of me. I’m also pretty good at daydreaming and reminiscing. Are you saying that god’s going to change me so that I no longer have those qualities and must pay attention to the Nothing? Or is there a version of my self of which I’m not aware who is secretly responsible for me ignoring god, and is, by nature, prepared to properly appreciate the Nothing? Besides that: my kids make bad decisions every day. I can recognize that the choice my kid makes to use flexible plywood for his bike ramp is a bad one because I am older and wiser (and,let’s face it, I tried it myself when I was eight). I might let him try a short jump with that ramp, but I’m not going to let him do one that’s going to get him hurt. How much older and wiser is god supposed to be than I am? If I’m made in his image, I should at least expect him to act as well as I would toward his children, whatever other, omniscient, omnipotent being issues he has on his plate. Unless he is unable. Or he really isn’t like me and I like him after all, in which case, how can I really know what he might do? In either of the latter cases, then, my actions toward him are irrelevant. I’m willing to take the chance on case #1, let’s call it 1/Pascal’s wager.

  15. astudent says:

    NotAScientest,

    First, babies are exempt. They have not sinned against God. God being perfectly fair would not condemn a baby to Hell.

    You seem to think that because someone has not done anything against you that they are innocent, but you are not God. Any baby that reaches adulthood will sin against God, so it is better for the baby to die before that happens.

    You are correct, I have a Book that says Heaven, and Hell exists. It is the oldest book on the face of the earth. It even speaks of God before He made everything. Therefore, I have evidence. That is not something that I made up.

    Where is your evidence that God and Hell does not exist?

  16. “They have not sinned against God.”

    What age is it okay for them to be killed and sent to hell?

    “so it is better for the baby to die before that happens.”

    So you have the same opinion as a woman who drowned her kids in the bathtub. Not the best company to share.

    “Therefore, I have evidence.”

    No. You have an old book that makes a claim. It doesn’t matter if it’s old. It matters if it can back up the claims it makes. And it fails.

    “Where is your evidence that God and Hell does not exist?”

    This is the question of one who doesn’t understand the burden of proof.

  17. astudent says:

    keithnoback,

    There will be no sleeping in Heaven. God’s children will not tire (Isa 5:27). Why miss any part of paradise? There also will be no night or darkness (Rev 22:5).

    Would it be paradise if you were made to do something? If you wanted to do something and someone tried to stop you, would it be paradise?

    Your example of the ramp is flawed, because you cannot be sure your child will hurt himself. Just watch some of the jumps that motorcycle riders do, and get away with! What would you have done if your father tried to stop you from attempting to jump your bike? We both know that you would have as soon as your father was gone. Well, I would have anyway. I use to have the responsibility of being a father and I found that if I let my son hurt himself when the damage was probably not going to be very bad, that he did not attempt the dangerous things that we sometimes do.

    How much older and wiser is God than you?!!!! He existed before He even made time. How much wiser? He knows everything that has happened, or will happen. Surly, you jest.

    Look in the mirror and you will see an image of yourself. How much is that image like you? Just because you are made in God’s image might not mean much.

    You can be sure that if you do not like Him, then He does not like you. All of ‘what He might do’ is written in the Bible. Well, let me rephrase that all of what He “will” do is written in the Bible.

    You are indeed taking Pascal’s wager, “We run carelessly to the precipice, after we have put some thing before us to prevent us seeing it.” Move the something and see the precipice (Bottomless pit (KJV).

  18. astudent says:

    NotAScientist,

    When they are old enough to know better and know what they are doing. You are old enough.

    Christians are called to live by the law of God. We cannot kill anyone, because we do not want anyone to kill us. Therefore, we do not drown babies, as those who do not know God do. You have evidence that evil people sin, not that God does.

    The end has yet to come, so how can you make the claim that Scripture fails?

    What I do not understand is why you want me to prove something and you do not hold yourself to the same standards. Well, perhaps I do understand It is because you cannot prove, there is no God.

  19. “What I do not understand is why you want me to prove something and you do not hold yourself to the same standards.”

    Of course I do. But I’m not the one making an extraordinary claim. You are. I’m just saying you failed to meet your burden of proof. And continue to fail.

  20. astudent says:

    NotAScientist,

    No, you are making the extraordinary claim that there is no God or Hell, and you fail to meet any burden of proof.

    Evidence is burden of proof and I cited the Bible. All you have done is demand proof that you will accept as perfect. Who doesn’t understand burden of proof, you or me?

    That seems to be the biggest problem of atheism, the refusal to examine the evidence with an unbiased attitude.

    Before you accuse me of the same, I was once an atheist, so don’t bother.

  21. “you are making the extraordinary claim that there is no God or Hell”

    No I’m not. I’m saying I don’t believe your claim. I make no claims of my own.

    “and I cited the Bible.”

    And an anecdote, written or spoken, isn’t sufficient evidence by itself to fulfill the burden of proof for extraordinary claims.

    If it were, we’d believe that people are actually abducted by aliens. And they have better anecdotal evidence than your bible does.

    “Who doesn’t understand burden of proof, you or me?”

    You.

  22. astudent says:

    NotAScientist,

    Yes, you are. By claiming that I am wrong, you are claiming there is no God or Hell by default. You may be trying to hide your claim, but your claim is obvious.

    I cited the Bible and that is 100% more evidence than you have presented. Just because you do not want to accept it, does not invalidate it.

    How about dark energy and dark matter. Can you explain it as anything other than God?

    Well, that is now 300% more evidence.

    I believe that we both understand the burden of proof.

  23. “By claiming that I am wrong,”

    I am not claiming you are wrong. I am using very precise language. I am stating, rightly, that you have not met your burden of proof. Unless or until you do, I will not believe your claim.

    Not believing your claim does not constitute a claim of my own.

    “I cited the Bible and that is 100% more evidence than you have presented.”

    By this logic (if I may stretch the term), then Harry Potter and the Philosopher Stone is 100% more evidence than I have towards Harry Potter existing.

    “Can you explain it as anything other than God?”

    This is the logical fallacy called the ‘argument from ignorance’. The answer is unknown, and since you can’t think of anything else, god must have done it.

    “Well, that is now 300% more evidence.”

    You might need to take some math classes.

    “I believe that we both understand the burden of proof.”

    I don’t. I believe I understand it, and you either don’t or are willfully trying to twist it. Possibly due to frustration at not being able to meet it.

  24. astudent says:

    NotAScientist,

    Of course, you are claiming that I am wrong.

    I am claiming that there is a God and Hell and you are claiming that I am wrong. By claiming that I am wrong, you are claiming that is no God or Hell. Then you say prove it and I merely returned the burden of proof.

    If you would care to admit it, there is no burden of proof (evidence) that you would accept.

    If a real scientist makes the claim that another is wrong, they explain why. Ignoring the evidence is not scientific. Only a child just keeps saying ‘prove it’. But then you do not claim to be a scientist. What is flawed about the Bible (my evidence)?

    You are being as precise as a lawyer. What is the definition of is.You are not saying that I am wrong. You are just saying that I am wrong!

    You can’t think of anything, but God to explain dark matter or dark energy. If you cannot think of anything else then God didn’t do it (argument from ignorance).

    By the way, taking each piece of evidence by itself there is 300% more evidence.
    Just so you understand simple math. The Bible by itself 100% – Dark matter by itself 100% – Dark Energy by itself 100% – the total 300%. That is 1+1+1=3 that wasn’t so hard, was it. Or was it?

  25. “Of course, you are claiming that I am wrong. ”

    If you’re going to continually misrepresent my position (or misunderstand it), we may have to end this back and forth.

    “If you would care to admit it, there is no burden of proof (evidence) that you would accept. ”

    Incorrect. I merely state that anecdotes are not sufficient for supernatural claims. Are you frustrated because anecdotes are all you have?

    “If a real scientist makes the claim that another is wrong, they explain why.”

    One: I’m not a scientist. Two: My position is that I don’t believe you. If you insist on being dishonest and saying I hold a position I do not, you have only yourself to answer to.

    “You are not saying that I am wrong. You are just saying that I am wrong!”

    No. I’m saying I don’t believe you, and have not been given a good reason to do so.

    “You can’t think of anything, but God to explain dark matter or dark energy.”

    No. I am not a scientist, so don’t know what dark matter or dark energy is. “God” or “magic man done it” are not compelling or convincing explanations, nor is there any evidence which backs up those claims.

    “that wasn’t so hard, was it. Or was it?”

    Oh, I understand the addition. You don’t seem to understand evidence or percentages or how they are used together, if they ever are.

  26. astudent says:

    NotAScientist,

    The Bible is not an anecdote.

    What evidence would you accept as proof of a supernatural claim?

    OK, you got me! I did not understand. I am saying there is a God and a Hell and you are merely saying that you do not believe me. You are not really offering any reason that I am wrong, only that you do not believe me!

    Why is it that I have so much trouble understanding atheist? Could it be that they all say they do not believe me, when they really mean that I am wrong? Or do they mean that I am wrong, “because” they do not believe me?

  27. Read what you wrote originally again. You will see where you slipped up in your logic. Take care.

  28. “How about dark energy…? Can you explain it as anything other than God?”

    Wow, didn’t know anyone actually still relied on the God of the Gaps hypothesis. 😉 Probably because there’s ever fewer gaps as time goes by.

  29. I think you have manufactured this image of an “atheist” in your head. We’re not out to get you. Most atheists don’t even care about you enough to tell you their opinion. Notascientist has been pretty patient with you here. Consider how you would feel if a Muslim told you that Jesus was a real person, but they know on faith that he wasn’t the son of God. You’d want to respond that their faith is baseless. Not because you hate them, but because you are appropriately criticizing their reliance on faith. Notascientist is doing the same for you. Trust me, being an atheist has nothing to do with having a desire to hurt believer’s feelings.

  30. astudent says:

    The Great Antagonizer,

    I read it again and I did not slip up on my logic.

    There are not fewer gaps, as time goes by. The more we learn the more we realize the less we know. There are even more gaps, as time goes by. Someone creates a theory, like the big bang theory, and no one considers where the mass came from that supposedly, somehow, caused an explosion. You have no answers, only gaps.

    You are not trying to hurt my feelings. You are trying to take my joy. Not just my joy, but also my salvation. Haven’t you even thought about your motives?

    You are only examining me. Turn your eyes on yourself and examine yourself.

    What would you do for yourself, the world, and me by destroying my faith?

    You certainly would not be doing anything for me. I am happy and I believe that I will live forever in paradise, if you could take that away from me, I would be depressed with no hope. My feelings are of no importance, compared to being left with no hope.

    What would you be doing for the world by taking my faith? Christians are required to live by the law and the second command of the law is “Do to others, as you would have them do to you”. That is the key to world peace. If everyone obeyed the second command there would be no crime, of any kind, in the whole world. We do not have peace, because of people like you, who would take my faith from me, only to throw it away, because you do not want it for yourself. By the way, that Book, that you dismiss, is the only one that has the formula for world peace that would really work. And you belittle it!

    So, you would not be improving anything for me or the world, but what is in it for you?

    The only thing that I see is you think that you are proving yourself smarter than Christians. Well, just the opposite is true.

    You argue against a God that you know nothing about and you refuse to examine the evidence with truth as a requirement: and it is a requirement in any search for understanding. How intelligent is it to argue against something and then refuse to examine the evidence? That is the position of anyone that states ‘I just do not accept your evidence’. There is no hope for anyone to understand, as long as they hold to that position. The truth of the matter is they “will” not believe and they “will” not examine the evidence.

    Have you contemplated life? It seems to me that life is just as hard to prove as God. You cannot feel, taste, smell, hear, or see it. Would you argue that it also does not exist, because you cannot prove it? If you claim that you can prove it then what is it that you can prove? First, you have to define life and like God, you cannot even do that.

    Well, you probably would claim that it does not exist. After all you are an atheist and therefore not to bright.

    You may think that I am disobeying the second rule by telling you that you are not very bright, but I am not. If I were as dumb as an atheist, I would want someone to tell me, but then if I just willed myself to be intelligent, I wouldn’t even consider the opposite: would I?

  31. I don’t know why you keep insisting that I’m trying to “take away” your faith. I wouldn’t have guessed that your faith was so weak that I could just take it away. On the contrary, it’s up to you to analyze your own thoughts and decide whether your faith is still reasonable. Do I think it’s reasonable? No. But only you can stop believing. I can’t do that for you. It’s time to do some thinking on your own. As an adult, you can’t expect your mommy to tell you what to think forever. Eventually you have to examine the world with your own senses and intellect. Good luck with whatever conclusions you reach.

  32. astudent says:

    The Great Antagonizer,

    Because that is what you are trying to do. Well, if you knew what you were doing, you would know that. You do not have to guess, you cannot take my faith away: as much as you would like to, so you could boast about how smart you are. Well, how smart you think you are anyway.

    I have to laugh. You can’t win an argument with me, so you try to pick on my mother. Do you really claim to be a “great” antagonizer? Where, or what is the great part?

    You do not even know what we are arguing about! It is not the “world” that we are examining. It is the existence of God.

    Did you even try to define life? Did you google it?

    You will not find anyone that can define it, because it is the breath of God (Gen 2:7). When you can define life, you can define God.

    Everyone that lives has the breath of God and He will not take it back. God exists forever and therefore so does His breath. My blessing is that I have, in me, the breath that cannot die. Your curse, if you do not change, is that you have the breath that cannot die. I will live in paradise forever and you will live in hell with only your memories, forever, with absolutely no chance of anything else.

    The thought of anyone falling forever in the bottomless pit, with only their own memories, brings me no joy. I feel sorry for you, but as you say, ‘it’s up to you to analyze your own thoughts and decide whether your faith is reasonable. Eventually you have to examine the world with your own senses and intellect’. God gave you enough intellect: use it.

    I really have to laugh when I think about you living because of the breath of God and trying to say there isn’t even a God.

    By the way, anyone with even half a brain can see that I have already reached a conclusion.

    I have been antagonized by “The Great Antagonizer”. What I don’t fully understand is, why am I laughing so hard? You truly are a legend in your own mind.

    It always increases my faith when I talk with an atheist. They say that I cannot prove the existence of God and totally ignore the fact that they cannot disprove Him. In other words they attempt to hold believers to a different standard. They would have me believe that something must be proved and if it is not proved it does not exist and yet there are many things that cannot be proved that do exist.

    The man that “thinks” that he is intelligent cannot prove it. He may cite the works of others as proof, but anyone with a good textbook can do that. Of course, they will not recognize the Bible as a textbook! Again, we are held to a different standard. I might add that my textbook doesn’t change and therefore can be relied on, but “every” text book that man writes is changed as man learns more about the work of God.

    They examine believers closely and never even consider that they, themselves, might be wrong! They are sick with pride. It is like an addictive drug that distorts reality. One that is addicted to pride never gets enough. Christians do not feed their pride and that is the main reason that we are so repulsive to them.

    God knew their addiction from before the beginning of time. God knows everything, unlike atheists, that just think they know everything.

    2 Tim 4:3&4 (NIV) For the time will come when men will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear. They will turn their ears away from the truth and turn aside to myths.

  33. Jerome E. Goodwin Sr. says:

    The words Hell and Hades referred to a valley that was used as a dump and was Burned on occasion. The burning was so hot it melted metal including precious metals which then could be retrieved for a profit. It was used metaphorically to show how the good parts of you can be retrieved..

  34. Kevin Elzinga says:

    It is possible that God chooses to take a long view when it comes to our sufferings as human beings. What we consider as suffering, God sees as a blessing for his other creatures. Our deaths sustain the flesh of those creatures, which, in turn, serve as a source of food for us as human beings. Although our mortal flesh is destroyed, the “software” that is our soul survives outside the physical realm. Software is, in essence, our thoughts imprinted on matter. So it is with our souls as well. If our soul is to survive, we must walk as closely with God as we can. Nevertheless, God allows sin in the physical world to keep the cycle of flesh in motion. Ashes to ashes, dust to dust. Flora to fauna, fauna to dust, dust to flora and fauna. God allows decay for it is also the beginning of creation.

  35. astudent says:

    Kevin,

    Well, I have a problem with “Our deaths sustain the flesh of those creatures”. To me that cheapens our existence.

    I understand that God allows sin in this age, because sin is the result of unbelief. We are here to be tested and we all fail. As a result, there is sin in this age. God cannot test us without allowing sin.

    I do not see decay as the beginning of creation, but the end of it.

Leave a Reply

