WHO REALLY IS WRONG?

I have been writing this blog for many years now and I have learned that there is more than one correct view or understanding of almost everything in the Bible.

Yes, I said “more than one correct understanding”. I have learned that when I try to explain my understanding, which is correct, to someone else, and they have a correct, but different understanding of the same subject, it only leads to frustration. That is frustration for both.

If that seems illogical, and I am sure it does, then let me pass on a parable that I am quite sure God has given me when I have been frustrated with the attempt to explain what I am sure of.

I have divulged this parable in other posts and comments, so if you already heard it please bear with me.

A man stands 50 feet directly in front of a stop sign. He looks intently at the sign and sees very clearly the size, shape, and the word stop printed on the sign. There is another man standing 50 feet directly behind the sign also looking intently at the sign. He also clearly sees the sign. That is he sees the size and shape, but of course he does not see the word stop printed on the sign, because it is not printed on the back side. Both men see clearly, and their view of the sign is unobstructed, and what they understand is correct: from their point of view.

Both men are curious about the sign and want to know all about it. Therefore they shout to each other, explaining what they see. They agree with the parts about the size and shape, but when one says the sign has the word “stop” printed on it, the man standing behind the sign, who from his view can clearly see it does not, begins to argue with the other man. Both men think the other does not understand what they are saying about the sign and that the other man is wrong! But the truth is neither man is wrong about what they see, but both are wrong about the lack of understanding of the other man.

The only way that the two can honestly agree is for both of them to circle the sign and thereby see it from all angles. Then and only then can either man totally understand everything about the sign.

Scripture is like the sign in that there are many ways to view it and it cannot be completely understood until it is viewed from all possible points.

I have viewed Scripture from the normally accepted ways and I see that there is a lack of understanding among my brothers. I have tried to explain many of my views to my brothers and, because they see Scripture from a different angle, and they are correct from their angle, it has created problems that we should not have.

The Bible says “As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another” and everyone seems to think that iron can sharpen iron, but it cannot. I have pointed this out, but no Christian will accept it. I say no Christian, because the people of this world certainly do not attempt to sharpen a knife with a knife. They use a stone, because that is what works and they have no vested interest in proving that it does not.

I have found that people believe what they want to believe and the facts do not matter. However, facts do matter. Water does not flow up hill and no matter if one thinks it can, it cannot. Iron does not sharpen iron and no matter if one wants to believe it can, it cannot.

Now if you have a vested interest in wanting to believe it is possible for iron to sharpen iron, then in order to be honest with yourself, you must physically attempt it. When you find that it will not, and you want to understand Scripture that speaks of teaching, then you must view it from a different angle. Until then you have blocked your own path of understanding.

Ask yourself a question. Can you see through someone else’s eyes?

No one can see through my eyes. Everyone must see through their own eyes. Because my brothers and sisters accept what mere men say about Scripture, without actually using their own eyes, much of understanding has been twisted and then lost.

I have discovered that if I stand still and try to get others to see from the angle that I see from, it only blocks them from viewing from my point. I must move so that others can see from the point that I am viewing from.

If you stand next to someone and try to view something from their point, your point of view is always a little to the right or left of the view of the other person: never exactly the same.

Now, I spent seven years trying to prove God wrong. I tried to teach others the meaning of the very verse that says I cannot teach! I suffered from the same problem that I see in others. I wanted to believe that I could teach this basic understanding and I have to admit that I still would like to. However, God gave everyone that has been baptized into the Holy Spirit, their own spiritual eyes and He stands ready to light the path to understanding, so they can see with their own eyes. Not my eyes, or anyone else’s eyes, for that matter. You can no more see through my eyes than iron can sharpen iron.

So, you are saying (to yourself) then why am I even posting my views, if I can not teach you. That is a good question and of course I will attempt to answer.

If you have read much of what I have written, you can see that I very seldom write anything that agrees with the normally accepted views of Scripture. Almost all Christians write about the normal view of Scripture and their view, from their point of view, is usually correct. It is only when one stands on the other side of the stop sign, viewing it from a different angle, that it is clear there is a different view, which is also correct.

I am going to stop attempting to answer comments. I have always tried to answer everyone. There may have been a few that, for some reason or other have “fell through the cracks” and I missed them, but it has been my policy to answer everyone.

At this point in time I am not going to stop anyone from commenting. Other’s views, from their view point, are usually correct and it only seems as if I am saying they are not correct when I am only trying to explain my point of view. I must move from my point of view, so others can stand where I stood and see as I saw.

God is pleased to teach everyone, that wants to know, all things (John 14:26). I do not teach, because I am only iron, but I can, and must, raise questions. If I could teach anything it is that everyone should raise all questions, so that the Spirit has them to answer. Without questions there would be no answers.

Consider my posts as questions to take to the Lord: not questions to bring to me. I am only iron and do not know how to say that you are right and yet you do not understand.

Well, actually you cannot bring your questions to me. I’m not standing there any more. I am off to learn more.

3 Responses to WHO REALLY IS WRONG?

  1. If you are only iron, and you know in your self that iron can not sharpen iron, why do you continue trying to bring people to question the word ? You already know that we are taught of the HOLY SPIRIT through HIS precious word and the walk is between you and GOD (LOVE). By now you should understand that the HOLY scriptures are the only way to your receiving that divine nature of GOD (LOVE).It does not matter how you or any-one else feels he/she knows the HOLY scriptures for they are the LIVING WORD of GOD, you know like the saying goes “one size fits all”. As you can understand the word of GOD is the whole divine nature and each man/woman is only a part of the body and not the whole,so the HOLY SPIRIT gives understanding as HE knows in full! I will send you another comforter even the SPIRIT of TRUTH “John 14:15-18” and HE will guide you. Seek peace and pursue it, be ye not overwise much.

  2. JCServant says:

    I feel that one who will only speak, but will not engage others in discussion, somehow elevates him/herself above others, and cuts off channels of learning. Of course, I can understand the wisdom of such decisions from time to time… but in my experience, I have seen greater harm from such approaches. Regardless, I respect your decision. I pray the the Lord blesses you in your future endeavors and wish you the best.

    By His Grace,
    JCS

  3. Jerome E. Goodwin Sr. says:

    Everyone is wrong only God is right.

Leave a Reply

