WHAT IS THE NAME OF GOD?

In Genesis 32:29 Jacob asked God what His name was and God asked Jacob why he asked! Well, it surprised me that God answered Jacob with a question. Now it surprises me that I did not realize that I should have understood that I already knew both His name and why God asked Jacob why he even asked the question.

(Gen 32:29 NIV) Jacob said, “Please tell me your name.” But he replied, “Why do you ask my name?” Then he blessed him there.

I am going out on a limb here and I am going to say that you also already knew the name of God and if you could audibly hear God’s voice, He would ask you the same question He asked Jacob.

You did not name yourself. It will come as no surprise that your name was given to you by those that came before you: that is why it is called your “given name”.

Now, ask yourself “Who came before God, to give Him a name”?

That is right; God does not have a name like we have. However, I believe you will see that, though His name is not like our name, He really does have a name.

While I am out on this limb I am going to say that not only He has a name and you already know His name, but that you named Him!

His name is printed plainly in His Word, but it has been hidden from us, until the end times, and this is the end times, so it is now made clear.

When Jesus was asked how to pray his answer was, “This, then, is how you should pray: “‘Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name (Mat 6:9 NIV).

That is right, God’s name is Father, and you named Him, and claimed Him your Father when you were baptized into His name. Only a child of God can truly call Him Father. (Rev 2:17 NIV) “He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. To him who overcomes, I will give some of the hidden manna. I will also give him a white stone with a new name written on it, known only to him who receives it.”

I could tell the name of God to someone who was unsaved and they still would not “know” it. Because they are not a child of God they cannot call Him Father. I think Deuteronomy 32:31 better explains this than I can. (Deu 32:31 NIV) “For their rock is not like our Rock, as even our enemies concede”. Their “father” is not like our “Father”, as even our enemies “will” concede.

By the way, I use to read that verse and think God was saying that He would rename me, but now I understand the verse. God is called a Rock in Genesis 49:24, Deuteronomy 32:4, 13, 15, 18 and many other places. It is the Rock that the name belongs to, and the Rock is mine, and I know the name of the Rock, and I can call Him by His name!

God made everything that is made (Genesis 1:1-31) so He is the Father of all, but only those who want to be His child can rightly call Him by His name; Father.

We were given our name by those that came before us, but God has been given the name, that He wants to be called, by those who come after Him!

See, I told you that you already knew His name and that you named Him.

Now, I am laughing out loud. I get great personal joy that I cannot claim that you learned anything from me. God, not me, had already told you His name. I am really laughing at how slow I am to understand. Well, I am laughing, a little, at you too.

Isn’t God, and this life He has given us, wonderful?

4 Responses to WHAT IS THE NAME OF GOD?

  1. creationwitness says:

    Just wondering about this question a few days ago. One that I have pondered many times!

    Hope all is well with you astudent.

  2. astudent says:

    creationwitness,

    Yes, everything is well with me.

    God is pouring out His Spirit on all of us and I think that is why we are all wondering about the same questions at the same time.

    May everything be even better for you than for me.

    That would make me even happier than I am now.

    Now that would be a chain reaction! I would be happier and my wish would make things even better for you, which would make me even happier which———!

    Well, I thought it was funny.

  3. debwarren5 says:

    Then why does Exodus 6:3 make clear God’s name? the last sentence….
    …but by my name JEHOVAH was I not known to them.

  4. astudent says:

    Perhaps Exodus 6:6 makes clear the name of God. If Israel are children, then whose children are they? JEHOVAHS’? And wouldn’t that make JEHOVAH their FATHER? JEHOVAH is a word from a different language. It certainly denotes God, but, at least to me, it means FATHER.
    (Exo 6:6 KJV) Wherefore say unto the children of Israel, I am the LORD, and I will bring you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians, and I will rid you out of their bondage, and I will redeem you with a stretched out arm, and with great judgments:

Leave a Reply

