(Mat 7:1 NIV) “Do not judge, or you too will be judged.”

I have not written anything for a while, because I have been told that I have been wrong about telling my brothers that they sin by exalting this country (USA), and the Founding Fathers, and then by voting. I believe that if one is told that they sin, or are wrong, they should consider carefully if the charges are correct and act accordingly, and I apply that to myself as well as others, so I have been thinking about this charge.

First, I must say that pointing out the sins of others cannot possibly be wrong. I know Matthew 7:1 seems to say that it is wrong, but we are commanded to point out the sins of our brothers.

(1 Cor 5:12&13 NIV) What business is it of mine to judge those outside the church? Are you not to judge those inside? God will judge those outside. “Expel the wicked man from among you.”

It seems as though we have an oxymoron here, but I am quite sure there are no oxymorons in God’s Word. I believe the answer lies in the definition of the word “judge”.

The American Heritage Dictionary
judge (j¾j) v. judged, judg•ing, judg•es. –tr. 1. To form an opinion or estimation of after careful consideration: judge heights; judging character. 2.a. Law. To hear and decide on in a court of law; try: judge a case. b. Obsolete. To pass sentence on; condemn

Notice that the word used to mean “b. Obsolete. To pass sentence on; condemn.” When the Bible was first translated into English the meaning of the word “judge” was “To pass sentence on; condemn” Of course, it is not possible to pass sentence on, or condemn someone without careful consideration, but I believe the original meaning was “do not pass sentence on someone.”

If you will allow me to explain how this flaw in understanding came about, I will try to explain what I believe happened.

God protects His Word and will not allow Satan to change it in any way. However, Satan is crafty (Gen 3:1) so, because he cannot change the Word, he has changed the meaning of the words it is written in.

When I say my brothers are sinning and they apply the first definition to the word “judge” then it seems as though I am sinning by pointing out the sins of others. I am not. I am obeying the second greatest command, which is (Mat 7:12 NIV) “So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets.” If I am sinning and do not understand that I am, I want it pointed out to me, so that I might change. I am a firm believer in tough love and I want it applied to me, just as I apply it to others.

I have to laugh, because those that accuse, or say that I am wrong, do not really believe that it is wrong to point out the sins of others, because they would not attempt to point out my sins if they really believed it was wrong to point out the sins of others! Well, I think it is funny anyway!

That is not to say that I do not appreciate their concern. I believe that we should all attempt to point out the sins of others, especially my sins, as they are many.

Consider Ezekiel 3:16-21 where God said, “Son of man, I have made you a watchman for the house of Israel”. You see He did not say Ezekiel, I have made you a watchman for the house of Israel, but He said, “Son of man”. We are all the “Son of man” whether we are male or female and as I understand the verses we are all charged with the responsibilities of a watchman. That is to warn both the wicked, as well as the righteous. And that is what I have attempted to do.

God does not hold me responsible for the outcome of the warning, only for the warning itself (Verse 27).

Along the same lines consider 1 Corinthians chapter 5, where Paul said to, “Expel the wicked man from among you.” Is that possible if we do not form an opinion of right or wrong and apply it to others, as well as ourselves?

Satan has deceived us and the Church as been corrupted because we have been deceived. We have not expelled the wicked men from us, because we have been deceived into believing that we should not judge them, and so we have been corrupted by those we should have expelled.

I am only a man and therefore cannot defend myself against accusations of wrong doing (sin). However, I believe that I have been charged with the responsibilities of a watchman and I fear the consequences of not obeying, more than the ridicule of my peers.

I managed my own business for a while. I also managed part of a business for others for a time. At times I had to terminate an employee and it bothered me, but after thinking about it, it no longer bothered me. You see, the employee needed to find an employer that appreciated his or her talents and we needed an employee that preformed as we wanted. It was a “win-win” situation for both parties, though it did not seem so at the time.

I view the responsibilities of a watchman along the same lines. If there is a righteous man, who sins and does not want to change, isn’t it is better for all that he be expelled? Isn’t it a win-win situation for both parties? The sinner that refuses to change is handed over to Satan, so that the sinful nature may be destroyed and his spirit saved on the day of the Lord (1 Cor 5:5), and then we are not corrupted by his sin. However, it is not possible to expel that man, if we believe that it is a sin, to point out that he sins!

Just so you know, I do not think loving this Country is a sin worthy of being put out of the Church, but it is a sin and should be identified as such.

You, son or daughter, are also a watchman. What will you do?

10 Responses to (Mat 7:1 NIV) “Do not judge, or you too will be judged.”

  1. Kay says:

    O:-)

    My dear friend, (and I do consider you friend) I hope you can understand my advise or comments are worth nothing if you did not hear the ONE who resides in me. Yet I feel compelled to again try to explain the understanding I have experienced with my own failures pointed out to me by grace and love.
    You said:
    (I have been told that I have been wrong about telling my brothers that they sin by exalting this country (USA), and the Founding Fathers, and then by voting. I believe that if one is told that they sin, or are wrong, they should consider carefully if the charges are correct and act accordingly)
    Exalting this country is wrong!!! Voting is not exalting. Exalting as in worshipping or putting on a higher standard than God is absolutely wrong and breaking the very first commandment. I did not see where your brothers or sisters did this by encouraging you to vote. I think they should leave that choice to you as you should leave for them. When I read the characters of the Bible, I dont see where something God already says He is in control of being of importance to loose a brother or sister over in church nor to offend them. When I read how Jesus Christ was criticised for hanging out with the likes of Mathew and his lot I am impressed with the knowledge that man makes up what is important and not important by our own understanding, which is why we are not able to judge God’s laws for others for we are unworthy. You have not proven to me or others that voting exalt’s this country or exalt’s the forefathers nor do I see that the calling someone out as watchmen could fall under ‘telling someone they are sinning by voting’ the watchmen, as pointed out would be like Jonah going to Nineveh. However you seem to think your brothers and sisters exalt the USA and USA is unworthy of said exalting. OK let me be a watchmen and say that anyone who spends more time on voting, politics of any country, or devotes more effort in there life in things of this world (phones, t.v., fishing, hunting, or anything than what they do in worshipping God would be wrong and sinful. But again voting to me is just a x box that makes no difference to God. I would not even consider it something God would want us to mention to our brothers and sisters to be of utmost importance as watchmen. I feel God would be more concerned if my thoughts were on the right judgement. His which is right and JUST. Vs my own judgement which are selfish and petty. I dont know your sisters or brothers but can tell you again that you didn’t know George Washington personally but by his own confession he knew Jesus. I wouldn’t want to make a judgement on him as you have in why he did what he did. I will trust that nothing happens that God doesn’t allow to happen but if God does want something to happen He uses His omniscient knowledge to direct and judge. By you not understanding the difference in the Pharisees (who worshipped the law of Moses) but didn’t understand their law was being field before there eye’s yet they could not see it. They could not understand how the messiah was not to destroy there enemy by judgement but by Grace. The sad fact is that even Paul would not have changed if Jesus Christ hadn’t appeared to him and given him the most amazing gift of salvation. Did you know that Paul was more critical to those that believed in Christ for they should know there savior and see sin clearly to those who don’t have salvation. Those that were worshipping another Teaching he was patient and answered questions and taught the gospel lovingly. As a watchmen himself his heart was grieved that the churches of the true gospel could be deceived. As a watchmen he showed mercy and love to those who didn’t know Grace for he knew what was to become of them. WHY? This is what the Holy Spirit has proven to do as Jesus’s walk on this earth showed. I’m long winded I know but I think I try to explain why to you in many ways because how many parables does Jesus give us about what heaven is like. It’s important to Him to explain things to different types of people. (Characteristics) we love you brother or we would not say anything on this subject. But again if voting is more important than God then yes a sin. (First commandment broken) but if its really like I see voting your choice to mark a box one way or another that means nothing to God as a driver license means nothing to God then I cant see a watchmen needing to ask anyone to leave a church group for it. I can discern the difference between a Christian believing murder to a unborn child is ok and teaching this proudly within the church would be asked to repent and if refused to repent to leave that church. But leave the church because they vote. Mmmm… I only can say I believe God is tired of petty things argued in His churches yet avoiding the causes this nation is really failing.
    Yet again I tell you these things in love and not in judgement for I really only gave you why I would not make the same decision as you have in calling it necessary to waste time arguing with your family about this subject. My brother-in-law wanted to argue with me about God being muslims God and Hindus God and Jews God and etc…. here is a man who was married to a Jew before my sister and was working a 6 figure job and traveling the world on a daily bases. My hope is some how God spoke to him when I stood up and said God of the Holy Bible is the only ONE True God and He is the Alpha and the Omega, He is the beginning and the End. And left his home quickly. You see he told my sister that he only does this because he like to upset me but he really doesn’t understand God. If he did the Holy Spirit residing in him (? Hopefully) would recoil at his words and grieve. The same in law ask for prayer when his children are ill or prays when family gets together. My question is was it important enough for me to inform him in such a way in his own home in front of my sister and ask my sister how she could sit and hear this and not be offended for God. I hope that he has read more of what he says he knows more of than me (the Word) but his faith is in science (he is a chemist) and he asked if God made plants before the sun how could plant life exist. What was simple to me was as if I spoke blasphemous things to him. I said I dont see that the Bible says in its context of written form of creation however if what he assumes he is right in I told him that if God wanted a plant that had no sun to exist and thrive than it would for He said Let there be light. My brother in law feels as though I am the most ignorant person in my huge family. I find this to be sad for he views the ways of the world (diploma, certificate, and degrees) show success. For my child there is only one prayer I want for my children. They are saved by the blood of Jesus Christ. After that the Holy Spirit will lead and find his sheep if lost. For my brother in law. He had to have a million dollars per child saved before his retirement for their college. This is only shared because as watchmen we are to stand on the rock not sand. Make sure it is the rock you are standing and not leaning on your own understanding. You feel strongly that it is right to judge voting and forefathers and USA yet I dont have to judge this but God may be speaking differently with you. I will pray for you to get through this for I can’t know what God is trying to work through you. I can tell you although sad that I have no contact with my family, I rejoice that I was given an opportunity to stand for my savior. I just hope that in my absence God has spoken to them for I would not know if they have changed or repented. I do know that I am where God wants me to be. HE used me then gave me sanctuary. PRAISE Jesus Christ always in all we do!!!

  2. creationwitness says:

    astudent,

    I think as you may have pointed out, we are being judged (condemned) for judging (discerning) others and pointing out wrong doing. Satan has twisted the truth with so many lies that it is hard for anyone to know the truth anymore. The watchman however blows the trumpet of warning and his duty is finished. He has washed his hands of the blood of others. It is our duty to understand and point out our own and others transgressions. Another example albeit extreme is abortion. We know it is wrong and we should warn others against it, but in the end it is every persons choice. I believe this is what God wants and so he lets it happen. We condemn ourselves and when it is time to be truly judged, we will have little to say for ourselves unless we have taken up our own cross and have followed in our Lord’s example. One last example that I have learned from is the sabbath. I tell people that because it is questionable they should follow in faith. If they listen, that is great. If they don’t, I have to be quiet. At least until another occcasion presents itself for me to bring it up again 🙂

    I pray this finds all well.

  3. Kay says:

    Well I I been unable to get this topic out of my head. I believe I need to apologize for my tongue. As James told us ( Not many of you should become teachers, my fellow believers, because you know that we who teach will be judged more strictly.  We all stumble in many ways. Anyone who is never at fault in what they say is perfect,able to keep their whole body in check. When we put bits into the mouths of horses to make them obey us, we can turn the whole animal. Or take ships as an example. Although they are so large and are driven by strong winds, they are steered by a very small rudder wherever the pilot wants to go. Likewise, the tongue is a small part of the body, but it makes great boasts.Consider what a great forest is set on fire by a small spark.  The tongue also is a fire, a world of evil among the parts of the body. It corrupts the whole body,sets the whole course of one’s life on fire, and is itself set on fire by hell.) I’m ashamed I have allowed my tongue (or fingers by typing) freedom to speak before really consulting the Holy Spirit. I cant erase what I have said but I can ask for forgiveness.

  4. astudent says:

    Kay,

    If you are asking forgiveness from me you are asking the wrong person.

    I welcome comments that disagree with me and your comments came from your heart and was/are based on how you view Scripture and what you understand. What kind of brother would I be if I welcomed your comments and then wanted forgiveness for them?

    You must feel and be free to say what you think is true without thinking that you offend me. I would not want you to erase anything that you said; only to consider what is said by both of us and learn from the exchange.

    Neither one of us are teachers. We are only attempting to explain our understanding. You cannot explain your understanding if you think that you are hurting my feelings by doing so. As you can see, I have stopped worrying about hurting others feelings, because I do not know of a way to say the things that I say without doing so.

    You quote James chapter three and seem to think that because no one can control the tongue that we error by expressing our views, but if that were the only way to look at the verses we could not say anything.

    Consider verse 9 and make every effort to praise our Father and do not worry about offending me.

    I do think that you are right to consult the Holy Spirit that lives within us before we speak.

  5. astudent says:

    creationwitness,

    We are very close in our understanding.

    It truly is everyone’s choice and that is what God wants. He would like us to make the right choice, but we are here to be tested and we must be free to make our own choice. That is why there is sin in this world; people make the wrong choice.

    Now, about the Sabbath— Ha, ha, ha!

    (Rom 14:1 NIV) “Accept him whose faith is weak, without passing judgment on disputable matters.”

    Please, just accept me!

    All is well with me and I pray all is even better for you.

  6. creationwitness says:

    Hi astudent,

    You become more acceptable with every passing day. I can only pray as much for all of us stragglers.

    I believe it appropriate to say that it is unfeigned dedication in seeking truth that God desires and not the letter of the law as we know. Brother, you are the evidence of this as the Spirit witnesses in you. I am sure you are well aware of the split that this issue and others like it has caused between many of the congregations (all being the one and only true church). Suffice it to say there are blessings attached with such dedication and I also believe the reason for God’s inclusion of the seventh day rest keeping us aligned with him. Some rest in him daily and this is what we strive for. One day not being enough.

    Rom 8:4 KJV  That the righteousness of the law might be fulfilled in us, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.

    I pray no mistake.

  7. I have just stumbled across this blog and I am delighted to hear from so many that can recognize their “role” in our Father’s Kingdom. Iron certainly sharpens “iron” in this group. It is a comfort to me that I see each one that reads this one’s blog and those that comment are being led, for the most part, from their Spirit being and not so much their flesh. Yes, I agree with you all in the fact that that fire of the Holy Spirit will rage from within until you give Him voice; this yielding to His Spirit is our only call from God/Allah (Yes, this is another “name” the I Am is known by). When God reveals to us his love for ALL mankind…do we think they they might “miss the boat” if they refer to him by a name “we” are unfamiliar with?? Keep pushing forth the Truth as God reveals it, for with this revelation comes power. AND, Christ Jesus died to restore Authority to mankind…do NOT LEAVE Him alone in the fight for dominion to be restored. We must start teaching the power of this authority, this inheritance…this EDICT for the “winter” draws nigh.
    May God bless you all with His Peace.

  8. astudent says:

    Stacy Raines,

    It seems to me that you have found the right place for you. You will find much disagreement here. We are all only human and as such we are usually wrong, so try to see that we are all just trying to understand God’s Word. Sometimes things seem different when viewed from a different angle.

    First, iron cannot be used to sharpen iron. I spent 7 years trying to teach that, which is merely a physical law, and did not teach even one person that iron cannot sharpen iron. If I had been successful, even once, I would have been wrong and the meaning of the verse would be man can sharpen man, instead of man cannot sharpen man!

    Man cannot sharpen man and one would have to ask why God would create a system that requires a man to sharpen a man, when He has given us His Spirit to accomplish this task (John 14:26). His Spirit is perfect and makes no mistakes when teaching, but man is not perfect and therefore does make mistakes.

    I beg you to reconsider your understanding that God and Allah are the same. God has a Son that He sent to earth to give those, who are prisoners of sin, a way to be saved. Allah has no son, and therefore no savior, so God and Allah are not the same being.

    Allah claims to be God and therefore he is the enemy of God; not the true God of creation. There is no future in worshiping a god that offers no Savior.

    Please, do not spread the idea that God and Allah are the same.

  9. Allah is a Arabian name for god the word. However there is a fine line between saying allah is God the Father of Abraham. Why? If you mean Ishmael called Abraham’s God allah then why would he change this name from what he was taught as the great I AM. It is for the Muslim beliefs that allah is not Abraham’s Heavenly Father. So there for ‘no’ allah.is not another word for Our Heavenly Father who sent His son Jesus Christ who sent the Holy Spirit to speak through the Holy Word. Any book or faith written after revelation is not of the Holy Spirit in relation to prophesy. Truth is that any name other than The Creator or Great I Am or the Alpha and Omega makes me question if someone understands that wise words can be spoken but it does not mean its spoken from the creator of the wise words. Its the Alpha Omega and the Father of His chosen people which is not from those that call their God allah but they call Him Yahweh! When one of the jihad acts is carried out they declare its for allah and what allah wants them to do based on muhammads own writing yet there acts goes against the Bible and that vengeance is The Lord’s etc and not alone what Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ taught. Allah is not God but a false god using Arabian name for god to deceive many and we know who the deceiver is….. just sharing but always only wanting God’s will… with love that is stronger than hate

  10. astudent says:

    expressionoffaithblog,

    I agree with you, but I would go a step farther. I see allah as the fallen angel Satan. Satan was defeated when Jesus died for us, but it is said that he would be released and will go out to deceive the nations in the four corners of the earth. I think that time is now and he is masquerading as God in order to do so.

    I wonder if God as given you the understanding about His name yet. I say “yet” because He as given us His Spirit to teach us all things, so it is only a matter of time (if you continue to study) until you understand.

    Here is what I believe He as let me understand.

    We all have a name or more accurately a “given name”. It was given to us by someone that was born before we were. No one was born before God, so there was/is no one to give Him a name, so God has no name!

    I know what He wants to be called Father, because that is what a son or daughter calls their father. Only a son or daughter of God can truly call God Father. The word would only be a lie from the lips of an unbeliever.

Leave a Reply

