DO CHRISTIANS WORSHIP THREE GODS?

The Son of God is the Holy Spirit and He was created before anything else was made. The second verse in the Bible says, (Gen 1:2 NIV) “Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters.” You see that He already existed. The verse doesn’t say “Holy Spirit”, but it should be apparent that it is the Holy Spirit.

The Spiritual birth of Jesus was when the Holy Spirit became one with a man. That man was the son of David. (2 Sam 7:12 NIV) “When your days are over and you rest with your fathers, I will raise up your offspring to succeed you, who will come from your own body, and I will establish his kingdom.” That offspring is Jesus the son of man and that man became one with the Son of God, who is the Holy Spirit. So, it is better to name Jesus as Jesus Christ (Jesus (the son of David) and Christ (the Son of God)). Jesus was born of the Spirit when he was baptized (Matthew 3:16); just the same as we were (Acts 2:38&39).

Those who do not understand say that we worship three Gods, because we say that God has a Son and we baptize in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, which seems to say that we claim there are three Gods. I have to admit that this accusation puzzled me for quite some time. Scripture states many times that there is only one God (Deu 4:35&38, 1 Kings 8:60, Isa 44:8, 45:5&6, 45:18&22, 46:9, Joel 2:27, Mark 12:29, and I probably missed some). God had not made this clear to me, so I did not have an answer to this accusation.

I was given the Holy Spirit to teach me all things (John 14:26), so every now and then, I would think about this question and the Spirit finally gave me the answer that satisfied me.

I will try to explain the answer that I have, but first let me state something about God that, it seems to me, everyone agrees with and that is “God is everywhere, at all times”.

I live in America and when I pray I am sure that God hears me. If I am praying at the same time one of my brothers in China is praying I believe that God hears both of us. There are probably millions of Christians that pray at the same time and I believe that God hears each and also hears them clearly. I don’t think that anyone would disagree with that understanding. Even if one doesn’t believe in God, they would have to admit that if there was a God He would have to be able to accomplish that feat.

Now, here is a parable, or allegory that I believe God gave me so that I might understand the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit as the same God.

Suppose that you have a golden bowl and it is filled with water. Then there is a golden cup made and that cup is dipped into the water and filled with it. So, the water in the cup and the water in the bowl are the same water. Then some of the water in the cup is poured into an iron cup. Is not the same water in all of the containers? Is it not only one water?

I see the golden bowl as a symbol of God our Father, the golden cup as the Son of God, and the iron cup as the son of David. If you visualize the water as a metaphor or symbol of the Spirit of God, then it should be clear that the same Spirit is in all three containers. God is Spirit (John 4:24) and all three are filled with the same Spirit: one Spirit, one God.

If you can visualize God as being in more than one place in any point in time then it should not be difficult to visualize God as being in all containers at any point in time. I say all containers, not just three, because God, the Holy Spirit is in all of His children: given to them when they were baptized (Acts 2:38&39).

I hope this allegory helps you understand as it has helped me. I know that you were given the Holy Spirit to teach you all things, so listen to the Spirit and I am sure that He will make it clear to you in a way that you can also understand.

We do not worship three God’s.

4 Responses to DO CHRISTIANS WORSHIP THREE GODS?

  1. Ese Okposio says:

    Dear astudent.
    The Holy Spirit is also the Son of God and He was not created. Heb 1:6, NIV; “And when God BRINGS His Firstborn into the world, He says”Let all God’s angels worship Him. Col 1:15, NIV; “The Son is the image of the invisible God, the Firstborn OVER all creation. John 15:26, NIV; “when the Advocate comes, whom I will send to you from the Father-the Spirit of Truth, who GOES OUT from the Father-He will testify of Me.
    What then is my position? The Holy Spirit was not created like us human beings. He was born, He goes out, God brings Him from Himself, He is the Firstborn, the First.

    You also referred to Jesus as the Son of Man. In the Book of Ezekiel, the term son of man is used to refer to human beings but it is not the case in the Books of Daniel and Revelation where his Identity is
    made clearer from his description. In the synoptic gospels you have verses where Jesus speaks and it is interpreted that he refers to Himself as the Son of Man, while in other areas it is reported correctly, where he meant another Personality. This Son of Man will come with his angels and bring judgement.

    Mathew 16:27, NIV; “For the Son of Man is going to come in his Father’s glory with his angels and he will REWARD each person according to what they have done”. You may check other translations like NLT and ESV. In John 16:7-8, NIV; “But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not come to you; but if I go, I will send him to you. When He comes, he will prove the world to be wrong about Sin and righteousness and JUDGEMENT;: Please read the whole John 16.

    What then is my position? The Holy Spirit is Judge, Advocate and He is same as the promised Son of Man!

    You wrote that the “Holy Spirit is in all his children quoting Acts 2:38-39. But it is the gifts of the Holy Spirit that can be in his children not the Holy Spirit Himself or the Holy Spirit in Person.

    Yes, I agree with you that there is only one God as stated in several verses. But in his working or activities He appears as three but in reality He is one!

  2. astudent says:

    Hi Ese,

    I see an example that God has confused the language in your comment. I said God created His Son and you say He was born. I consulted the dictionary and the definition is the same!

    born (bôrn) v. 1. A past participle of bear1. –born adj. 1.a. Abbr. b. Brought into life by birth. b. Brought into existence; created: A new nation was born with the revolution.

    cre·ate (kr¶-³t“) tr.v. cre·at·ed, cre·at·ing, cre·ates. 1. To cause to exist; bring into being.

    It seems as if words create different thoughts in different people’s minds!

    I used the word create because the Holy Spirit could not be born as we understand the process. It seems to me that in order for the Son of God to be born, as we understand birth, there would have to be a mother involved. However there is no mother for the Son of God.

    I believe that we are given an example of the process through the creation of Eve. Eve was neither born of woman, nor made from dust, as Adam was. She was made (created) from a part of Adam. Buy the way a rib is the part of the body that is very close to the heart of a man; it is the part that covers the heart.

    Because Eve was made from a part of Adam she can be viewed as an extension of Adam, or Adam himself. She also can be viewed as a separate entity. This is the same as the Son of God, because sometimes He is viewed as God and sometimes He is viewed as the Son of God: both are correct and only the context makes the difference.

    Just to make my thoughts as clear as I can, I believe the Son of God was created from a part of our Father that is very close to His heart and therefore can be described as an extension of our Father and also separate from Him. If I look at the Son of God as part of God, then I can say that He always existed. However, if I view the Son of God as a Son then I must say to myself that at some point He was created and did not exist before He was created. The part that He was made from always existed, but before He was created he did not exist. Well, that is about as close to making my understanding as clear as I can get.

    There is one statement that you make that I disagree with. You say, ”it is the gifts of the Holy Spirit that can be in his children not the Holy Spirit Himself or the Holy Spirit in Person”.

    Please consider (John 14:16-20 NIV) “And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor to be with you forever–” the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you. I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. Before long, the world will not see me anymore, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live. On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you.”

    Along with, “(John 15:5 NIV) “”I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

    Also, (John 17:20-26 NIV) “”My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message,” that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me. I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one: I in them and you in me. May they be brought to complete unity to let the world know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me. “Father, I want those you have given me to be with me where I am, and to see my glory, the glory you have given me because you loved me before the creation of the world.”Righteous Father, though the world does not know you, I know you, and they know that you have sent me. I have made you known to them, and will continue to make you known in order that the love you have for me may be in them and that I myself may be in them.”

    It helps me to understand when I consider marriage. (Gen 2:24 NIV) “For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh.” The two will become one I see as an example of our relationship with our Savior. He inters our hearts and we become one with Him. Because He is one with our Father, we are also one with Him.

    Buy the way, on the subject of the Holy Spirit being separate from the Father consider (1 Cor 15:27&28 NIV) “For he “has put everything under his feet.” Now when it says that “everything” has been put under him, it is clear that this does not include God himself, who put everything under Christ. When he has done this, then the Son himself will be made subject to him who put everything under him, so that God may be all in all.” If you only view the Son as God, then the verse would say God made Himself subject to Himself!

    It also might help you view the Holy Spirit from the same angle as I do if you consider death as only meaning separation. Actually, no ones life comes to an end. Those who do not turn to our Father are separated from Him and must spend eternity separated. However, they do not cease to exist, as the world views death. I believe that God lives in me and I am not separated from Him. Because God lives forever and God is part of me then I also will live forever.

    Our father is perfectly pure and should be separated from me, because I am not pure, I would contaminate Him. It seems to me that He separated part of Himself from Himself so that I might be saved without contaminating Him. That part is His first born, the Holy Spirit, my Lord and Savior.

    This will probably make you angry, but it should be said anyway. I am called human, because I was born from a human. Then what should I be called if I am born of God?

    (John 10:34-36 NIV) “Jesus answered them, “Is it not written in your Law, ‘I have said you are gods’?” If he called them ‘gods,’ to whom the word of God came–and the Scripture cannot be broken–what about the one whom the Father set apart as his very own and sent into the world? Why then do you accuse me of blasphemy because I said, ‘I am God’s Son’?

    I am born of God and therefore I am a god. Please do not accuse me of blasphemy because I said, ‘I am God’s child. (Psa 82:1 NIV) “A psalm of Asaph. God presides in the great assembly; he gives judgment among the “gods”:” There is only one Father, but He has many children. To be a child of God is to be a god. I was born again. Born of God and therefore I am a god. I do not claim to be in any way equal to my Father, but still I am His child.

    (Heb 2:10&11 NIV) “In bringing many sons to glory, it was fitting that God, for whom and through whom everything exists, should make the author of their salvation perfect through suffering. Both the one who makes men holy and those who are made holy are of the same family. So Jesus is not ashamed to call them brothers.”

    What a wonderful and merciful Father we have.

  3. ambrose says:

    What is view on the following topic:

    1: Was Melchizedek the Holy Spirit or he was the manifestation of
    Jesus Christ or he was neither of the two but a different
    personality altogether?

    2: When you are born again you are baptized in the Holy Spirit and
    when you are, that means there is only one baptism.

    3: Other view is there are many baptism. some believe that after you are born again then you must receive the baptism of the spirit. But I believe that when you are born again you are baptized in the body of Christ, which means you are baptized in the Holy Ghost, and then you receive the Holy Spirit.

  4. astudent says:

    Ambrose,

    1: I don’t think that I can give a quick answer.
    I believe that the Holy Spirit was formed before anything else was made. I believe that the birth of Eve is an example of the beginning of the Spirit. Eve was formed from a part of Adam that covered his heart. Because Eve was formed from Adam and only Adam she can be considered as Adam, or an extension of Adam. Said a different way the two are one. She can also be viewed as a separate person. That is the same for the Holy Spirit and that creates many questions that can only be answered by examining the context of the question. Sometimes the Spirit is referred to as God, which He is and sometimes He is referred to as different from God.

    Because God created time, and we live in time, we can understand that the Spirit has been involved with creation and also has been watching and helping mankind from the beginning. So Melchizedek was the Holy Spirit. It is said that Melchizedek was without father or mother, without genealogy, without beginning of days or end of life, so He had or has to be the Holy Spirit. The Spirit also led the children of God through the desert (1Cor10:3&4).

    The Holy Spirit became one with the man Jesus and led him to the sacrifice. Now He has become one with all of God’s children, to teach us all things (John 14:26 & 1 Cor 2:12 also Acts 2 38&39).

    2: Actually I see baptism as about three in one. First, we repent which means that we stop believing in ourselves and other humans. Then second, our sins are washed away by the water which, third allows the Spirit to become one with us, without violating His rule of do not be unequally yoked. So I see baptism as one baptism which has three parts.

    3: So, you see that I agree with you. There is only one baptism and we receive the Holy Spirit when we are baptized. I wish that everyone would take advantage of the Spirit and therefore learn all things, but it seems that most of the seed is being choked by the world. (Mat 13:22 NIV) “The one who received the seed that fell among the thorns is the man who hears the word, but the worries of this life and the deceitfulness of wealth choke it, making it unfruitful.”

Leave a comment