MANKIND’S BASIC FLAW

Well, one could say that mankind’s basic flaw is that we sin, because that is surely a basic flaw. However, it is not the “very” basic flaw that we have.

It will sound strange when I state our basic flaw. It seemed strange to me as the Spirit within me led me to this understanding.

Our basic flaw is not that we sin, but that we know that we sin!

As Scripture says, (Gen 2:25 NIV) “The man and his wife were both naked, and they felt no shame.”

The idea of being naked is not being physically naked, but spiritually naked. After all, God made them both and He new exactly how they looked naked. He even knew the number of the hairs on their heads (Mat 10:30).

You see, they should have been ashamed, but they did not know good and evil, and because they did not know, they were not ashamed.

God did not condemn them for walking naked before Him, because it would be wrong to condemn anyone if they did not know that they were doing something wrong and God never does anything wrong.

When I first thought about this, I thought that I must know good and evil so that I can do what is right. I said to myself that I must know what is good and what is evil, in order to do good and avoid evil.

I did not even realize that I was arguing with God! God said that it would be wrong to eat from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil and yet I was saying that it was right to eat from the tree! First I say that God is always right and then I say that this time He was wrong! It is so easy to be double minded.

As I studied more about the knowledge of good and evil God made it clear to me that it is not necessary to know good and evil.

The two basic commands that God has given us are to love our Father with all of our heart, soul, mind, and strength and to love our fellow man as we love ourselves. These two commands sum up all of the Law. If we do these two things there is no need for the knowledge of good and evil: no need even for the Law!

Think about it, if we did not have the knowledge of good and evil, we would not, and even could not judge our fellow man: we could not even judge ourselves!

God did not judge Adam and Eve, before they knew about evil, but when they knew the knowledge of their sin separated them from Him.

Perhaps when Jesus comes again and makes everything right, God will take back the knowledge of good and evil. When we live with our brothers and sisters, and everyone loves his or her neighbor and therefore everyone can be trusted, there will be no need to know good and evil: there will be no evil.

The knowledge of good and evil only gets in the way of loving our fellow man. It causes us to concentrate on sin and avoiding it, instead of love and forgiveness!

Leave a Reply

