WHAT DOES GOD WANT FROM US?

Well, if you read much of what I write then you know that I am about to answer my own question. That is to say that I am going to give you my answer. It might not be the same as yours because you might be viewing the question from a different angle, but that doesn’t change my answer.

My answer is, “God wants me to believe Him”. I am not saying that God wants me to believe “in” Him, but to believe Him. Of course, one cannot believe God unless they first believe that He exists, but even the demons believe that He exists. Not only do they believe that He exists, but they even know the son of God (Mat 8:28&29, Mark 1:34- 5:7, and Luke 4:41-8:28). I find it odd that demons know Jesus, but the Pharisees did not. Maybe I should say that even though the demons confessed that Jesus was the son of God, the Pharisees “would” not.

You see, I believe that God loves me with all of His heart, soul, mind and strength, just as He wants me to love Him. There are times that do not appear to me and to those that surround me that God does love me, but there is always a reason for this. Perhaps He is testing me as He tested Abraham, or perhaps He is using me to demonstrate to someone else what a Christian should be (I don’t always live up to His expectations), and there may be many more reasons that I cannot even understand.

No one, but Jesus has perfect faith, so we all sin. That is to say that even the best Christian sins. All sin is a result of unbelief and all of us suffer from some unbelief.

To temporarily shy away from the subject. I was going to quote a verse or verses to prove my last statement, but the NIV doesn’t quite say or agree with my understanding.

(Heb 3:17-19 NIV) “And with whom was he angry for forty years? Was it not with those who sinned, whose bodies fell in the desert? And to whom did God swear that they would never enter his rest if not to those who disobeyed? So we see that they were not able to enter, because of their unbelief.” However, the KJV says exactly what I am trying to convey. (Heb 3:17-19 KJV) “But with whom was he grieved forty years? was it not with them that had sinned, whose carcases fell in the wilderness? And to whom sware he that they should not enter into his rest, but to them that believed not? So we see that they could not enter in because of unbelief”. The KJV does not use the word disobeyed, but instead says “believed not”. That is not to say that the NIV is wrong, because unbelief is to disobey. I say this to emphasize the importance of using more than one translation in our search for understanding.

There are many sins of unbelief that we do not even see as unbelief. If you live in the United States then you probably believe this Country was founded on Christian principles, but it was founded on and by those who would not pay their taxes. The Bible says pay taxes if you owe them. The founders would not pay their taxes or obey the king that God appointed over them. They rebelled against him and set up a system that demands men appoint the authorities (not God). These are not Christian principles. Can anyone believe that God appoints the authorities (Rom 13:1&2) and then choose, or attempt to choose who “they” think ought to be the authority? Who is in charge man or God?

God wants us to know that He would do what is best for us in the long run, but in our unbelief we will not wait Him out to find that it is true. Instead of admitting that we are only children of God, we think that we are in charge and must do the work of God, as if it is something other than to believe in Jesus (John 6:29).

Do not think that I mean “Do nothing at all”. If we obey the second royal law (James 2:8) we will want others saved and we will try to explain what God has revealed to us. But when they reject the message, I believe we should not try to force it on them. That would not be doing to others, as we would have them do to us.

Again, to be as clear as I can be, “God wants us to believe Him”.

3 Responses to WHAT DOES GOD WANT FROM US?

  1. creationwitness says:

    After very specific prayer and waking this morning, I had a very strong urge to read some more of your pages (I have not read many) before doing anything else not of pressing nature. I thank God this morning for answering my prayer of last night. My exact prayer is not important, but that it has been answered.

    I thank you too astudent. Though your perception may be from a “different angle”, it is clearly an angle, God willing, that more of us should see from. No flattery intended.

    I will add that if the country of the United States was founded on Christian principles, then they surely have been forgotten, lost, ridiculed and abolished. Look at the war machine.

    Isaiah 58

  2. astudent says:

    creationwitness,

    I believe that the country has an obligation to protect the citizens from other countries that would harm us. However, our authorities use the armed forces to further their own objectives. I assume that is what you mean by “war machine” and I agree with you.

    Actually, the authorities use the power that we give them to further their own desires in all circumstances, which is why this system cannot endure.

    By the way, you are welcome, as long as you remember that I, like you, am only a student. The Holy Spirit is our teacher and we should always test what is said against His Word.

    Job 32:21 &22 (NIV) I will show partiality to no one, nor will I flatter any man; for if I were skilled in flattery, my Maker would soon take me away.

    I appreciate the “No flattery intended”. It seems that we can no longer speak frankly, because men have become so used to being flattered that they take offence when they are not.

  3. Jerome E. Goodwin Sr. says:

    LOVE.

Leave a Reply

