WHAT IS IN A NAME?

God was talking to Jacob.

(Gen 32:29 NIV) Jacob said, “Please tell me your name.” But he replied, “Why do you ask my name?” Then he blessed him there.

Jacob did not yet understand. I can not fault him, because, though I have the complete Word of God, it has taken me years to understand why God ask that question!

We all have a given name. It was given to us by someone who came before us. It usually is a parent that gives us a name, but even if a baby is found alive after a disaster and there is no parent left, someone will give him or her a name.

You see, God has no given name, because there was no one before Him. Jacob should have known that.

However, He has given Himself a name. I finally know/understand His name. I am sure that you have known and used His name many times, just as I have, but I did not understand it until now.

(Mat 6:9 NIV) “This, then, is how you should pray: “‘Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name,

His name is “Father”. That is what He wants us to call Him and it is His name because He is the Father of everything. No other can make that claim. That separates Him from all other gods. Even gods of heaven.

Yes, there are other gods, true gods, but only one Father. I am a man and that is a type of being. Gods are also a type of being, but there is only one Father among gods.

(John 10:34-36 NIV) Jesus answered them, “Is it not written in your Law, ‘I have said you are gods’? If he called them ‘gods,’ to whom the word of God came–and the Scripture cannot be broken—what about the one whom the Father set apart as his very own and sent into the world? Why then do you accuse me of blasphemy because I said, ‘I am God’s Son’?

I am born of man, so I am called a man, but then I was born of God, so am I not also a god?

One has to understand the context of what a word means and because it is difficult to see what or how another means the word, we have trouble understanding each other.

If you only apply our Heavenly Father to the word god, then when I say that I am also god you cannot grasp my meaning. The same can be said if you only apply false gods to the word god.

I am only claiming to be a child of our Father (God) and am therefore like Him.

One Response to WHAT IS IN A NAME?

  1. Jerome E. Goodwin Sr. says:

    Actually the term is interpreted Daddy.

Leave a Reply

