THIS CHRISTIAN AND THE 4TH OF JULY

I say “this” Christian, because I am, and can, only speak for myself.

I was born a citizen of the United States. I was raised to believe this Country was a gift from God. That we were a free Country, not under a king, dictator, or any ruler, but ruled by all of the people. The home of the brave, where we chose those to guide and lead us and if we were not satisfied with them, we should vote them out of office and someone else in.

This all sounded pretty good to me. It was what I wanted to hear and to believe!

However, I began to explore the question of “Is there really a God”. I found the same answer as anyone, who will ponder “truthfully” that question. I say “truthfully”, because many think about it with the goal of attempting to prove there is no God.

When I finally reached the point where I had to admit to myself that there has to be a God, I knew that I was dead to God, because of all my sins. The proper thing to do with a dead body is to bury it. So, I allowed someone to bury me in the water of baptism. When I came up out of that water the Holy Spirit was a part of me and because the Spirit of God cannot die, I cannot die. That is to really die, as this body will perish, but I will not die.

I am a new being. I was a six, the same number as Satan, but God added one to me and I became a seven, the number of completeness. The one, that He added, is the Holy Spirit.

Now, all my brothers should already know this, but they do not seem to understand why God gave us His Spirit. The answer is to teach us all things (John 14:26), but my brothers do not ask the Spirit about all things. That is all things about God, not all things about this universe. Questions about this universe are not important, as this universe will pass away.

I said this so you might understand that I only listen to God now. I question everything that this world tells me, using Scripture as the ultimate reference of truth.

The world told me that this Country was a gift from God, but when I read Romans 13:1&2, I reached a different conclusion.

I was told, when I was a child, that if you want to understand as someone else understands then “put yourself in their shoes”. In other words try to see things as they do.

So, I read Romans 13:1&2 as if I lived in Pennsylvania and the year was 1775, and the verse clearly said, do not rebel against the king, because God had appointed him and if I rebelled against him I was actually rebelling against God Himself.

I know Scripture said the same thing to the Founding Fathers as it says to me, because they had the same Bible that I have.

Now, this year, I will not attend Church on the 28th of June and the 5th of July, because one of those days the Church, that I attend, will celebrate rebellion against God. And they do not even know that they are!

I understand, so I will not participate. I have tried to explain to my brothers, but iron cannot sharpen iron and so I cannot sharpen them. They will not ask God if this Country is a gift from Him and then read His Word for the answer, but they will ask each other the same question; and believe the answer of their fellow man!

At first I was angered by their refusal to understand, but now I am deeply hurt by it. My brothers are lukewarm, just as Revelation says the last Church will be. They believe what they want to believe and hire preachers to say what their itching ears want to hear (2 Tim 4:3), just as Scripture says. They are in great danger and do not, will not, see it.

I am to the point of tears, as I write this. I was taught not to cry for myself. It is a form of self pity and only reinforces the pity. But the sadness that I am feeling is not for myself, but for my brothers.

Please brothers, wake up, this Church is the Church of Laodicea. The last Church spoken of in Revelation; the last Church in time. It is lukewarm, neither hot nor cold. It has one foot in the world and one foot in Heaven and it doesn’t put forth the effort to understand.

If you think your attitude brings me to tears, what do you think it does to our Heavenly Father, that we celebrate rebellion against Him: and even in the very house that we claim is His!

16 Responses to THIS CHRISTIAN AND THE 4TH OF JULY

  1. Liferestored says:

    I must say first astudent that I do love your zeal. And you always make me get in the word and listen to the His voice concerning many issues. So I truely say I have done the same with this issue and feel I must disagree with your stance against our nations rebellion against England. 1st I would challenge you there are many miracles that happened during the war of independence that one could easily say was of God himself for our victory. And with the brutal theocracy type monarchy England ruled its people under who is to say the king did not forfit his right to rule by the abuse and twisting of scripture for his own gain. This was clearly the case in England at the time. I do believe God puts kings in place. However, I think if you use scripture to say never should a people rebel against the king you are taking this scripture out of context. What if God rises a people up against a king? This has happened many times in scripture. By your understanding, the people of Germany were righteous by not rising against hitler. And the ones who did (and were killed) were against God. I would be very careful of such judgment brother. Also, why are you judging your brothers so harshly because they do not agree with you in this manner? It is one thing to stay home from church on the 5th of July because you feel it’s what God wants you to do but please don’t judge your entire church family for celabrating what very well could have been Gods doing. Just my two cents.

  2. astudent says:

    Liferestored,

    I must admit that I like your zeal also. You make me think and rethink what I say and that is a benefit, as I am only a man and therefore not perfect in understanding.

    1st, you may well be correct when you say,” there are many miracles that happened during the war of independence that one could easily say was of God himself for our victory”. However, at best, that is only conjecture. One would have to wonder why God would help anyone rebel against Him. I firmly believe that He would not help any of His children to do so: perhaps the children of Satan, but not His children .

    When I studied the history of the beginning of this Country, without a bias against England: that is I looked for truth with no plan to find abuse of the colonists. I found no abuse! The King of England had every right to tax the colonies. We are told to pay taxes, but the colonists would not. That is not what God said to do! Then every time the King imposed a tax and the people would not pay, he repealed it. That is except for the tax on tea and the colonist staged the Boston Tea Party, before the King had the chance to repeal it. Think about the Boston Tea Party as God sees it and you will come away with a totally different view of it.

    What did I take out of context? (Rom 13:1&2 NIV) Everyone must submit himself to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God. Consequently, he who rebels against the authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and those who do so will bring judgment on themselves.” Can God say, “Consequently, he who rebels against the authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and those who do so will bring judgment on themselves” and then say that I want you to rebel?

    I do not believe that God wants me to rebel against Him for any reason. He will take care of me until I leave this earth (and after), unless I reject him. There is nothing in this phase of life that is a justification for rebellion against God. Not abuse from a ruler or any other sin of others.

    As far as Hitler is concerned, I believe we get “too big for our britches” when we judge rulers. God said He appoints the authorities and if He appoints a man that is evil, doesn’t He know that man is evil? Perhaps He is working His plan! Does He need me to second guess Him and try to overthrow the authority that He put in power?

    The kind of judgment that we are not to make is to condemn others, not to judge right or wrong. You are correct when you say I am judging my brothers if you mean discerning right and wrong. Anyone, who would celebrate rebellion against God, is wrong.

    But then you are wrong if you think that I am condemning them. I wish they would think about what they are doing and I said so. I would not be doing as a watchman should, if I do not say what God has laid on my heart, He would hold me responsible if I did not say it (Ezek 3:18-21).

    Is it wrong to point out sin? Are we not just saved sinners? Why do my brothers become angry with me when I point out a particular sin?

    I was guilty of the same sin, but then I compared the Revolutionary War with God’s word, then God removed that particular log from my eye (I have logs that I do not see yet). I cannot teach anyone God’s Word. He has reserved that privilege for His Spirit. I can only make others think. If they become angry with me it is all right. I would rather everyone hate me than for me to keep quiet and no one consider their ways.

    God says Romans 13:1&2 and if it doesn’t fit what we want to believe, we just look for ways to say He didn’t really mean it!

    Liferestored, please forgive me for sounding so harsh. But then as a good Christian, I know you must!

  3. Liferestored says:

    Astudent- thank you for some more clarification. And I do not consider you being “harsh” as I have learned to respect your views and insights as genuine. When I spoke of rebelling against England I was thinking more of why they left England in the first place. Like I stated I also believe God puts rulers in place (even evil ones). I’m just not sure rebelling against an evil king is rebelling against God. I know I’m on a rabbit trail now but if the king ordered your second born to be killed to aid in population control, would you not rebel against the king? Of course you would. Maybe you would still think this is rebellion against God. I’m not sure. Anyway, I understand that was not the case with England however if you take this stance it must hold true for every senerio mustn’t it? As far as judging your brethren – calling them luke warm to be spewed from the mouth of Jesus seems to me more than judging sin. It sounded like you have judged their hearts and salvation. I was only saying to be careful as I do not believe in my heart you would do this. Anyway – I always enjoy your posts brother.

  4. creationwitness says:

    astudent,

    It has been some time since I commented, but I always read your new posts They are very thought provoking and almost always from a different viewpoint and that is appreciated.

    My question here is how does anyone know the that the rebels had not prayed about what they were about to attempt? Maybe they did and the answer they received was “Go up against him”. In other words maybe they had a blessing from God to do so. I don’t think that can be proven one way or the other, but to presume none of them did would be saying that none of them were Christian. If I am going to presume at all it would be to say that they did pray and the outcome tells us the answer from God.

    Personally I believe celebrating any holidays other than God’s holy days is the practice of taking ones mind off of more important issues. A means of keeping the blind blind. That is a hard pill to swallow for any child, but with proper education that will change.

    (Joh 8:31) Then said Jesus to those Jews which believed on him, If ye continue in my word, then are ye my disciples indeed;
    (Joh 8:32) And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.

    I would not take that away from any child.

    One of the truths I have complete faith in is that God never changes. So the real question is, does one follow man or follow God? The answer to that question is easy for me to follow now, but it wasn’t always so. Understanding that the truth is correct will always take some time. In the meantime?

    (1Th 1:3) Remembering without ceasing your work of faith, and labour of love, and patience of hope in our Lord Jesus Christ, in the sight of God and our Father;

  5. astudent says:

    Liferestored,

    I would not consider those who left England to come to America as rebels. They did nothing as a rebellion.

    This is a reprint from Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia (European colonization of the Americas).
    From the beginning of Virginia’s settlements in 1587 until the 1680s, the main source of labor and a large portion of the immigrants were indentured servants looking for new life in the overseas colonies. During the 17th century, indentured servants constituted three-quarters of all European immigrants to the Chesapeake region. Most of the indentured servants were teenagers from England with poor economic prospects at home. Their fathers signed the papers that gave them free passage to America and an unpaid job until they became of age. They were given food, clothing, housing and taught farming or household skills. American landowners were in need of laborers and were willing to pay for a laborer’s passage to America if they served them for several years. By selling passage for five to seven years worth of work they could then start out on their own in America. Many of the migrants from England died in the first few years.

    To be as clear and honest as I can “No, I would not rebel against any king for anything”. It is possible to invent many scenarios, but if the outcome is rebelling against what God has established, it has to be wrong, and wrong against God, not what man thinks ought to be done.

    I did not condemn my brothers. I only pointed out a wrong and I did so that they might consider it as a wrong (sin). What kind of brother would I be, if I kept quite?

    Bottom line is, to believe in this democracy, is to believe in man: not God. It is a system where men choose men to lead and guide men. We do not vote Jesus as our authority, but we chose a man and when that man succumbs to the temptations that affect all men, we chose another.

    The only power that a citizen of this government has is the power to choose a man, to be his master. The man that is elected to office is given the power to control the citizens and they do. And we complain, and complain, and complain, until we elect another man and he does the same thing!

    Just as it is often said, “Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”

  6. astudent says:

    creationwitness,

    I do not believe that God would tell someone to rebel against the authority that He had established. That is to say, after Jesus came the first time.

    As I understand, things were changed and there was no longer a need to demonstrate right or wrong, as God did in the Old Testament. When Jesus was on the cross, he said, “It is finished” (John 19:30) and, “The curtain of the temple was torn in two from top to bottom.” (Mar 15:38).

    It seems to me that to pray to God to change something that He already said was wrong is not to honor His word in the first place.

    We have an example of such a situation with Balaam. God told him once not to go, but Balaam wanted the money and so he asked again. Because he did not accept what God told him, as the Word of an unchanging God, he was told to go. It is apparent that Balaam was wrong, but he was thinking like a man and so he sinned, by continuing to ask. When I first read this encounter I could not understand why God was angry with Balaam after He told him to go, but now I do.

    To ask God if one should rebel against what God instituted is something like a bank robber asking God if he should rob a certain bank. It is wrong to rob, so it is doubly wrong to ask which bank to rob.

    I completely agree with you when you said, “One of the truths I have complete faith in is that God never changes. So the real question is, does one follow man or follow God?”

    That is the basic sin of democracy. It is a system where men follow men: blind leading blind.

  7. Liferestored says:

    Astudent. I do think your wrong in this but in any case I enjoy your thought provoking blogs. I believe this is a case where you are “full of knowlage” but are lacking in wisdom. (In this case). Let me ask you a few questions. What if it were Americas law (kings decree) we celibates July 4th? Would you then be ok with this so called rebellion against God? With your stance you would have to be. Or would it be ok to rebel against the king then? And let’s not forget our biggest example of rebelling against the authorities (king) God put in place- Jesus. He not only rebelled against the Sanhedrin he rebelled against Rome. So, does God put in place rulers? Absolutely, the bible tells us he does. Does Gods plan ever have believers rebelling against those authorities? I say absolutely. Who are you to say His plan would never.

  8. Liferestored says:

    Oh. And I almost forgot to remind you of the rebellion against nebecanezar and the big chocolate bunny. (Veggie tale reference). Mishack, Shadraick, and abendigo (I know I butchered the spelling) rebelled against the king yes? Of course of Gods doing as He was with them in the furnace. Ok. I’m done.

  9. astudent says:

    Liferestored,

    That is funny (you are “full of knowledge” but are lacking in wisdom). Well, it sounds funny, but actually I have wrestled with a similar concept. Not the difference between knowledge and wisdom, but the difference between understanding and wisdom.

    Knowledge and wisdom are close, like knowledge and understanding are close, but not exactly the same.

    One can understand that God places no restriction on drinking wine, but some of my brothers have placed such a restriction for themselves and then they did not keep that restriction to themselves. It has gone so far that wine is no longer used in Communion where they gather!

    Now, I know that God places no such restriction and I see placing such a restriction has, and is, causing many problems. My problem is that I cannot try to explain this to them without violating the command to keep my views about wine between myself and God.

    They are quite vocal with their view, which by Scripture is wrong, and they are spreading their views to those who also do not search Scripture for God’s view about wine.

    So, I wrestle with the problem (still do). Do I also violate the command to keep what Scripture, which is the Word of God says, or do I keep quiet and then they never understand that they might be wrong? What I mean is that I have understanding, but it seems wise to keep my views to myself.

    I must admit that I have not been wise, as you probably guessed, because you have spent some time with me and you know that I have a loud mouth.

    I have violated God’s advice and tried to explain, but they do not want to hear my views and they do not, will not, consider any views that are different from the ones they have.

    I came away with more understanding than the understanding I started with. That is “People believe what they want to believe!” Facts, or Scripture, or anything else seems to make no difference at all!

    Anyway, before I answer the questions that you posed, I think that I see what is causing our difference of views. I think that it lies in the definition of the word rebel.

    To me Romans 13:1&2 is eluding to the overthrow of an authority, not to disobeying a particular authority. God places a ruler in command, but He does not directly control that ruler. I do not view the idea that to oppose, or refuse to do what an authority commands as the same rebellion as trying to overthrow that authority.

    Taking this into consideration, I still would not celebrate the Forth of July, even if a law was passed demanding it. The law is what I would be rebelling against, not the authority. I would not rebel, and will not rebel, against this government, though it has passed many “laws” that are commands against God’s Law (Do to others as you would have them do to you). I would not attempt to overthrow this government, but I will not obey some of its rules and regulations. That to me is not the kind of rebellion that Romans 13:1&2 means: that is to attempt to, or actually overthrow an authority.

    To cite an example in Scripture, David did not kill Saul when he had the opportunity, even though he knew that he was destined to be King. If he had killed Saul, he would have become King, but he waited on God to make him King. If David had obeyed everything King Saul demanded Saul would have killed him. Though God had made Saul king, disobeying the commands of Saul is not, in my opinion, rebelling against Saul.

    If some authority passes a law against the Law of God, and I take the view that disobeying that law is rebellion against God, then I would face an oxymoron. I know that disobeying God is more important than disobeying man and I am sure that God would not demand that I disobey Him, or place me in a situation where I had to choose between one of His commands and another one. So, it is not logical to believe that to disobey a command of an authority, is to rebel against that authority.

    Ha, OK, I’m never done. Well, usually never done.

  10. Liferestored says:

    Ha! Very well my brother.

  11. creationwitness says:

    This is a very interesting topic which brings up another question.

    If a person willingly leaves a kingdom, goes where none of his kind are, sets up a new home in a new land and then is required to pay his former king a tax, is it against God to rebel against his former king?

    P.S. I am not American. Am I missing something?

  12. astudent says:

    creationwitness,

    That is funny to me: that you ask if you are missing something!

    All of the people in this country (America) have decided that we can choose authorities better than God can. We do not really consider what we are doing or we would understand what we do. God says that He chooses authorities and even though we think we vote them into office, God appoints them and gives us just what we deserve.

    So, are you missing something? Well a man that is beat with a whip really knows how it feels, but the man that just watches is missing something!

    We have a situation given to us in Scripture that almost parallels your first question!

    When we were baptized, we left this world in spirit and we became citizens of Heaven. So, we have, or are setting up a new home in a new land. The part of your question that does not quite fit is that we are here visiting this country, not in another country, and the king requires us, even though we are only visiting, to pay tax to him. I use the word king, but he could be any authority.

    Our King tells us that even though we do not owe taxes to this world, so that we do not offend the authorities we should pay them.

    Mat 17:24-27 (NIV) “After Jesus and his disciples arrived in Capernaum, the collectors of the two-drachma tax came to Peter and asked, “Doesn’t your teacher pay the temple tax?” ” Yes, he does,” he replied. When Peter came into the house, Jesus was the first to speak. “What do you think, Simon?” he asked. “From whom do the kings of the earth collect duty and taxes—from their own sons or from others?” “From others,” Peter answered. “Then the sons are exempt,” Jesus said to him. “But so that we may not offend them, go to the lake and throw out your line. Take the first fish you catch; open its mouth and you will find a four-drachma coin. Take it and give it to them for my tax and yours.”

    Money is an invention of this world: God did not create it. Therefore, it belongs to this world and its leaders.

    Mat 22:17-21 (NIV) Tell us then, what is your opinion? Is it right to pay taxes to Caesar or not?” But Jesus, knowing their evil intent, said, “You hypocrites, why are you trying to trap me? Show me the coin used for paying the tax.” They brought him a denarius, and he asked them, “Whose portrait is this? And whose inscription?” “Caesar’s,” they replied. Then he said to them, “Give to Caesar what is Caesar’s, and to God what is God’s.”

    Well, that would be or is my answer to your question. I think it was also your answer, even before you heard mine!

  13. creationwitness says:

    astudent,

    lol, it is almost as painful to watch for anyone that has any compassion.

    But you have missed my point. If one leaves a kingdom and decides to set up their own kingdom in a land that has no existing kingdom, then what is it to your ex-king? Were the pilgrims under obligation to him? If they were, then they should have paid him. If they weren’t, then they had the right to fight for their freedom. The best biblical scripture that comes close to that is Exodus.

  14. astudent says:

    creationwitness,

    First, let me say that if your point, or scenario could possibly be, then I would agree with you. However, I do not think your scenario can fit the colonies that rebelled against the King of England.

    col•o•ny (k¼l“…-n) n., pl. col•o•nies. 1.a. A group of emigrants or their descendants who settle in a distant territory but remain subject to or closely associated with the parent country. (The American Heritage Dictionary)

    The citizens of the colonies knew that King George III was their king, not their ex-king, and, to prove my point, they petitioned him to repeal the “Coercive Acts Bill” that England passed in order to punish the colonies for the Boston Tea Party. We may say there was no king in the land, but those who were in the land, at the time of the Revolutionary War, knew there was; and they knew who he was..

    Revolutions are created by rebels; that is why they are called revolutions. The Revolutionary War was a group of rebels making war against their king.

    From the moment that a European stepped foot on this continent it has had a king! No poor citizen could finance a private settlement in America. They were all financed by and for a king. Some for the King of England, some for the king of France, Spain, Portugal, etc. All of the first explorers claimed the land for their own king.

    Those who rebelled against King George III were not pilgrims, they were colonists and as colonist they owed taxes to their king. So, you are correct “They should have paid him”. (Rom 13:7 NIV) Give everyone what you owe him: If you owe taxes, pay taxes; if revenue, then revenue; if respect, then respect; if honor, then honor.

    (Rom 13:10 NIV) Love does no harm to its neighbor. Therefore love is the fulfillment of the law.

    No one, who perfectly obeys the second greatest command, would fight anyone, for anything. One cannot fight someone else with out causing harm to the other person. Therefore, it is not right to fight for freedom.

    What did the people gain by this system? England demanded a few pennies of tax: we pay more than half of what we make in taxes! We are not free. We are slaves to this government: that we created.

    As for Israel and the Exodus, Israel was not required to fight anyone for the land! God told them that He would drive out those who lived in the land with hornets. (His land, because He owns everything, so He had the right drive them out) However, they did not believe Him and that is what led to all of the wars that they had to fight. (Exo 23:20-33, Deu 7:20-23, Josh 24:12&13)

    They could have just walked in, set down, and ate what was already prepared, but they did not believe God. They did not have to build houses, clear land, fight anyone, or do anything else to occupy the land. They did not have to disobey the law by causing harm to anyone. So, God gave them just what they deserved for their unbelief: war and strife.

    They did what we do. They did not wait on the Lord, but took matters into their own hands. Just as we do today.

    Stand aside God, we will choose our own leaders; with our own system: by voting. If we need you, we will call you.

    Is God our servant, or are we His?

    “Compassion!”

    Have we no compassion for our Father, who loves us and will take care of us, if we will only believe that He will? How does anyone think our Father feels, when we say that we believe Him, and trust Him, and then our actions prove that we do not? Does everyone think God is like a machine and therefore has no feelings?

    Who really has compassion for others? Those who point out sin, that it might be understood and stopped, or those who say what others want to hear and sin is not stopped: because it is not even recognized as sin?

    (2 Tim 4:1-5 NIV) In the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who will judge the living and the dead, and in view of his appearing and his kingdom, I give you this charge: Preach the Word; be prepared in season and out of season; correct, rebuke and encourage–with great patience and careful instruction. For the time will come when men will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear. They will turn their ears away from the truth and turn aside to myths. But you, keep your head in all situations, endure hardship, do the work of an evangelist, discharge all the duties of your ministry.

    People believe what they want to believe, and if Scripture opposes what they want to believe they ignore Scripture, or worse, twist the understanding of it.

    Think about it. Is Scripture right when it says God chooses all authorities, or is man right when we say we vote authorities into office? Can the two be reconciled?

    I, not being perfect in knowledge, tried to reconcile this by saying God uses man to elect politicians. Well, He doesn’t use me, because I almost never voted for a winner! I only opposed my Father’s will and therefore was not serving Him, but opposing Him! I know it was my Fathers will that the other candidate was who He chose, because the other candidate won. Therefore, I opposed His wishes.

    We, like Israel, must face wars, hardships, and strife, because we have not believed our Father.

    I love you brother. Even though I seem to disagree with you, what I have said is not to harm you, but to help you. Listen to Romans 13:1&2, not to man.

    Yes, I am a man, so do not take my word for this: I did not write Romans 13:1&2: God did.

    Believe God.

    Not man.

  15. creationwitness says:

    Hi astudent,

    You said:
    “I love you brother. Even though I seem to disagree with you, what I have said is not to harm you, but to help you. Listen to Romans 13:1&2, not to man.”

    You have not disagreed with me at all. In fact, I was just asking a question and presenting possibility, not making any statements nor would I be qualified. Yes, I have learned some US history as a child, but did not retain any clear understanding.

    The definition of colony pretty much says it all. Which reminds me that Obama was filmed bowing before the queen (more of an acknowledgement rather than a full bow). Which presents some question, but says much in itself.

    Your notes on compassion are very meaningful. If we truly love our Father, we obey his guidance with the knowledge that He can’t possibly be wrong. Going against his will would not only be foolish, but also fruitless.

    Cheers brother

  16. astudent says:

    creationwitness,

    I said that because most men become angry and frustrated when I disagree with them and I did not want you to be angry with me.

    I always defend what I say, but not to prove myself right. I am only a man and therefore I am not always right. I like the opposing views of others, because it is a blessing to be shown wrong. If I am shown wrong, and I do not take pride in what I think I know, so that I can admit that I am wrong, I learn even more about Scripture. That is my goal: to know everything!

    You certainly are qualified to make any statement that you want to. I understand that you are searching for truth, just as I am. Therefore you are as qualified as I am and may be even more qualified.

    You mention President Obama and that brought to my mind what the holy messenger told King Nebuchadnezzar in the dream that he had.

    (Dan 4:17 NIV) “‘The decision is announced by messengers, the holy ones declare the verdict, so that the living may know that the Most High is sovereign over the kingdoms of men and gives them to anyone he wishes and sets over them the lowliest of men.’

    That is logical on God’s part, because if He set good men over kingdoms we would give the credit for good to them, instead of to God.

    I suppose that I should not be too disappointed with my brothers and sisters for celebrating the Forth of July. It took Nebuchadnezzar seven years, living like an animal, to reach the understanding that God appoints authorities!

    You say, “We obey his guidance with the knowledge that He can’t possibly be wrong. Going against his will would not only be foolish, but also fruitless” and you are right. It took Nebuchadnezzar seven years before he could say that.

    (Dan 4:37 NIV) Now I, Nebuchadnezzar, praise and exalt and glorify the King of heaven, because everything he does is right and all his ways are just. And those who walk in pride he is able to humble.

    It did not take you seven years, as an animal, to understand that, so, you are a faster study than a king. Therefore, I do not consider you unqualified to make any statement.

    Aw, but you know that I will take a different view of it. You can’t even say that you are not qualified, that I do not disagree! I hope you think that is as funny as I do.

    My strength is my weakness! And I am very weak.

Leave a Reply

