WHY GOD DOES NOT REVEAL HIMSELF

First, know that this is an opinion. Scripture does not explain why God does not reveal Himself. It is a question that, it seems to me, we all wonder about at some point.

I have given it some thought and I believe God has answered me. So, because I have a big mouth and can’t keep anything to myself, I would like to share my understanding with you.

The first thing is that it is obvious that God does not openly reveal Himself. It seems strange to us that He does not do so. Because we, as Christians, know in our hearts that there is a God we wonder why He does not show Himself!

It seems to us that it would be logical for God to reveal Himself so that everyone could see Him, turn to Him, and be saved. If anyone could see God they would realize how wonderful, good, and loving He really is and they would immediately want to live with Him for all eternity.

Because God wants all to be saved (Isa 45:22, 1 Tim 2:3&4, &Mat 18:14) it seems rather illogical for Him not to reveal Himself. However, God is logical and when we understand and consider His plans it all makes sense.

I believe that the goal of our Father is that He wants children. Not just any children, but children that are like Him (1 John 4:17). I mean children that love Him and also love all of the other children that belong to Him. God is love (1 John 4:8 & 16), so when His children love, they are like Him.

It would not be logical to want to live with those who do not love you. There could be no peace when those who surround you do not love and trust you. When they decide they want something that belongs to you, and they do not love you, they will take it. This world attests to this and there is no peace here.

God can do anything, so He could have made children that had no choice but to love Him. It seems obvious to me that love, true love, can not be mandated; it must be given because we want to give it. We had to have the choice whether to love God or not, and not too is wrong (sin).

Therefore, it seems to me that God must not do anything other than to tell man what a good and awesome God He is and tell us when something is wrong.

We must only know what is right and what is wrong and God has given us a conscience so that we know when something is wrong. When we do something wrong, our conscience does not say to us ‘God says that is wrong’. It only declares it wrong and it does so without words.

If we did not have a conscience the test would be unfairly biased in favor of Satan, because Satan has the power to reward, with the things of this world, those who choose to follow him. You see, God is absolutely fair; even with Satan!

So, it seems to me that God must hide Himself from us, so that the test is absolutely fair and just.

You may, or may not, agree with me as to the reason God does not reveal Himself, but you know there is a God and you also know that He has hidden Himself from mankind. So, what do you think is the reason?

7 Responses to WHY GOD DOES NOT REVEAL HIMSELF

  1. dingo342014 says:

    God is taken from those who are born with nothing

  2. creationwitness says:

    (John 20:29 KJV) Jesus saith unto him, Thomas, because thou hast seen me, thou hast believed: blessed are they that have not seen, and yet have believed.

    Hi astudent,

    I totally agree with you.

    To add a bit; the test is to see if we have gained enough faith in what God has outlined as correct procedure for us to follow. The only way to know if we are going to follow is to stay out of physical site. Spiritually he is always with us, but to the material loving world this is not made apparent. Once we begin to know and trust what he says, we follow because it is correct regardless of whether we see him or not.

    Evidence of his existence and presence is everywhere and yet hidden until we begin to see with our Spiritual eyes and hear with our Spiritual ears.

    It would be nice if God made himself present and gave us clear direction, but if he doesn’t there must be very good reason. If we as children are to become creators like him, then we need to accept that this is the best method of doing so. Loving and trusting one another is not of this world and very difficult proving ground. I pray we all have the strength of faith to overcome.

    Cheers and God Bless

  3. astudent says:

    creationwitness,

    And I totally agree with you!

    Yes, it is so odd when I totally agree with anyone, it is worth an exclamation point!

  4. astudent says:

    dingo342014,

    I am going to make an assumption here and that is usually a wrong thing to do.

    I assume you have reached your conclusion from verses like Matthew 13:12, which say, “Whoever does not have, even what he has will be taken from him.”

    If that is the case please note that the one spoken of did have something to be taken. That person was not born with nothing.

    Man is made in the image of God. (Gen 1:27 NIV) “So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them.” It does not say some were created in the image of God, so it seems to me that all are.

    I do not believe that we have nothing to do with our salvation. I believe that God chooses those who choose Him.

    If we have nothing to do with our own salvation we would have to remove Matthew 11:12 from Scripture.

    (Mat 11:12 NIV) From the days of John the Baptist until now, the kingdom of heaven has been forcefully advancing, and forceful men lay hold of it.

  5. Kay says:

    😉
    I was blessed as a 4 year old. I had two big church busses come down my street to pick up any kids who wanted to go to church on Sunday mornings. Poor and with 6 siblings it was great to get a piece of gum after church. One bus was red the other blue. (I wonder if that is why blue is my favorite color) lol it was the blue that I chose more often and it was my two lovely sunday school teachers who taught me ‘Jesus loves me’. I knew then that Jesus was real. Now try to explain that to a unbeliever and you get…. You were a child deluded. (No, I distinguished the love I felt from Jesus as pure and real yet Santa clause only liked me if I was good) I then was 11 when I said publicly I accepted Jesus as my savior and was Baptized. Unbeliever…. still a child and just followed peers. (I might agree with unbeliever here because I already knew Jesus in my every day walk and very naive to world. Best way to explain is without the Holy Spirit carrying me through I am sure I would not have made it past 1st grade.) At 17 the sermon was a brimstone sermon but it was the music that I felt the Holy Spirit tell me I had to rededicate my life for my scales were shedding from my eyes. A unbeliever would say I was just feeling guilty for I had just been through a brimstone sermon (how do you explain to them that I was crushed for knowing how much Jesus loved me but I did nothing to deserve His attention to me) but if I try to explain this to unbeliever they say I was just trying to find something special in myself and fell for the delusion of a higher being. (In this case I would like to respond if there reasoning were true then wouldn’t I fall for a better delusion than falling short of the glory of God? If a delusion to make myself feel better then why not make myself a king instead of a servant of The true King) when I was 29 after trying everything known at that time to become pregnant I sat in a doctor’s office (another recommendation in new state) and watched a woman obviously with child and a huge smile looking at a picture of her baby inside her womb. I said to God (yes I speak to God freely in my head for he knows my thoughts anyway) why couldn’t that be me Lord? I have tried for 6 years and she looks so young. God answered, as He often does when I cry out, because you want it more than trusting in Me. Scales shed from my eyes and I asked for forgiveness for envy and prayed for the woman who I saw so happy and a happiness came over me and a peace that I felt for first time about not having a child. I was so over joyed with my peace with trusting God to know what I need in my life that when I took my regular pregnancy test at every doc visit and nurse came in and said I was with child I told her (very nicely) there must be a mistake for I took 5 test this week before appointment and all were negative. Last one I took was night before. She said she would check again and I was not even feeling any thing like the normal disappointment because I knew it was a mistake but was still praising God and decided to go on birth control because it would help my hormones get under control (PCOS) when she came back and said it was positive again and she checked name but doctor well be in and check with sonogram. I watched a screen show my son’s heartbeat that day. I was at 6 and half weeks gestation according to monitor and science says of course that I had been for 6 weeks at least but I know it was not revealed to me by God until I had realized He is in control and my faith needed to be in Him. I was told over and over that I might lose that child but I knew I would not and I knew because God had blessed me that day with a gift. Not the child. (He is my 14 year old) but the blessing of seeing God clearly without being able to explain to others how God revealed Himself to me as a child of 4, 11, 17, 29 and again at 44 so clearly yet I have so much more to learn and eagerly wait for more revelations. I love my SAVIOR and the world calls me delusional because I see and hear my King. How can God reveal himself any more plainly than He did through Israel and still people deny?
    Praise God Always in All Things.

  6. astudent says:

    Kay,

    That was beautiful.

  7. Kay says:

    Thank you astudent… Jesus is beautiful!!
    I am thankful He reveals Himself…. I understood something you said about knowing what the Holy Spirit says to you through God’s word. I am a very selfish person when I am not doing what God wants me to do (my sinful nature; we call self) however if I study God’s word I get lost in it and it can lead to alot of thoughts… I then pray and wait…. (rest) and then its as if the wisdom (holy spirit) opens up what I was missing. I love those moments with God….
    Thank you for sharing all that you do.. it’s not easy to share without stepping on someone’s toes.

Leave a Reply

