CONSCIENCE

con•science (k¼n“sh…ns) n. 1.a. The awareness of a moral or ethical aspect to one’s conduct together with the urge to prefer right over wrong. (American Heritage Dictionary)

Our Heavenly Father amazes me with His ability to hide the obvious. It seems right to me, that He would, and even should, hide understanding from us. After all, if we do not care enough to search out understanding then should we be given it?

Well, anyway, I was attending the small Bible study, that I often attend, and the question of conscience came up.

I believe that everyone has a conscience, because I believe that God would not condemn anyone for sin, that did not know that they had sinned. God is perfectly fair and just and it would not be fair to condemn someone for something that they did not even know about.

We can suppress our conscience and not listen to it, but it is still in our minds.

As I thought about our conscience, I realized that God had hidden a very important point from me: a basic point at that. Because it seems as though I cannot keep anything to myself, I will try to explain it to you.

Basically, Adam and Eve did not have a conscience before they ate from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil. Before they ate, they were both naked, and they felt no shame (Gen 2:25). It seems obvious, to me, that the verse indicates that they should have been ashamed.

Nakedness is used, in the Bible, to symbolize sin uncovered. When we turn to God and are baptized into Jesus, we receive a covering for our sin and we are no longer naked. That is to say, no longer spiritually naked. We can be physically naked, but never spiritually naked: unless we deny Christ and therefore remove our covering. God will not remove our covering, but God does not make anyone do anything that they do not want to do, so those who have a covering can lose it, but only as an act of cognizant defiance against God.

I have to laugh after God shows me something that is so clear. You see, there are two things that are spiritual and the world can never understand. The first is life, because it is the breath of God (Gen 2:7). The second is conscience, because only mankind has a conscience. We receive it with the gift of life: everyone receives it.

If you doubt me, then ask someone who thinks there is no God, what life is. No one can answer that question. There isn’t even a definition in the dictionary that really defines it. The property or quality that distinguishes living organisms from dead organisms is the basic attempt to define it. It seems to me a lame attempt at a definition.

When they cannot answer that question, then ask them where our conscience came from.

4 Responses to CONSCIENCE

  1. Liferestored says:

    Great post. God has also revealed to me this truth. Spiritually speaking, we are as Adam and Eve before the fall. I often ask those who disagree with me about the “sinful nature” of man; did Adam and Eve decide to start sinning after they took the apple? No. After the apple they had knowlage of their sin therefore responsible. They were not responsible for sin before the apple because they had no knowlage of it. It does not mean their lives were any different. So. In saying all that. God has restored us to the spiritual state of Adam and Eve before the fall. Unfortunatly we still have knowlage of sin and the enemy uses this truth with great results. He stirs up guilt, keeps it in our minds, keeps us in the cycle of “knowlage” to control, hurt, and keep us from spreading Gods kingdom. Keeps us from growing spiritually. Reminds us how unworthy we are. The enemy often wins the battle in our mind do to our conscience (or knowlage of good and evil). I blame weak teachers. Lazy teachers. Un believing teachers. These have plagued the church for decades by the enemy’s hand (I believe). So the discussion often leads to holy living. I know now through His spirit He is the only one who changes our behavior. Our lives. Through our understanding we are reconsiled back to him as before the fall. This brings true change.
    My only disagreement is your stance on the lack of security of our salvation. I do not think possible for a lost soul in the desert who has drank cool water and saved because of it –can turn around and deny the water saved them. I find this difficult to think possible. But we have had this disagreement before. Love the post. God speed brother.

  2. astudent says:

    Liferestored,

    I have not been restored to the spiritual state of Adam and Eve before they ate from the tree. As you say, we still have the knowledge of sin, but you left out the fact that we also have the knowledge of good. Can one have the knowledge of evil and yet not have the knowledge of good: or vice versa?

    It is not Satan that stirs up guilt in me, when I sin. It is my conscience and it is a good thing, not a bad thing. How could I change and become more like Jesus, if I did not know that I had sinned? Without my conscience to alert me, I would just go on sinning and perhaps blaspheme the name of God.
    Rom 2:9-11 (NIV) “There will be trouble and distress for every human being who does evil: first for the Jew, then for the Gentile; but glory, honor and peace for everyone who does good: first for the Jew, then for the Gentile. For God does not show favoritism.” If I did not have a conscience, how would I know if I was doing good or evil?

    I do not mean to sound judgmental, but your view sounds to me just like the first part of Revelation 3:17. When you speak, I hear ‘we are rich (spiritually), we have acquired Jesus, and we do not need anything else’. I do not believe that you realize what you are trying to teach, but that certainly is what I hear. It would be wonderful, if the last part of the verse were not there.

    I like your parable of a lost soul in the desert. You see, one who is lost in the desert is not saved from the desert, until they are out of the desert. One must drink water everyday. One drink is not enough. One must start walking out of the desert as well as continuing to drink. One who drinks only once will never forget the taste and they will die with that thought. The desert is this world and we must continue to walk with God as we walk out of the world to Heaven. (James 1:12 NIV) “Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him.” As I understand, we are still in the desert, going through trials.

    If I have a stance on the lack of security of anyone’s salvation, it comes from God’s word. Read Revelation chapter two and three. Jesus is speaking to the Church. Anything Jesus says to one Church, he says to all. He threatens to remove the lampstand (Holy Spirit) from the first Church and, if he did, they would have no light. He even says that he will spit some out of his mouth.

    (Rev 2:23 NIV) “I will strike her children dead. Then all the churches will know that I am he who searches hearts and minds, and I will repay each of you according to your deeds.” These are church members that follow the ways of Jezebel. They have the Holy Spirit, but they are not listening to Him. I see no unconditional salvation in these verses.

    If I thought as you do, why would I try to be holy? I am told to do so (1 Cor 1:2, Eph 1:4, Heb 12:14, 1 Pet 1:15&16, and Rev 22:11). Without a conscience, how would I know when I was acting holy or acting evil?

  3. creationwitness says:

    This thought also helps to explain the beginning of man being only six thousand plus or minus years ago. Funny how we always tend to equate that with the beginning of creation as well. Of course it all fits in as it should if we are not being too simplistic in thought.

  4. Jerome E. Goodwin Sr. says:

    Romans 5: 8-11.

Leave a Reply

