THESE ARE THOSE WHO DID NOT DEFILE THEMSELVES WITH WOMEN.

If you are a woman and you read Revelation 14:4, and you do not yet have a good understanding of your Heavenly Father, you might think that God views you as contemptible, or less pure than men. However, a child of God is just that, whether male, or female, a child of God.

Rev 14:4(NIV) These are those who did not defile themselves with women, for they kept themselves pure. They follow the Lamb wherever he goes. They were purchased from among men and offered as firstfruits to God and the Lamb.

We are in the habit of viewing everything from our own point of view. However, we are given Scripture in order that we may see as God does. When we consider how God views His children, we can know that He views all of His children the same. Consider Matthew 12:47-50 and this becomes clear.

Mat 12:47-50 (NIV) Someone told him, “Your mother and brothers are standing outside, wanting to speak to you.” He replied to him, “Who is my mother, and who are my brothers?” Pointing to his disciples, he said, “Here are my mother and my brothers. For whoever does the will of my Father in heaven is my brother and sister and mother.”

Of course, the question is “Why did God say men defile themselves with women?”, and the key to understanding is ‘View this from God’s point of view, instead of your own’.

God lives by His own principles and His first and most important rule is “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind”. When you know God, you can understand that is how He loves us, with all His heart, soul, and mind. He loves us so much that, if it were possible for God to die, He would die for us.

God wants to become one with everyone. Keeping this in mind, consider 1 Corinthians 6:16 (NIV) Do you not know that he who unites himself with a prostitute is one with her in body? For it is said, “The two will become one flesh.”

God is a jealous God. Exodus 34:14(NIV) Do not worship any other god, for the LORD, whose name is Jealous, is a jealous God.

Considering all of this, can you see that if anyone has sex, or becomes one, with anyone other than God, even if they are married, they are no longer pure in the eyes of God?

It just could be that some of the 144,000 that are spoken of in Revelation 14:1 are women that have not defiled themselves with men.

4 Responses to THESE ARE THOSE WHO DID NOT DEFILE THEMSELVES WITH WOMEN.

  1. E.J says:

    No. Then everybody would have to be a virgin and there would be NO WORLD but God said for us to go and be fruitful, in other words have children. Im sure there is a different answer.

  2. astudent says:

    E.J,

    I am going to agree with your comment, but then I will disagree with your view. I am pretty sure that will confuse you, so let me try to explain.

    First, notice that the method of childbearing was changed when Adam and Eve disobeyed God. I do not know how mankind was supposed to have children, but it is not the way we do now. I do know that it was not to include much pain, so it was a different way. My guess would be that God would make children the same way He made Eve. There was no pain reported from that birth.

    (Gen 3:16 NIV) To the woman he said, “I will greatly increase your pains in childbearing; with pain you will give birth to children. Your desire will be for your husband, and he will rule over you.”

    God still makes all individuals, as they are formed in the womb. (Psa 139:13 NIV) “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.” That was David speaking and I believe there is no different method used for any of God’s children. Life is the breath of God (Gen 2:7 NIV) “the LORD God formed the man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living being.” I do not think that anyone lives without the breath of God. So, we all are here directly because God breathed life into each of us.

    There is something else that changed. The woman’s desire was changed from a desire for God to a desire for man and he would rule over her. I said that just to demonstrate that many important things changed.

    Then we jump to the conclusion that when Scripture says be fruitful that is all up to man to do so, but God made Abraham and even Ishmael fruitful, it was not something that they had control of. God also closed the wombs of some.

    Being fruitful can mean something other than having children. (John 15:4 NIV) “Remain in me, and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.” I understand that to mean, if we remain in Christ and do what Christ would do we will cause others to turn and be saved. That is true fruit, the kind our Father wants. (John 15:16 NIV) “You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you to go and bear fruit–fruit that will last. Then the Father will give you whatever you ask in my name.”

    If you understand what I am trying to say, then consider Isaiah 56:4&5 (NIV) “For this is what the LORD says: “To the eunuchs who keep my Sabbaths, who choose what pleases me and hold fast to my covenant–to them I will give within my temple and its walls a memorial and a name better than sons and daughters; I will give them an everlasting name that will not be cut off.”

    So, yes, you are correct when you say, “there must be a different answer”. However, because man disobeyed God, the different answer can no longer apply. You see, your view is that of man (not saying that is wrong, because we are only men or women), but I believe God had a different view. We just did not live up to His view.

  3. Jerome E. Goodwin Sr. says:

    Gods first words were to Adam and Eve “Go forth and replenish the earth” Now how could they do that without sex?

  4. astudent says:

    Jerome E. Goodwin Sr.,

    The method of childbirth was changed when Eve ate the forbidden fruit.

    Gen 3:16 (MKJV) To the woman He said, I will greatly increase your sorrow and your conception. In pain you shall bear sons, and your desire shall be toward your husband, and he shall rule over you.

    As we know, God made Eve from Adam. Because the method of child birth was changed, we do not know how God meant men to be born.

    If you do not understand that the method was changed then consider that it was Adam that gave birth to Eve! And without sex.

Leave a Reply

